• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bulldozer, AM3 or new socket?

Bulldozer, what socket?

  • New Socket

    Votes: 28 43.1%
  • AM3, but new NB/SB so backwards compatible

    Votes: 17 26.2%
  • AM3, fully compatible with current tech

    Votes: 20 30.8%

  • Total voters
    65
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#26
i think they have to change things up... like kierand said ddr3 at 1333mhz isn't going to cut it... i want a whole new chip i want a whole new board to take advantage of faster ram, faster gpu, and a faster chip that can eat through anything... Even space and time.. i want it to open a worm hole up and suck me into the matrix...

But seriously as an AMD enthusiasts don't we want to see change and something new to tinker with..?

josh
I agree:toast:
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#27
I think we pretty much established that Bulldozer going to use AM3, now then, will it need a new mobo or we can use the current 8xx mobo's to power them?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#28
I think we pretty much established that Bulldozer going to use AM3, now then, will it need a new mobo or we can use the current 8xx mobo's to power them?
I believe that there might be 2 versions of the bulldozer.

I think there wil be a high end Phenom with integrated GPU featured on a new socket and lowend Athlon/Sempron version without the integrated GPU which will have AM2+AM3 support.

^ That is the best way to implement some backward compatibility whilst still moving forward.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#29
I think we pretty much established that Bulldozer going to use AM3, now then, will it need a new mobo or we can use the current 8xx mobo's to power them?
Ok given that... I have to have a larger MOB,,,,, seriously.. a fool would want to keep these small MOB.... I need more space... i have 2 sapphire 4870X2 and they block the other ports for me to have a killer sound card or anything else i want to use... The next boards better be larger which i do believe they are going to be... but take people like me into consideration... i just put my rig together less than a month and i already want a HAF X and a larger board... but i wont do it until i can fit 2 5xxxX2 series cards with arctic fans on it and have more room to play with in my case.

I hope the next mob for amd has something up its sleeve and makes use of all the new chips powers!

josh
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#30
You have the Crosshair IV and you are complaining that you don't have enough space?!
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#31
You have the Crosshair IV and you are complaining that you don't have enough space?!
:pimp:Yes, yes I am complaining..:cool:

I know I sound like a fool but, i want a sound card and i have no way of shoehorning it in,,,:banghead:

Is there a bigger board I'm not aware of...:confused:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,548 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,909
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#32
I believe that there might be 2 versions of the bulldozer.

I think there wil be a high end Phenom with integrated GPU featured on a new socket and lowend Athlon/Sempron version without the integrated GPU which will have AM2+AM3 support.

^ That is the best way to implement some backward compatibility whilst still moving forward.
Bulldozer is the core without a gpu. The core with a gpu is Llano.

i think they have to change things up... like kierand said ddr3 at 1333mhz isn't going to cut it... i want a whole new chip i want a whole new board to take advantage of faster ram, faster gpu, and a faster chip that can eat through anything... Even space and time.. i want it to open a worm hole up and suck me into the matrix...

But seriously as an AMD enthusiasts don't we want to see change and something new to tinker with..?

josh
Again, Zambezi should have mem support up to 1866 mhz. Thuban shows that this is more than possible(Over 2000mhz has been shown so far). We are jsut waiting on JEDEC for better specs.

And on that note, we just got thuban a month ago. Tinker with that until the next cpus are released.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#33
:pimp:Yes, yes I am complaining..:cool:

I know I sound like a fool but, i want a sound card and i have no way of shoehorning it in,,,:banghead:

Is there a bigger board I'm not aware of...:confused:
What? Crosshair 4 have 7 expansion slots the last time I took a look at them. 4870X2 takes 2, so 2 of them takes 4. that still leave you with 3 more, unless they magically disappear?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,548 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,909
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#34
What? Crosshair 4 have 7 expansion slots the last time I took a look at them. 4870X2 takes 2, so 2 of them takes 4. that still leave you with 3 more, unless they magically disappear?
Eyefinity needs more than 3 Cypress gpus, and CH4 Formula doesn't support 3 and a sound card. Extreme will support 4 gpus...but a sound card? Probably not all at the same time. I want 10 slot boards too.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#35
Eyefinity needs more than 3 Cypress gpus, and CH4 Formula doesn't support 3 and a sound card. Extreme will support 4 gpus...but a sound card? Probably not all at the same time. I want 10 slot boards too.
2x5970s, and egg tells me that the CH4 can take in 4 PCIe :confused:

More than enough space if you ask me.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#36
What? Crosshair 4 have 7 expansion slots the last time I took a look at them. 4870X2 takes 2, so 2 of them takes 4. that still leave you with 3 more, unless they magically disappear?
:banghead: now if you can find a spot ill put it in :nutkick:


Shot at 2010-05-26



Shot at 2010-05-27


Shot at 2010-05-26


:slap::slap::slap::slap::slap::slap:

LOL all in good fun:toast::toast::toast:
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#37
Eyefinity needs more than 3 Cypress gpus, and CH4 Formula doesn't support 3 and a sound card. Extreme will support 4 gpus...but a sound card? Probably not all at the same time. I want 10 slot boards too.
Yes 10 or more... i hate that this is the future and my first build in like 10yrs and i ran out of space on the baddest MOB out there....

DARN YOU FUTURE TECHNOLOGY!!!:banghead:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#38
Eyefinity needs more than 3 Cypress gpus, and CH4 Formula doesn't support 3 and a sound card. Extreme will support 4 gpus...but a sound card? Probably not all at the same time. I want 10 slot boards too.
Onboard sound on the CH4 is actually the best onboard I've ever used if that's good for anything. I am pleasantly surprised with it. :)
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#39
That's unfair, you didn't tell me you were using aftermarket coolers! :cry: Your rigs look very good though.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,548 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,909
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#40
Onboard sound on the CH4 is actually the best onboard I've ever used if that's good for anything. I am pleasantly surprised with it. :)
Actually, you are very right, and most onboard "soundcards" today are almost equivalent to add-in cards, at least 100% feature-wise.

However, to get DoblyHD or DTS HD over HDM istill currently requires an add-in card. I'd love to be able to get an HTPC that can game in HD as well...
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#41
Actually, you are very right, and most onboard "soundcards" today are almost equivalent to add-in cards, at least 100% feature-wise.

However, to get DoblyHD or DTS HD over HDM istill currently requires an add-in card. I'd love to be able to get an HTPC that can game in HD as well...
But see im over the top so i want a Fatal1ty Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Professional Series sound card... i think its awesome and will fill up one of my drives like no other... here is a shot of the rig from the front... i have a Aerocool 1000 and a Scythe fan controller on the way they are both single bay ones, dont know which one i will pick to keep once i see them in the bay... but i still want a blue ray and all bays filled when i am done




Shot at 2010-05-27
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#42
But see im over the top so i want a Fatal1ty Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Professional Series sound card... i think its awesome and will fill up one of my drives like no other... here is a shot of the rig from the front... i have a Aerocool 1000 and a Scythe fan controller on the way they are both single bay ones, dont know which one i will pick to keep once i see them in the bay... but i still want a blue ray and all bays filled when i am done



http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/4922/hpim2711.jpg
Shot at 2010-05-27
Show your stuff in the PC ATM thread or the case gallery. Let's keep on topic. ;) Your cards are beasts btw! :toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#43
ok ok, sorry,,, ok well back on topic... will the new chip force new changes in MOB...? I think so.. I hope so... i really do... I want a larger board and less need to push the board to work with my ddr3 2000.

josh
 

TVman

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
308 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Processor E8400 3.6 ghz
Memory 4 GB
Video Card(s) HD4850 512 MB
Storage 250 GB
Software win 7 64bit
#44
well the memory controller is on the cpu not on the motherboard....so it is not the motherboards fault,it is the memory controllers fault!!!,and the bigger mobo wish is just stupid. i mean seriosly dont get 2 3 slot cards if you want space in your computer :rolleyes: :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#45
well the memory controller is on the cpu not on the motherboard....so it is not the motherboards fault,it is the memory controllers fault!!!,and the bigger mobo wish is just stupid. i mean seriosly dont get 2 3 slot cards if you want space in your computer :rolleyes: :laugh:

Its in companies best intrest to allow me to have dual-tri-quad-or X-? fired cards...Mo-money and more FUN!:rockout:

If i could do dual X6 with like 4 4870X2 i would.. but they dont make a crossfire bridges for MOB... do they?

But i degress back to the point... i would need to dream of try to hook 2 MOB up if they would just give me a larger MOB and engineer a whole new chip that is worthy of 2010 and till the end of the Mayan Calender:respect:... or maybe thats how the time ends... AMD gives us the key :rockout:
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#46
Actually, you are very right, and most onboard "soundcards" today are almost equivalent to add-in cards, at least 100% feature-wise.

However, to get DoblyHD or DTS HD over HDM istill currently requires an add-in card. I'd love to be able to get an HTPC that can game in HD as well...
My onboard supports DTS.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#47
^ DTS is different from DTS HD, likewise Dolby Digital is different from Dolby Digital True HD.

The HD variants support higher bitrates and you need a special HD receiver to use these technologies, they can only be pass through HDMI as well (not fibre or coaxial).
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
356 (0.11/day)
Likes
64
Location
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Processor core i7 860 @ 4.02ghz (201x20)
Motherboard Gigabyte p55a-ud5
Cooling swiftech 240 rad and Apogee GTZ XT water block
Memory g skill ripjaws @ 1910 cas 9
Video Card(s) inno3d GTX570 820/1640 core shaders 2000 memory
Storage 120gb G-Skill phoenix Pro SSD (Sandforce 1200) 500gb + 750gb storage drives
Display(s) LG 27' 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake V9
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster 650w
Software 7 Ultimate x64
#48
Actually, you are very right, and most onboard "soundcards" today are almost equivalent to add-in cards, at least 100% feature-wise.

However, to get DoblyHD or DTS HD over HDM istill currently requires an add-in card. I'd love to be able to get an HTPC that can game in HD as well...
does the 7.1 sound chip in the 5****'s cover this?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#49
125W 6 cores currently support AM2+ w/ DDR2

that's gonna be my next upgrade, not bulldozer
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#50
does the 7.1 sound chip in the 5****'s cover this?
Interesting question, I actually did not know the answer to this so I did a quick search on the net. From what I understand the 58xx video cards can not bit stream DTS MA HD 7.1 or DD True HD 7.1 through its HDMI output to a supported receiver. However it can output PCM 8 channel and regular DTS 5.1 and DD 5.1 from pre-encoded DVD/BluRay movies.

From what I understand you need a specialist soundcard like the Auzentech Home Threater or Xonar HDAV1.3 in conjunction with PowerDVD to output DTS MA 7.1 or True HD 7.1 via HDMI from pre-encoded DVD/BluRay movies.

This is a area I was slightly iffy about, so if there is a mistake somebody point it out.