• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Call Of Duty 4 & 5 same stutter problem ?

Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
188
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 Top-Flow Low-Profile CPU Cooler
Memory Patriot Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C10 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3GB EVGA GTX 780 SC+ACX Cooler
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB +Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 64
#1
i have quite a high spec pc and im getting the same problem in both games.
if i run single player i can run in max settings 1680x1050 4x aa and textures on extra high for both games and they run so smooth and look great but when i try mulitplayer (some servers worse than others) the game will glitch or stutter now and then.
i mean u will turn to shoot another player and it will sort of glitch or lag so instead of getting a smooth turn, 1 second ur looking at 1 thing and the next ur looking the other way with no smooth transition between the 2 ?
it doesnt matter if i turn the graphics down it still does the same.
i do sometimes find the odd server where this hardly happens which is nice and i understand u will get this in every game just a little no matter how good ur pc is but these 2 games r not as smooth as others.
my pc spec is
asus p5b deluxe
bfg gtx260 maxcore
intel q6600 2.4 @ 3.0ghz
2x2gig pc6400 ocz reaper
corsair 620w psu
x-fi fatality sound card
antec 1200 case
all cooling is good nothing overheating.
all drivers upto date.
maybe everyone is getting this but i have a funny feeling that it will be more common with people running game in 1680x1050.
any help would be nice even if its just to say you get the same problem.
i am running in vista 32bit but i do have xp on here to so when i start my pc i can choose xp32bit or vista 32bit and if anything i would say it runs just a little smoother on vista believe it or not but hardly anything in it.
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
It's lag from the internet connection. Your ping is probably too high on those servers. It has nothing ot do with your video card, I'm willing to bet.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188
Likes
4,793
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
188
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 Top-Flow Low-Profile CPU Cooler
Memory Patriot Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C10 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3GB EVGA GTX 780 SC+ACX Cooler
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB +Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 64
#4
pb is upto date and my internet is a great connection so its not lag. my ping is always one of the lowest on the server and i only chose servers where my ping is under 40 ish (under 35 in the menu)
 
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
461
Likes
41
Location
United Kingdom
Processor I5-4670k @ 4ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z87 Extreme 4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory Gskill 2133mhz - 8gb
Video Card(s) Evga 970 GTX FTW
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb
Display(s) Samsung 22" B2230
Case NZXT 410 Phantom
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Gaming Series 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#5
It's obviously somthing to do with your internet connection, maybe packet loss or some kind of blockage through firewall, i'd suggest looking into that, and restart your router or maybe turn it off for a while, it could be overheating!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#6
you can have a ping thats as low as 10 ,but if you are getting packetloss ,it will do exactly what you describe ,having packetloss is worse than a high ping without PL.

try different servers ,check the games options for a way to monitor packetloss while in game ,im willing to bet ur getting a fair bit.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
188
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 Top-Flow Low-Profile CPU Cooler
Memory Patriot Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C10 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3GB EVGA GTX 780 SC+ACX Cooler
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB +Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 64
#7
i used to know how to check for packet loss in counter strike source but not in this game. but in cs it was pretty good.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#8
Delete your pagefile.sys, reboot then defrag the hard drive(s). Check all your hard drives to make sure you don't have pagefile.sys (or however it's named). Then recreate your page file (not sure what OS you are using). Try to include a pagefile on the same drive you have your games on. See if that stops the problem.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
188
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 Top-Flow Low-Profile CPU Cooler
Memory Patriot Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C10 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3GB EVGA GTX 780 SC+ACX Cooler
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB +Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 64
#9
i have both vista 32bit and xp 32bit but i get same problem on both and i use vista 32bit most of the time.
what is pagefile.sys ?
and where would i find it and how to do i make a new one :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
188
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 Top-Flow Low-Profile CPU Cooler
Memory Patriot Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C10 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3GB EVGA GTX 780 SC+ACX Cooler
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB +Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 64
#10
could this be a sound card thing ?
i have an x-fi fatality and i cant find a way of getting the game to work without sound to test.
if i turn the sound off in device manager and try and start the game it wont start at all so does anyone know a way of testing the game with out any sound ?
do i have to remove the sound card out of my pc and take all drivers off ?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#11
my money is on packet loss due to contention rates, your spec will muller the game which only leaves the isp, does it happen more at certain times of day? like loads in the evening and less in the middle of the night?

put
cg_drawLagometer 1
into the console to see how your connection is, try
cg_drawfps 1
if you want to monitor your fps too.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
188
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-C14 Top-Flow Low-Profile CPU Cooler
Memory Patriot Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-19200C10 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3GB EVGA GTX 780 SC+ACX Cooler
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB +Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23"
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 8.1 64
#12
thx i will try that and see how my connection is but i hope its not that cos i live in a small village and i will be one of few people on the line (the contention ratio or something i think its 50-1) bt yahoo and i am very close to the exchange so i get a very good connection.
i will report back with what i get off that lag check.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#13
packet loss and poor game conectivity issues can also be solved by lowering your MTU and or decreasing the minimum window size to something like 128K. Vista tries to optomise the recieve window, so if it is large and the packets are smaller than the minimum size it holds up the whole data stream and might request a new set of packets as the original could be considered corrupt.