• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management with my Display

_LoneWolf_

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2019
Messages
23 (0.13/day)
Hey there! Today I've built a new rig with Ryzen 5 2600 and Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming 8G. I've a monitor from Samsung SyncMaster S19B150. The thing is I have one DVI-D port and one VGA port in my Monitor, Whereas my CPU and GPU has 1 HDMI + 1 DVI-D port for each. (I mean CPU has 1hdmi+1dvi-d and GPU too has 1hdmi+1dvi-d). So the question is how should I connect my Display with them? Should I also have to Connect my GPU with monitor? Or is it enough to connect with CPU only? Please reply!! I'm stuck there
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
1,160 (0.56/day)
Location
Grunn
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor R5 3600 (stock boost, FCLK/UCLK 1833)
Motherboard Asus Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 3200c16 (micron rev. E@3666 16-21/18-18)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC
Storage 860EVO 500GB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, Dell P2417H
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Røde VXLR+, Modmic 5
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502, Razer Gigantus
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win10 x64/Win7 x64/Ubuntu
By CPU I presume you mean motherboard... Since the CPU (ryzen 2600) you have doesn't have integrated graphics none of the display outputs on the motherboard should be functional. You will need to connect the display using the GPU video outputs.

I would suggest using digital over analogue video cables wherever possible, that means using DVI.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,073 (1.25/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Unless I am totally confused (entirely possible) it sounds like you are asking how to connect "multiple" video cables to your monitor. Is that right?

If so, you don't want (or need) to do that. You only need one graphics cable from the computer to the monitor. And I agree going digital with DVI, DisplayPort or HDMI would be best. However, according to these S19B150N specs, that monitor only supports VGA. Note that model number is 150N. I cannot find the specs for model 150.

I did find a 150B sold in India that supports DVI too.

Please verify your model number and the input ports your monitor supports.

Regardless, you only need one graphics cable between the computer (your graphics card) and the monitor.
 

_LoneWolf_

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2019
Messages
23 (0.13/day)
Unless I am totally confused (entirely possible) it sounds like you are asking how to connect "multiple" video cables to your monitor. Is that right?

If so, you don't want (or need) to do that. You only need one graphics cable from the computer to the monitor. And I agree going digital with DVI, DisplayPort or HDMI would be best. However, according to these S19B150N specs, that monitor only supports VGA. Note that model number is 150N. I cannot find the specs for model 150.

I did find a 150B sold in India that supports DVI too.

Please verify your model number and the input ports your monitor supports.

Regardless, you only need one graphics cable between the computer (your graphics card) and the monitor.
Well thank you so much for the reply! :love: btw I've connected my GPU to the monitor via HDMI to VGA converter. My monitor does have both VGA and DVI-D. And the Model is SyncMaster S19B150. (As it is written in the upper right corner of the monitor) The monitor performs very well.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,234 (3.13/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Only connect the dedicated GPU via DVI
NVM Your monitor is 1366 x 768 Resolution so VGA is fine
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,073 (1.25/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
While VGA may be fine, but it is an "analog" video signal which then must be converted - twice! Once from digital to analog in the graphics card where it is then sent down the VGA cable to the monitor. Then converted back to digital in the monitor. This is because LCD monitors are digital devices. Image degradation and inconsistencies may occur or be introduced during those conversion processes and the analog signals are susceptible to interference or video noise (noise you may see, not hear).

DVI (and HDMI and DisplayPort) use digital signals from start to finish. No conversions are required and because these signals are basically a bunch of 1s and 0s, it is easy to maintain their integrity from start to finish too. Digital signals are not susceptible to degradation, inconsistencies, or interference. So when possible, it is still typically better to go digital.
 
Top