1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Calling all tpu'ers help Sol out

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Solaris17, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    I need your help desperately and here is my story.

    1 Month ago my primary system went down for upgrades the upgrades came my WC and GX2's my mobo blew so i bought a 680i LT from someone here but it wont boot everything lights up but nothing starts so i used my server the PSU went it was down for about 2 weeks took mobo's and shit with it i finally got that running with spare parts tonight iv been using my iphone and w/e system i could get my hands on to come to tpu my i7 920 is enroute but x-mas is here its family before rigs so all my money goes to them instead of repairs but im low on $$ so i started a FS thread. this has been my life....i need your help deperately...so my main rig consists of the following also available in my specs

    i have

    E7200/Q6600/and i used my lil bros P4
    8GB mushkin
    2x 9800GX's
    bunch of HDD's
    corsair HX1000

    my problem is is that the system starts but no video

    i have tried the following

    boot on box

    boot in case

    boot in case with double risers stacked incase of short

    air cooling

    WC cooling

    all in the combinations above

    i have tried booting with

    all ram

    1 stick

    varing sticks

    1GB 533mhz stick i had (incase of 2GB incompatability)

    i have also tried booting with

    E7200

    Q6600

    P4

    all incase of a bios issue

    1 GX2

    the other GX2

    old pci banshee

    pci FX5200

    DVI cable

    VGA cable

    700w

    1KW

    i just dont understand im soooo close to my personal limits i know im better than a failed system but iv done everything i can all the system's in the house are on the fritz server blew up laptops are failing megs computer loves to over heat no matter WTF i do to it stck and multiple after market cooling solutions. i just cannot keep up with this if its not 1 its the other im supposed to have another 680i coming from thejesus but it had to go back to RMA and now i have to resave the money to buy it because i had to get an X-Mas present i just dont know what to do iv thought about just quitting taking up knitting or something idfk iv done everything i can mentaly and physically do to get my rig running again and it wont do it...can someone help i need to know what im not doing i can answer any question i actually did so much i wrote down what iv done and its INSANE EVERYTHING i know about computers i have pourn into this and fail i have reveiws i need to do im going to loose my job if i dont have my rig no other system in the house is upto the task i have my DVD and OS to work on my site and other verious projects and in all honestly life has come to a halt because of this so if anyone can help me im screaming PLEADING please help me get this working i will be FOREVER in your debt.

    thank you and sorry

    -Solaris
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,646 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    Have you tried a different monitor or cables yet? :)
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,914 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,047
    Location:
    Houston
    it really sounds like its the mobo...does the BIOS your running support those chips? i thought that 680i was no go for 45nm but then the Q6600 should work but for sure needs a bios update
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I agree. It seems as though you went through most, if not all the things I would have tried. Even though the 45nm may not work without a bios update, the Q6600 and P4 should have worked. It sure sounds like a dead board. Last thing I'd try is what erocker already suggested...and maybe a different psu. Sorry man.
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    2

    1 DVI

    2 diff vga cables

    iv shut of the monitor between switches used the source button numerous times (switches between analog and digital display mode)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    ya but the P4 is 90nm Q6600 is 65nm E7200 45nm :(

    2 diff psu's

    HX1k

    and 700w thermaltake

    and the LT doesnt have any type of onboard bios speakers or buzzer headers so i cant even hook up my own :(

    is has absolutely no type of post code observation methodes it has 3 LEDS

    1 power

    1 memory

    1 CPU

    all are lit


    iv searched it their have been 4 pin problems were sometimes it wont work in one way or another well the mobo has an 8 pin cpu power connector


    iv tried all 8 pins in

    1 4 pin on the left

    the same 4 pin on the right

    the second 4 pin on the left

    the same on the right

    multimeter reads correctly :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Sorry man. I think the board is dead. You mentioned the i7 is on it's way. Both the cpu and a board?
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  8. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    maybe a stupid question but does it post? if so have you tried a different monitor? onboard video if possible?

    ... ok nvm read that there is no post beeps to go off of...
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    nope only cpu

    no $$ for board or ram and no interchangable parts as i use DDR2 currently
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    no idea if it posts no display and no onbozrd video but 4 diff cards idk
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Sounds like there is no way to tell if the board is posting now. My guess is no, if he's tried numerous monitors and video cards and still gets no video.
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    tried monitor on GF's rig 2 feet away and it looks better than hers the colors are amazing between CRT and LCD
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,914 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,047
    Location:
    Houston
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    I would have to lean towards the mobo then... no jumpers have been moved on the board or dip switches?
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    total neg on cash like 0 amounts of money is the board really dead it was tested to work before it was sent to me and i refuse to bealive because this seriously cannot be happening to me right now my hours got cut at work so i have x-mas and bills to pay on like $100 every 2 weeks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    nope double checked manual to make sure they were in the proper positions
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    try switching the cmos battery out? check all jumpers/ dips (reseat them) I've had stupid little things mess with me that I over looked... check the simplest of things... :confused:
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    replaced batt with old mobos battery which i replaced 3 days before it died :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    get a flow chart and start from the basics... and work down...
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    want me to post one here? i got it all written down i did so much i needed to keep track
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    is there good thermal contact between cpu and heatsink?
     
  22. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    couldn't hurt to post it... maybe someone will see a step you may have missed
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,590 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,072
    Location:
    Florida
    yup and i reapplied so many times now i have no thermal paste left :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    possible that you bent a pin on the cpu???
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,646 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,147
    Is there a speaker hooked up to the mobo?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)