• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

cable cross over how to ?

Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
53 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego @ 2.4GHz (Stock)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLi nFORCE 4
Cooling CPU:GigaByte G-Power, Case:1x 8cm & 2x 12cm
Memory 2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 DDR (2 x 1GB)
Video Card(s) XFX nVIDIA GeFORCE 7800GT Extreme Edition 256MB GDDR3 VIVO @ 450/1050MHz (Stock)
Storage Samsung SpinPoint 200GB SATA-II 8MB Cache 7200RPM
Display(s) 19'' Samsung SyncMaster CRT @ 100Hz
Case ThermalTake Tsunami Dream (Black)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX2.0
Software Windows XP Home Edition + SP2
#1
Hi guys i wanna connect my lads pc to my pc via cable cross over and 2 10/100 fast ethernet cards.
Is there an easy way to do this or can any of you guys point me in the direction of a site what tells you how to do this ?

Any help on this thank you in advance
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#2
BiGShiRley said:
Hi guys i wanna connect my lads pc to my pc via cable cross over and 2 10/100 fast ethernet cards.
Is there an easy way to do this or can any of you guys point me in the direction of a site what tells you how to do this ?

Any help on this thank you in advance
Have you done it yet????
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
53 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego @ 2.4GHz (Stock)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLi nFORCE 4
Cooling CPU:GigaByte G-Power, Case:1x 8cm & 2x 12cm
Memory 2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 DDR (2 x 1GB)
Video Card(s) XFX nVIDIA GeFORCE 7800GT Extreme Edition 256MB GDDR3 VIVO @ 450/1050MHz (Stock)
Storage Samsung SpinPoint 200GB SATA-II 8MB Cache 7200RPM
Display(s) 19'' Samsung SyncMaster CRT @ 100Hz
Case ThermalTake Tsunami Dream (Black)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX2.0
Software Windows XP Home Edition + SP2
#4
i have the cable m8 thx just wanna know how to go about settings u need to have ect ect thx
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
It's no different from a straight cable settings wise.

Simply give both computers a different IP in the same range (192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2 for example) make sure they have the same netmask (255.255.255.0, on home networks you'd hardly ever see anything else)

Voila it should work.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
53 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego @ 2.4GHz (Stock)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLi nFORCE 4
Cooling CPU:GigaByte G-Power, Case:1x 8cm & 2x 12cm
Memory 2GB Corsair XMS PC3200 DDR (2 x 1GB)
Video Card(s) XFX nVIDIA GeFORCE 7800GT Extreme Edition 256MB GDDR3 VIVO @ 450/1050MHz (Stock)
Storage Samsung SpinPoint 200GB SATA-II 8MB Cache 7200RPM
Display(s) 19'' Samsung SyncMaster CRT @ 100Hz
Case ThermalTake Tsunami Dream (Black)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX2.0
Software Windows XP Home Edition + SP2
#6
Hi thx for reply but u are talking with a relitive pc newb is it that simple or is there more to do b4 u get the that stage ? :eek:
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#8
Simply go to the properties of your networkconnection and doubleclick tcp/ip, then do what i said :)
Shouldn't be a problem.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#10
Xbox's can do hardware crossover, I can use crossover or regular for connecting mine and my friends xbox's.