• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building Home Network Suggestions ?

Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
9,343 (1.51/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
10Gbps is no concern for me. My isp is only 1Gb and my in home server transfer rate doesn't have to be more than 5Gb
Future concern? It doesn't make sense to do it all over again in a few years.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Future concern? It doesn't make sense to do it all over again in a few years.
It will be years before anything will hit that point. I highly doubt 10Gbp will be accessible in residential in the next 10 years. Plus CAT6 is good for 10G upto 55 Meters. I don't think none of the runs will be over 100 feet.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
9,343 (1.51/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
It will be years before anything will hit that point. I highly doubt 10Gbp will be accessible in residential in the next 10 years. Plus CAT6 is good for 10G upto 55 Meters. I don't think none of the runs will be over 100 feet.
Eh? I'm using it right now and have for several years.
You can get 10Gbps cards for well under $100.
In fact, 5Gbps isn't worth touching.
You want affordable, 2.5Gbps is the way to go.
The main reason for this isn't even the cost for the add-in cards, but the switch cost.
2.5Gbps switches are already down to ~$200 for an eight port switch.
There are no 5Gbps and below switches that I'm aware of, so you'd still have to go 10Gbps/multigig.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Eh? I'm using it right now and have for several years.
You can get 10Gbps cards for well under $100.
In fact, 5Gbps isn't worth touching.
You want affordable, 2.5Gbps is the way to go.
The main reason for this isn't even the cost for the add-in cards, but the switch cost.
2.5Gbps switches are already down to ~$200 for an eight port switch.
There are no 5Gbps and below switches that I'm aware of, so you'd still have to go 10Gbps/multigig.
I guess my point is outside of server use you won't be using 10Gbp

Internet speed will still be based on ISP service
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
9,343 (1.51/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I guess my point is outside of server use you won't be using 10Gbp

Internet speed will still be based on ISP service
Sure, but what does internet speed have to to with your internal network speed?
I only have a 200Mbps internet connection, but I have a 10Gbps connection between this PC and my NAS, as it makes everything go faster between the two.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Sure, but what does internet speed have to to with your internal network speed?
I only have a 200Mbps internet connection, but I have a 10Gbps connection between this PC and my NAS, as it makes everything go faster between the two.
I held off posting on this thread because my networking knowledge isn't the greatest but what Swede had said above is the main point if your hoping to set up a home network to share files between a LAN your best going as fast as budget will allow this not only allows future proofing but if you have say 4 devices all trying to connect externally to the internet your limited to the bandwidth of one port do you really want to bottleneck your devices when who is to say in the next few years your ISP decides to quadruple your current DL/UL speeds
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Sure, but what does internet speed have to to with your internal network speed?
I only have a 200Mbps internet connection, but I have a 10Gbps connection between this PC and my NAS, as it makes everything go faster between the two.
It works both ways you build the network for both internal and external speeds. My internet connection is 1000Mbps. I don't have a NAS, but I do have a server. It's mostly for media editing and transcoding.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Have to buy some more wall plates
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Welp I got lucky. Got some good finds today. Found a 4 Post Server Rack for $50 and 2x 1320W UPS for $40

691782D4-E146-4F63-BF1B-18F56D4B2A33.jpeg

959C96EF-38E9-435A-B40C-3CDCC9F4122E.jpeg
 
Last edited:

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Welp getting everything installed into the rack.
Funny thing the switch I bought doesn’t actually fit so I just screwed in one side and the rest is being held up by the UPS under it. Which by the way weighs a freaking ton
D34D1B0C-2D06-45ED-A640-D8D1E31B5D09.jpeg
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,452 (0.62/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
Takes me back to the early years when I got my cisco, ms, novel certs. I think everyone goes thru that phase where you want stuff a server rack in your closet and shit.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Takes me back to the early years when I got my cisco, ms, novel certs. I think everyone goes thru that phase where you want stuff a server rack in your closet and shit.
Ehhh wouldn’t call it a phase more so I actually need a strong dedicated network at home
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
This is costing me with every post @Durvelle27 although slightly more modest I'm in the process of deciding on a firewall I'm looking at pfsense but finding a cheap alternative available in Asia for the hardware is slightly difficult my options seem to be either a clone or some sort of biostar board. I'm trying to keep tdp to a minimum also bit some of the old server blades here seem very enticing.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
This is costing me with every post @Durvelle27 although slightly more modest I'm in the process of deciding on a firewall I'm looking at pfsense but finding a cheap alternative available in Asia for the hardware is slightly difficult my options seem to be either a clone or some sort of biostar board. I'm trying to keep tdp to a minimum also bit some of the old server blades here seem very enticing.
To run pfsense you don’t need epic hardware. I’m only using a A10 APU, 8GB RAM, and a 256GB SSD. Uses under 100W
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yep I been looking at an A10
Screenshot_20211013-205801.png
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yep I know from what I read I need a intel one, only thing that's confusing me is the speeds when I look at the Netgate options what controls the massive difference in speed? Processor/ram? As far as a nic I'm looking at sfp ones so I can then wire my fibre in without the need for a media converter.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Yep I know from what I read I need a intel one, only thing that's confusing me is the speeds when I look at the Netgate options what controls the massive difference in speed? Processor/ram? As far as a nic I'm looking at sfp ones so I can then wire my fibre in without the need for a media converter.
It doesn't have to be intel. Broadcom NICs work as well. Intel is just the preferred choice. Speed shouldn't be an issue as long as the NIC can keep up.

MY ISP is 1.2GBps and in home is 10GBps and I have no issues achieving my speeds.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Sorry getting my network os's mixed up it's truenas that requires intel I think
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Sorry getting my network os's mixed up it's truenas that requires intel I think
Ahhhh ok. I have no experience with that as I run Opensense, FreeNas, and Windows Server
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
If broadcom works with pfsense this is a good option it seems and extremely cheap at less than $30

Screenshot_20211013-221611.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
I might have just scrapped the idea of custom building a pfsense box scrolling through online I've found a supplier of dell poweredge r210 ii servers for less than the price of the biostar board. No need to buy a nic or anything else and the power consumption isn't too bad either a quick search online confirms it can be used so now it's time to look at where to put it and do I buy a rack or make one.
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,240 (1.84/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Gigabyte P750 750W Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I might have just scrapped the idea of custom building a pfsense box scrolling through online I've found a supplier of dell poweredge r210 ii servers for less than the price of the biostar board. No need to buy a nic or anything else and the power consumption isn't too bad either a quick search online confirms it can be used so now it's time to look at where to put it and do I buy a rack or make one.
Not a bad idea. I have a server with dual nics but I chose to use it only as a server and not routing/firewall
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
619 (10.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Asrock b450m steel legend
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
I'm an idiot when it comes to networking so I don't really understand why I would need a server.

My plan is to just have of sense running off this dell blade mainly for my wife's sake (she earns the money and uses an online platform) then connect to a switch, which will connect my pc, the Nas, a Poe switch for cameras and a wireless access point.

The details I'll work out as I go along my only fear is the instability of the power grid here so some form of smart ups which will allow me to shutdown and startup everything with a power outage is what I really need to research and understand.
 
Top