• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

-Building My Computer -HELP!-

anony283

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
7
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys, I am putting my computer together. I have a Q6600 processor with the Zalman 9700CNPS NT heatsink. I installed the processor, the heatsink, the power supply, and the motherboard into the case. I plugged everything in and started my computer up as a test. The power supply starts up fine and so do the case fans. But, the fan on the zalman does not even start. I know the power is getting to the motherboard because when I turn the power off to the computer on the back, the green led flickers and the fan heatsink fan spins for a second and then stops. Help is appreciated. Thanks!
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#2
Are you sure you have the Zalman plugged into the cpu fan header? Check this first. If you do, it could a problem with the Zalman. If so, you might need to RMA it.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
4,413
Likes
147
Location
England
Processor Intel Core i7-7700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 4x 8GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 2133MHz
Video Card(s) 2x NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti FEs
Storage 512GB SSD, 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) AOC U2879VF, AOC G2260VWQ6
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
Try plugging the fan connector in the other way round.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#4
Also, you might want to try the cpu cooler that came with the Q6600. That will help you rule out a problem with the fan header itself..
 

anony283

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
7
Likes
0
#5
Yes, it is plugged into the Zalman CPU Header. I just tried to unplug it, I don't want to apply too much force. It's not coming out.
 

anony283

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
7
Likes
0
#6
Ok, I unplugged it an tried the other way -- no luck. Now when I hit the power off the Green LED doesn't flash. I am assuming this is the wrong way.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#7
Did you try the stock cpu fan? And you do have thermal paste right? What about the extra plug for the cpu?
 

anony283

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
7
Likes
0
#8
I plugged it correctly again and tried turning it on. The led starts up for a second and the fan twitches then it stops. I did not try the stock cpy fan yet. I have acrtic silver 5 on the cpu. I do not know if I have an extra cpu plug. Also, I may have screwed the top part of the zalman on backwords, the fan is facing the IO plate on my motherboard. Does this make a difference? Thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#9
I plugged it correctly again and tried turning it on. The led starts up for a second and the fan twitches then it stops. I did not try the stock cpy fan yet. I have acrtic silver 5 on the cpu. I do not know if I have an extra cpu plug. Also, I may have screwed the top part of the zalman on backwords, the fan is facing the IO plate on my motherboard. Does this make a difference? Thanks!
No....what is your motherboard? Besides the 24 pin main connector there's also a 4/8 pin connection (4 or 8 depending on your mobo).
 

anony283

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
7
Likes
0
#10
Gigabyte P35-DS3P I have the main connector which is plugged into the mobo then I have a 4 pin which I just plugged in right next to the main one in the same slot. It fits and fills it up.
 

anony283

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
7
Likes
0
#11
Hmm, I forgot to plug in the CPU1 Connector. I just did that. Now when I turned it on the green led started and stayed up on the zalman. Then I flicked the fan and it started. But everytime I turn it on, I have to flick the fan. It doesn't start on its own.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#12
Is a wire blocking the fan blades? I had that happen to me on a GPU's fan.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#13
Hmm, I forgot to plug in the CPU1 Connector. I just did that. Now when I turned it on the green led started and stayed up on the zalman. Then I flicked the fan and it started. But everytime I turn it on, I have to flick the fan. It doesn't start on its own.
Maybe it was plugged in right the first time?