• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Business Telecoms system recommendations...

Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,448 (0.51/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
I have an online retail business which I've been growing for the last two years. Im in the UK and the freephone number prefix for customers to call us is 0800 which I can port to any phone number/system.
I want to build a computer/server/nas that I can install software on to run the telephones.
What im looking for is a business system when a customer calls they get to choose the department they want to speak to and go into a queue if no one is available.

Currently we are pretty small and it will be for two internal telephones (two sales people)... but as we grow this would expand and I'd like to have functionality for when this happens and not to have to migrate to another system.

Any reccomendations out there? Cost is king (If theres something that we can use that dosent have a monthly payment and we can buy the license to outright that would be perfect).
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.22/day)
Your telephone provider can do all this for you for a modest fee. You can even get different rings for different numbers that the call is incoming to.

Well, that's what I do, anyway. :p


There's a bunch of office-grade phones that can do that as well.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.49/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Agree with cadaveca, just buy a service from a provider.

To buy, install, manage and run your own system would cost a lot more than buying from a service from a service provider who specialises in telephony systems.

Think of it this way, most business models are reliant on regular customers as opposed to one off purchases, why should your outgoings be any different?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,448 (0.51/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
Agree with cadaveca, just buy a service from a provider.

To buy, install, manage and run your own system would cost a lot more than buying from a service from a service provider who specialises in telephony systems.

Think of it this way, most business models are reliant on regular customers as opposed to one off purchases, why should your outgoings be any different?
It wouldnt neccesarily be buyng and installing a new system... I was thinking of software on a server/pc connected to IP phones that can run a waiting list, answering machine, menu system.... I have lots of parts to build the server and plenty of space, power to run it... also i only need two phone lines at this stage and being IP phones would only need a network cable/router to extend them in future.

Surely that has to be simpler, cheaper than going monthly subscription on another provider when i already have the phone number in place?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.22/day)
Then you need to buy a PBX. Or run PBX software. That acronym should get you headed in the right direction.


For me personally, I pay less than $25 a month, and when something goes wrong, it's not up to me to fix. That is why I pay monthly, not having to service equipment myself.

But I totally get where you are coming from wanting to have your own hardware.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,448 (0.51/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
cool thanks for the suggestions everyone :)
I guess its research time on goooooogle
 
Top