• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Bye Bye Floppy...

J0N

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Location
England
Processor Celeron M 1.50Ghz
Memory 512mb DDR
Video Card(s) 128mb Intel
Storage 60Gb
Display(s) 15" Widescreen
Audio Device(s) Korg 1212i/o - Needs A Home...
Software Windows Xp SP2
#1

bmwthd

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
lovely ohio
Processor Athlon 3000 64-bit
Motherboard Abit KV8 Pro
Cooling Don't laugh, its stock
Memory 2 gb
Video Card(s) ati x700 pro
Storage 2x 120 gb's and a raptor thats F.U.B.A.R.
Display(s) 19" BenQ
Audio Device(s) Audigy LS
#2
In the attic, next to the 5 1/2" bays
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.17/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
#3
I banned that device 2 years ago.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#4
I still have mine for BIOS flashing needs :)
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#5
I have one, but haven't used it for a long time. The only reason I use it is the same as Sasqui - I don't think my mobo lets me update from USB, and I haven't bothered to see if I can get it too yet. Flash drives > floppy by a mile - faster, more reliable and bigger.
 

J0N

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
Location
England
Processor Celeron M 1.50Ghz
Memory 512mb DDR
Video Card(s) 128mb Intel
Storage 60Gb
Display(s) 15" Widescreen
Audio Device(s) Korg 1212i/o - Needs A Home...
Software Windows Xp SP2
#6
Mine is still in the system. Couldnt tell you when I last used it though...
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#7
Well, this is 1 GOOD THING ABOUT VISTA I have heard about:

You no longer NEED to use Floppy Disks to install 3rd party drivers anymore (for things like SCSI &/or High-End SATA/PATA diskdrive controllers for instance)... pressing "F6" during installation of the OS, near the earliest parts of it.

:)

* I know, I know - not EXACTLY what this topic's about, but it's true from what I heard & DOES regard floppy disk usage.

APK
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#8
Well, this is 1 GOOD THING ABOUT VISTA I have heard about:

You no longer NEED to use Floppy Disks to install 3rd party drivers anymore (for things like SCSI &/or High-End SATA/PATA diskdrive controllers for instance)... pressing "F6" during installation of the OS, near the earliest parts of it.

:)

* I know, I know - not EXACTLY what this topic's about, but it's true from what I heard & DOES regard floppy disk usage.

APK
I agree with this I hated that you still needed a floppy for that in XP.
 

Protius

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,410 (0.33/day)
Likes
18
Location
Wonderful Ohio
Processor E6420 @ 3.6 -1.4v
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Lapped
Memory GSkill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR1000 @1080 5-5-5-15 2t 2.1v
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
Storage 74gb Raptor 16mb cache & 500gb sata2 WD Cavaliar
Display(s) SAMSUNG 226bw 22" widescreen
Case Lian-Li PC-A05 w/ window & top 120mm blowhole
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music-Logitech Z-530 (5.1)
Power Supply CORSAIR 550VX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#9

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#10
I like floppies. Though, when my wife bought me my compaq gaming pc, it didnt come with a floppy, just a flash card reader. Im hoping, and it looks like I wont, need a floppy for my ASUS A8N5X mobo.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#11
FDD... stalwart and reliable when you really need it. an essential bit of kit for the enthusiast who needs to flash from dos using very specific special commands which windows based flashers cant do.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#12
poor floppy guess ill have to stock up now
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
My new asus doesn't require a floppy either, but I have a serious problem depending on WINDOWS! to stay stable while the program flashes my rom... Mainly because I don't feel like having to order a new bios if something goes wrong, I have already seen it happen... Floppy until the day there is another way that is as stable and error proof.

Maybe what they should do is drop 2 chips on the board, allow you to update online, and then on reboot it verifies the data on the second chip that updated and after verification it re-writes the other bios.
 

overcast

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
733 (0.17/day)
Likes
2
Processor AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz Stock Voltage
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling Stock Opteron
Memory OCZ PC4000 EB Platinum 2GB
Video Card(s) ATI X1900XTX
Storage 2 x Western Digital 74gb Raptors
Display(s) NEC 990B 19"
Case Antec P150
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic S12-500
Software XP 32bit
#14
My new asus doesn't require a floppy either, but I have a serious problem depending on WINDOWS! to stay stable while the program flashes my rom... Mainly because I don't feel like having to order a new bios if something goes wrong, I have already seen it happen... Floppy until the day there is another way that is as stable and error proof.

Maybe what they should do is drop 2 chips on the board, allow you to update online, and then on reboot it verifies the data on the second chip that updated and after verification it re-writes the other bios.
Gigabyte has been doing this forever. Many motherboards have two bios chips, for exactly what you are talking about.
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.49/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#15
Well, this is 1 GOOD THING ABOUT VISTA I have heard about:

You no longer NEED to use Floppy Disks to install 3rd party drivers anymore (for things like SCSI &/or High-End SATA/PATA diskdrive controllers for instance)... pressing "F6" during installation of the OS, near the earliest parts of it.

:)

* I know, I know - not EXACTLY what this topic's about, but it's true from what I heard & DOES regard floppy disk usage.

APK
um, i havent used a floppy for that in years on my systems, i just use nlite and make a new windows disk thats got the needed drivers builtin, FAR better then floppy.

also you can use the %oem% folder to store drivers that you cant/dont want to slipstream,

and ket, i agree, tho i read someplace that winfash with commandline changes can flash the same as the dos flasher, havent tryed it, no need, i normaly stick to stock bios unless theres a real need to get moded ones.

this asus board needs TrFc tweaks and i would be happy as could be, whats funny to me is that the tforce550 a board that RETAIL is 1/2 the price of this asus board has better overclocking fetures!!!
higher vcore settings, better memory timings, just allaround a better board!!!!
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#16
hell ECS makes one for there highend mobos that jumpers over the original BIOS chips and sets it back to stock
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.49/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#17
its a top hat flash tool, and i dosnt set it back to stock, you stick that on, boot up remove it and flash a working bios to the crupted bios chip

its called a tophat flasher, nothing new, they been around for years, just that no board maker till ECS bothered(where kool enought) to ship them with the boards that had soldered on bios chips.

and the tophat is just a cheaper way to do dual bios, less complexity on the mobo=less cost per board, AFIK you can flash the tophat with updated bios as well if you leave it on(at least i flashed the tophats (2) i have at work with many bios using various boards so i could fix other boards that had gotten fubard :)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#18
hell ECS makes one for there highend mobos that jumpers over the original BIOS chips and sets it back to stock
The jumper resets oem values. but if you corrupt your bios that wont work...
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
Gigabyte has been doing this forever. Many motherboards have two bios chips, for exactly what you are talking about.
See that is the fix! Then you don't have a problem...

Hm I haven't even liked Gigabyte boards well since they swayed me the
wrong way about 8 years ago... Maybe I should give em a shot again.

Go guys! Took my idea before I knew I had it... :D
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#20
The jumper resets oem values. but if you corrupt your bios that wont work...
which is why hotflashing exists, of course, to do that you need a working mobo to hand
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#21
which is why hotflashing exists, of course, to do that you need a working mobo to hand
Or a rom writer that would always work :)
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#22
FDD... stalwart and reliable when you really need it. an essential bit of kit for the enthusiast who needs to flash from dos using very specific special commands which windows based flashers cant do.
my thoughts exactly ;)
:toast:
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#23
I still have a floppy handy just in case. So what happens to the 3.25 drives? Card readers.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#24
um, i havent used a floppy for that in years on my systems, i just use nlite and make a new windows disk thats got the needed drivers builtin, FAR better then floppy. also you can use the %oem% folder to store drivers that you cant/dont want to slipstream
I guess my point was missed: You don't need a floppy in TYPICAL install circumstances/scenarios, as you needed them in before VISTA in most ordinary Windows installs.

I suppose I should have/could have, stated it that way, to avoid "nitpicking"...

APK

P.S.=> Your method's "a way", & I am not discounting it... if it works, it works. I have not tried that before, so, I'll take your word on it that it works (the NLite method you describe - I've heard about the program, but never used it to date)!

Like many folks here, I know that "slipstreaming in" services packs &/or hotfixes PLUS drivers, works, to avoid having to do the F6 install of 3rd party drivers, so your method makes sense as well... apk
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#25
Will I be able to get my computer to boot up my sata drives with a card reader? Do internal card readers use ide cables? I say this because I had to use a floppy to get my computer to boot from my sata drives.