• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can an M.2 slot ONLY support NVME and NOT support SATA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,878 (0.87/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Only for the motherboard headers if they're cryptic. Otherwise they're untouched.
It depends what you're trying to figure out, no? Also, motherboards is one thing, there are a lot of other things that come with manuals...
Get something obscure enough and you might just need it.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
I agree that the M.2 connector/socket keying is mess - but usb-c seems to be a worthy competitor in regard to confusing general audience ;)


At least when it comes to M.2 SSDs, keys can, and should be completely ignored.
The only thing important here is what interface the SSD uses, and which interfaces are supported in the M.2 socket.
If there is a match, it will physically fit anyway.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,832 (4.30/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
When all else fails:

R.T.F.M..

'nuff said...:roll:...:D...:laugh:...
Yeah... I looked at the specs and saw something like "up to PCI-E gen 3" so I figured SATA must also work... I didn't realize you could have slots that were exclusively PCI-E until now. In the future I'll know to look out for SATA only slots, PCI-E only slots, and slots that do both.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
943 (0.68/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Yes. There are both SATA only M.2 ports, and PCI-e only M.2 ports.

Here's a pretty good summary :
M.2 types.png

Both SATA version and PCI-e version depend on Motherboard/chipset/port used as well as drive itself.
You can't have a M.2 drive with B + M keys, that will work in both PCI-e only, and SATA only ports.
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,832 (4.30/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Figured I'd follow up. The adapter is installed and working. The system picked it up just fine.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
hi all,
I've just been reading all the comments in here and I have a very similar problem?
I have upgraded my mobo to the asus 970 pro gaming aura which indeed has the M.2 slot, however problem is that the M.2 is working as I have windows installed on it but only showing up as sata and not in PCI-E mode. Could it be on how I installed windows? not in UEFI but normal installation ,and as for speed performance I don't really see much of a speed increase for the money I spent? any help would be appreciated. Merry Christmas all and await for any help. Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
@dj2018
Your board's M.2 slot supports only PCIe storage.
Tell us the SSD model.
"...but only showing up as sata and not in PCI-E mode" - what do you use to get such information?
"and as for speed performance I don't really see much of a speed increase " - what did you expect exactly? 4x higher linear speeds do not mean that everything will be 4x faster.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
Hi,

thanks for the reply,
I have the Kingston A2000 m.2 ssd and I checked that information out using windows devices. but anyway what I should of put was is it possible to get it to boot in the NVMe mode? or have I got to install some kind of program to get this?

Just to add... my motherboard has the latest bios update too
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
This is an NVMe drive. There is no such thing as "non-NVMe" mode for it, at most it can be indirect when using RST (but it's specific for intel platforms).
Please provide screenshot of the information you mention - I don't recall any place in windows itself that would in simple, correct and reliable way distinguish SATA and PCIe storage.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
hi
thanks for your reply as you will see from the screenshot added that I also am only using Microsoft drivers, but I should be able to install to correct drivers
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
oh so everything is running and detected my M.2 ssd as it should be then?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
Hi Earthdog,
thank you for your reply. I have done what you requested and my results are below.. according to kingstons website the speed of the drive is this?
NVMe PCIe performance at a fraction of the cost


A2000 is an affordable solution with impressive read/write speeds up to 2,200/2,000MB.

my results from atto are below In the screenshot.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
This is way too low. Even though your motherboard supports only PCIe gen 2, it may limit the speed to somewhere around ~1.4GB/s, not SATA speeds.
Are you sure you selected the drive letter of the NVMe drive?
Can you show the screenshot from Crystal Disk Info?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,878 (0.87/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I agree that the M.2 connector/socket keying is mess - but usb-c seems to be a worthy competitor in regard to confusing general audience ;)


At least when it comes to M.2 SSDs, keys can, and should be completely ignored.
The only thing important here is what interface the SSD uses, and which interfaces are supported in the M.2 socket.
If there is a match, it will physically fit anyway.
Apparently not, as in this case the slot can take an B+M keyed SSD, i.e. a SATA drive, but it won't function, as the board only does PCIe on the M.2 slot. Sorry, but your conclusion is wrong.

Hi Earthdog,
thank you for your reply. I have done what you requested and my results are below.. according to kingstons website the speed of the drive is this?
NVMe PCIe performance at a fraction of the cost


A2000 is an affordable solution with impressive read/write speeds up to 2,200/2,000MB.

my results from atto are below In the screenshot.
Quick question, did you install Windows using MBR or GPT? If it's MBR, you're going to have to reinstall Windows using GPT to get NVMe performance.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
How many A+E SSDs are there, anyway?
i.e. a SATA drive, but it won't function, as the board only does PCIe on the M.2 slot. Sorry, but your conclusion is wrong.
See the "if there is a match" fragment in what you just quoted.
I mean, the only important thing is the interfaces supported. If you have a mismatch, it won't work.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
Apparently not, as in this case the slot can take an A+E keyed SSD, i.e. a SATA drive, but it won't function, as the board only does PCIe on the M.2 slot. Sorry, but your conclusion is wrong.


Quick question, did you install Windows using MBR or GPT? If it's MBR, you're going to have to reinstall Windows using GPT to get NVMe performance.
hi,

I installed windows normal I think MBR, as I use a usb stick to boot windows from. how can I install using GPT? and thank you for your help
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
943 (0.68/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Quick question, did you install Windows using MBR or GPT? If it's MBR, you're going to have to reinstall Windows using GPT to get NVMe performance.
Say what now ?
How does that work ?

@dj2018 If you own 256GB model you should get up to 2000/1100 MB/s on Read/Write.
Since you are getting ~500MB/s on both - it's PCIe lanes and/or PCIe version limit.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
Do not reinstall. MBR/GPT does not affect the speed. Swede had to confuse this with something else.
Please provide mentioned Crystal disk info shot.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
hi,
here is the crystal disk info.. it is showing my M.2 SSD as a drive letter G when in fact it is in my computer interface as drive letter C.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
How about a shot of this computer, plz... ")
hi,

here is a screenshot of my pc and as you see all my HDD's and optical drives
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
234 (0.25/day)
Crystal and windows do not lie - Kingston NVMe has an empty, formatted volume G. Whoever named it "samsung" got it wrong.
Your windows is on the other drive.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
the Samsung drive is my other SSD drive I have in my system, I also have a Samsung spin point 1TB HDD as well as the Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD drive which I am currently using as my windows drive

enclosed are two screenshots, and as you will see what for HDD's I have in my system and what are online
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top