• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can a lower power supply cause FPS/performance drop?

Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
160 (0.05/day)
Likes
114
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z170A Gaming M5
Cooling EK Nickle Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + MCP 655 vario
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/El Capitan Dual Boot
#1
Hi friends,

I have a quick question. I am sometimes getting very low FPS ( under 30 fps ) in Team Fortress 2. can it be a PSU? I have 400w PSU and running ATI HD 4850 on it. I know 400w is not enough, so I have ordered 650w PSU which will arrive soon. but before it come to home, let me know that is it true that lower power can drop FPS/performance in games?

Amit
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
980 (0.25/day)
Likes
109
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
#2
Yes and cause system instability, But other than your psu you have a nice system, what 650w psu have you ordered ? Even though it is rated @ 650w what are the amp on the 12v rails like.
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#3
I agree system instability might occur such as crashing or random lock ups, but your frame rate will not improve!

In some situations, a 400w power supply can be more efficient than 650w if there are more amps on the rails.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
632 (0.18/day)
Likes
64
Location
Australia
System Name _Speedforce_ (Successor to Strike-X, 4LI3NBR33D-H, Core-iH7 & Nemesis-H)
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X (Lapped) @ 4.9Ghz With XSPC Raystorm (Lapped)
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe (XSPC Watercooled) - Custom Heatsinks
Cooling XSPC Custom Water Cooling + Custom Air Cooling (From Delta 120's TFB1212GHE to Spal 30101504&5)
Memory 8x 8Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum 3400MHz @ 3667Mhz (CMU32GX4M4C3466C16)
Video Card(s) 3x Asus GTX1080 Ti (Lapped) With Customised EK Waterblock (Lapped) + Custom heatsinks (Lapped)
Storage 5x Samsung 960 Pro 1Tb M.2 2280 (Hyper M.2 x16 Card), 1x Samsung 850 Pro 1Tb, 6x Samsung EVO 850 4Tb
Display(s) 6x Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ
Case Aerocool Strike X (Modified)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 & Aurvana XFi Headphones
Power Supply 2x Corsair AX1500i With Custom Sheilding, Custom Switching Unit. Braided Cables.
Mouse Razer Copperhead + R.A.T 9
Keyboard Ideazon Zboard + Optimus Maximus. Logitech G13.
Software w10 Pro x64.
Benchmark Scores pppft, gotta see it to believe it. . .
#4
For sure. I wouldnt even get the 650w. I think its vital one has a strong heart in his/her pc.
I think you should be aiming for an 850w+ with correct amp per rail, efficiency, stability and phase. These PSU's tend to be a little more expensive but i dont believe you can overkill the PSU :)
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#5
No, you will not see a change in fps from a power supply. If it's a decent model then 400W will be OK, the new 650W should also be fine.

The only problems due to power supply are instability, reduced overclockability and catastrophic failure (including fire)! ...but not drop on fps...
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#6
For sure. I wouldnt even get the 650w. I think its vital one has a strong heart in his/her pc.
I think you should be aiming for an 850w+ with correct amp per rail, efficiency, stability and phase. These PSU's tend to be a little more expensive but i dont believe you can overkill the PSU :)
You do not need 850+ watts for a 4850, this is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard, and you do not even need 850+ watts for crossfire 4870 X2.
You made up the value of 850+ watts from the top of your head!

Edit: Listen to EnglishLion, the frame rate will not increase, but a bad power supply can be dangerous.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
160 (0.05/day)
Likes
114
Location
India
System Name 4k machine
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z170A Gaming M5
Cooling EK Nickle Waterblock + BlackIce Pro 360 radiator + MCP 655 vario
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage 960GB Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD + 4TB WD Black + 3 TB Other
Display(s) Samsung 40KU6300 UHD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF-X
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 2013 + Razer Goliathus Speed mouse pad
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma RGB
Software Windows 10/El Capitan Dual Boot
#7
thnx for ur comments, the 650W PSU I have ordered is Antec NeoPower Blue. had read some reviews before ordering it..never read full review though, only read conclusion and found it good so ordered it :).

p.s. I got silent data corruption and bad sectors on all of my HDDs..I m sure this is due to my PSU. I m gonna replace this soon.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#8
That antec 650 should treat you well!!
 

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#9
yea the antec should do ya just fine. heck the minimum to run a 4850 is a 450w PSU no joke says so right on the friggin box. 550w minimum for crossfire.

whoever says you will see an FPS increase from a psu I need to have to what he's smokin.
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#10
yea the antec should do ya just fine. heck the minimum to run a 4850 is a 450w PSU no joke says so right on the friggin box. 550w minimum for crossfire.

whoever says you will see an FPS increase from a psu I need to have to what he's smokin.
betcha it's really good stuff. If you get some... ill buy some from ya :roll:

The 650w you bought is good, and you will be set for a good time.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#11
heck the minimum to run a 4850 is a 450w PSU no joke says so right on the friggin box. 550w minimum for crossfire.
The specs on the box allow for huge amounts of give. After all they don't know what the rest of your system requires (type of CPU, no of HDD etc) and they don't know the quality of your PSU - some don't produce quite what they headline!

So when they write the spec they err well on the side of caution.
 

kysg

New Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Likes
98
Location
Pacoima, CA
System Name Workhorse lappy
Processor AMD A6 3420
Memory 8GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) ATI radeon 6520G
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD SATAIII
Display(s) 15inch LCD
Software Windows 7 64bit
#12
The specs on the box allow for huge amounts of give. After all they don't know what the rest of your system requires (type of CPU, no of HDD etc) and they don't know the quality of your PSU - some don't produce quite what they headline!

So when they write the spec they err well on the side of caution.
this is true but seriously most of the populous does only contain 1 hdd and at best 2 for raid.

Also in the case of person who does have a 140w cpu you already damn well know they would get a higher grade psu than a 450w. pardon my lingo there.:p

it's more a general consensus or like a bottom line like if your completely screwed and you needed the minimum amount psu to get it going.

but still a lot of it is research though, if you don't do any R&D then your only digging yourself a hole. It's not Powercolor's or Sapphire's job to go out and figure out exactly what PSU's work with that card or not. Sorry if this sounds harsh.

and yes there is probably going to be the 1 dude who buys a 450w and screws his system up because it wasn't quite up to snuff. You just RMA it back, not much else to that.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#13
Can a lower power supply cause FPS/performance drop?
Yes. If you are running a game, and unplug your PSU, you will notice FPS drop to, approximately, zero.

From your system specs, 400W is too low for your set up. If it was running, then great, but you are really pushing it and could suffer instability and possible HDD shut on write (not good).

BUT, as others pointed out, it really shouldnt effect FPS in any way. It will work, or it will fail.

Your 650W should do you fine.
 

Damian^

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
552 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Texas
System Name Quad Damage
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29
Memory DDR3 6gb 1533Mhz
Video Card(s) 9800gt (HD4200 for now)
Storage Seagate 250GB 7200RPM/Hitatchi 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit
#14
If you count jitters , constant freezing, and even crashes as a drop in FPS, then yes :)