• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cache question - AMD (I need some advice).

T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#1
Ok, so at the end of this mont, or the 25:th, a new system will be built!
However, I was looking just a couple of minutes ago on some of the AMD cpu's, and it just hit me.. Should I buy an X6 cpu with 6Mb of cache, or an X4 with 8Mb of cache.
Now, I do not intend to use the new system for playing games, more like for Photoshop, 3D applications etc.

I'm sticking with AMD since I have a rather tight budget, and yes, I did look into some of the Intel cpu's.. But I would need more money then instead.

Thankful for any replies given.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#2
mmmmm I'm gonna say X6 :)
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
if you can afford an X6 amd you can afford an i5 P67 system to be honest, and in that situation its worth the extra,

but if your really going to stick with AMD then X6 if you can afford it,

otherwise 2500k + P67 = $300 grab a $50 kit of 4gb of 1600mhz DDR3 and your on your way.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#4
x6 2 cores will be up 2 50% speed boost in multithreaded apps

2mb cache diffrence will be 1-2% in most apps, the same diffrence the x6 will make due to background apps being off loaded.

basicly, in games and pre 2006 programs ghz will make all the diffrence and cache will make small diffrence, for tasks involving photo and video editing using fairly mordern programs go for cores and ghz

cache is a 1% boost per mb in most programs
cores give a large performance boost in video and photo editing software
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#5
Ok, so at the end of this mont, or the 25:th, a new system will be built!
However, I was looking just a couple of minutes ago on some of the AMD cpu's, and it just hit me.. Should I buy an X6 cpu with 6Mb of cache, or an X4 with 8Mb of cache.
Now, I do not intend to use the new system for playing games, more like for Photoshop, 3D applications etc.

I'm sticking with AMD since I have a rather tight budget, and yes, I did look into some of the Intel cpu's.. But I would need more money then instead.

Thankful for any replies given.
I have to correct you here.

The Phenom II X6 does not have 6MB of cache.

The Phenom II X6 has 6MB of shared L3, 512kB per core of L2. So it's just above 9MB of cache (when including L1 cache)

Cheesy999, the 2MB difference in the X6s favour! Due to extra cache per core.

But yes, cache plays a small difference. I agree with the majority, X6 is the way to go. Although I would wait for Bulldozer reviews still.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#6
I have to correct you here.

The Phenom II X6 does not have 6MB of cache.
Cheesy999, the 2MB difference in the X6s favour! Due to extra cache per core.

But yes, cache plays a small difference.
i agree with you about the cache diffrence being incredibly small but its per core that matters and the x4 has 512l2 and 6mb l3 devided by 4 where the 6 core has 6mb devided by 6 which means 1.5mb per core verses 1 5/6 core in the 4 core
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
283 (0.09/day)
Likes
81
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor Phenom II X3 720 BE @ 3.15 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima
Memory Corsair XMS2, 2x2 GB DDR2, 800 MHz, CL5
Video Card(s) Asus R9 270X DirectCu II
Storage Caviar Black 500 GB & Caviar Green 1 TB
Display(s) Dell U2311H (23'' IPS)
Case Gigabyte GZ-X5
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Win 7 Pro 64-bit
#7
To expand what Dent1 said, Phenom II architecture has 512 kB L2 per core and 6 MB L3 total.
X4 ends up with 4x0.5 + 6 = 8 MB cache
X6 ends up with 6x0.5 + 6 = 9 MB cache

As for "per core cache", in most applications it's not that important actually. But, of course, in some examples it is vitally important.

Phenom II X6 are great overclockers (better than X4 parts) and extra cores help with multi-threaded applications and if you're sure you're taking a Phenom now, go with X6.


With everything here said, I probably wouldn't be buying any of those just yet.
I'd wait for at least 2-3 months, for Bulldozers to arrive and then I'd make my decision.
Then, if nothing else, prices of current CPU lineups would go down :)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#8
Are you thinking of going Bulldozer? If so id go the cheaper route (you wont see a massive difference) and then in a few months you can get Bulldozer.

Just a thought :)
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#9
Hey thanks everyone, didn't know that about the X6 (the Mb part, so thanks for that info Dent1!). Ok, so this is what I can afford with this month's budget:
Motherboard: ASUS Nvidia nForce 630a (M4N68T-M LE V2): 46€
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8GHz: 166€
Memory: Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3 1333MHz (two sticks = 8Gb): 83€
I can't find any lower prices than this in Sweden, and the parts are all "Go buy yourself", no webshops at all.

I have put the prices in Euro, just because it's easier for some to convert it to US$ and so on (they are converted from SEK).

HDD? Not sure, guess I'll stick with this one until I have more cash. I got a deal on some SSD disk , "OCZ" - 40Gb for 700SEK (around 80€). But not sure right now, let's take that next month.

If all works out well, I might have a job for 14 days, making a logotype for a company. If they buy it, I will be payed 10.000SEK (about 1000€). Then I can afford more, but seriously.. I need a vacation from all computers.. this country and myself. Haven't had a vacation since -91.

@Melvis: Bulldozer? I'm lost there.. Is it a new cpu?? I haven't had time to read any articles. Could you point me in a direction of any articles of it? Thanks, and have a happy easter - all of you.

Also - I can't wait. I have a project coming up during summer, and this needs to be done. With my current system, it can't be done. Ofcourse I can use my friends system.. however, he is coming back at the end of May already..
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#10
Motherboard: ASUS Nvidia nForce 630a (M4N68T-M LE V2): 46€
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8GHz: 166€
Memory: Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3 1333MHz (two sticks = 8Gb): 83€
I can't find any lower prices than this in Sweden, and the parts are all "Go buy yourself", no webshops at all.
I would avoid that motherboard, it's years old. Get something like the 880G series. Your motherboard choice might affect whether the AMD bulldozer are compatible.

@Melvis: Bulldozer? I'm lost there.. Is it a new cpu?? I haven't had time to read any articles. Could you point me in a direction of any articles of it? Thanks, and have a happy easter - all of you.
It's AMD's new architecture.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardware/2011/03/08/amd-bulldozer-and-llano-details-purportedly/1
 
Last edited:
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#11
I would avoid that motherboard, it's years old. Get something like the 880G series. Your motherboard choice might affect whether the AMD bulldozer are compatible.



It's AMD's new architecture.

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardware/2011/03/08/amd-bulldozer-and-llano-details-purportedly/1
But then when I can afford the Bulldozer, I might be able to get another motherboard?
This is then an option: MSI - Socket AM3 - mATX AMD 880G (880GM-E41), however it is 200SEK more expensive than the one I listed (I chose this one from available mobo's and price), and has the 16Gb RAM support. 200SEK - say about 15-20€ more, don't know if I can afford it. We can wait until I have the cash in hand, maybe I can push some buttons and get it second hand..

Also, does anyone know about the boxed cooler provided by AMD??
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#12
But then when I can afford the Bulldozer, I might be able to get another motherboard?
This is then an option: MSI - Socket AM3 - mATX AMD 880G (880GM-E41), however it is 200SEK more expensive than the one I listed (I chose this one from available mobo's and price), and has the 16Gb RAM support. 200SEK - say about 15-20€ more, don't know if I can afford it. We can wait until I have the cash in hand, maybe I can push some buttons and get it second hand..

Also, does anyone know about the boxed cooler provided by AMD??
i'm using it at the moment, don't expect to do any overclocking with the stock cooler but it works well enough to keep the cpu running
 
T

TechnicalFreak

Guest
#13
Ok, seems I can get a discount at "Dustin.se", so I'll try and see what I can get for prices on memory, MoBo and CPU. Otherwise another company located in city has a 19€ for 2Gb (1 stick of memory). If I can get the MoBo and CPU cheap, then I'll buy 12Gb of ram, which should be enough. Photoshop may not directly require much memory, but when working with Illustrator - I always run out of memory..