• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can an M.2 slot ONLY support NVME and NOT support SATA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
well I have to beg to differ as you say that I have installed windows on my Samsung ssd. that is not correct I will give you the screenshots of both the Samsung ssd and the Kingston and let you see for yourself. now you are going to tell me after you see these screenshots that I have items from windows on my Samsung SSD and not on my C: drive... The M.2 SSD

well I have to beg to differ as you say that I have installed windows on my Samsung ssd. that is not correct I will give you the screenshots of both the Samsung ssd and the Kingston and let you see for yourself. now you are going to tell me after you see these screenshots that I have items from windows on my Samsung SSD and not on my C: drive... The M.2 SSD
if i have to i will use the samsung magician to wipe the samsung ssd drive then you will see what i mean
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
well I have to beg to differ as you say that I have installed windows on my Samsung ssd. that is not correct I will give you the screenshots of both the Samsung ssd and the Kingston and let you see for yourself. now you are going to tell me after you see these screenshots that I have items from windows on my Samsung SSD and not on my C: drive... The M.2 SSD
From the information provided, the ATTO result on C:\ looks to be a standard SATA drive... Your Evo 860 has speeds up to 550/520 and the ATTO result shows 520/460. The Kingston drive should be a lot faster.

If you run ATTO on the G:\ drive, what does performance look like?

It seems to me that the Samsung SSD label in 'this pc' is not correct....
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
I will do that for you now earthdog, but honestly how can it be even possible that I have windows installed on my Samsung SSD when there are no objects recorded only on the C: drive
but i will do a screenshot with atto and on my Samsung SSD and post the results for you... many thanks in taking your time to help me
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
I will do that for you now earthdog, but honestly how can it be even possible that I have windows installed on my Samsung SSD when there are no objects recorded only on the C: drive
but i will do a screenshot with atto and on my Samsung SSD and post the results for you... many thanks in taking your time to help me
Because drive letters (outside of C:\) and labels can be anything. It is possible whoever labeled the drive as Samsung simply got it wrong.

But again, look at the ATTO result... that is standard SATA speeds from (what appears to be) your EVO. Maybe the G:\ drive will show the same, I don't know... but that is what it looks like to me seeing a couple of your screenshots.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
hi there ,

I named the Samsung ssd Letter G as it was not displayed when in installed my M.2 SSD in my system, but anyway I will send the screenshot to you and unfortunately I will be late giving any answers as being boxing day I am out celebrating
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
hi there ,

I named the Samsung ssd Letter G as it was not displayed when in installed my M.2 SSD in my system, but anyway I will send the screenshot to you and unfortunately I will be late giving any answers as being boxing day I am out celebrating
Well, that answers that. Clearly this drive 'labeled' Samsung is NOT the Samsung. The speeds you are seeing there are obviously from the Kingston NVMe drive. Though they are lower than it is rated (but ok for the bus it is on), it is clearly a lot faster than the Evo 860 and SATA3 6 Gbps speeds.

You installed your OS to the slower SATA based Samsung drive and have mis-labeled the Kingston drive as Samsung in This PC.

Have fun on boxing day!!! :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,898 (0.88/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
How many A+E SSDs are there, anyway?

See the "if there is a match" fragment in what you just quoted.
I mean, the only important thing is the interfaces supported. If you have a mismatch, it won't work.
It is still a match, as an B+M keyed drive did in an M keyed slot, but the latter can be PCIe only, which means as in the case of the OP, the B+M keyed SATA SSD will physically fit, yet but function s it needs a SATA interface.

Do not reinstall. MBR/GPT does not affect the speed. Swede had to confuse this with something else.
Please provide mentioned Crystal disk info shot.
It does affect speed massively, no confusion on my part. NVMe drives need to use GPT, not MBR if you want the full performance out of them.
Despite the fact there was a mixup, the Kingston NVMe drive is still at half speed, as you can see.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
It does affect speed massively, no confusion on my part. NVMe drives need to use GPT, not MBR if you want the full performance out of them.
Despite the fact there was a mixup, the Kingston NVMe drive is still at half speed, as you can see.
I searched but came up empty. Got any links handy to read?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,898 (0.88/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I searched but came up empty. Got any links handy to read?
I did the mistake myself the first time I got an NVMe drive for starters, got nowhere near the full speeds of the drives until I changed to GPT.
Others here in the forum has had the same problem too.
I can't find any actual benchmark comparisons either.
It's apparently possible to convert an MBR drive to GPT without losing data.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
265 (0.77/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5406 - AGESA 1.0.0.4B)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
When I first installed my Samsung 970 Evo nvme m.2 drive in November I formatted it as MBR by mistake and just recently converted it to GPT.
I used this guide to convert it without any data loss:

MBR Speeds:
CrystalMark-602-Samsung-970-Evo-MBR.jpg

GPT Speeds:
CrystalMark-602-Samsung-970-Evo-GPT.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
hi,
thank you for all the information, but before I begin is It better first to unplug my Samsung SSD drive and then first of all reboot my pc to see if earthdog is correct and that there is files written on my Samsung SSD which are Hidden " hence" showing zero objects?
I will do that and post a screenshot minus the Samsung SSD

ok I have to problem solved ..however I was confused to find that windows indeed did install on the Samsung SSD and was apparently showing up as being used by the Kingston M.2, now one more thing I now since installing windows in UEFI have now 3 partitions on my Kingston, is there any way around that to delete them so its just one physical partition?. now that I have finally installed windows on my M.2 will I notice any speed performance?

hi,
thank you for all the information, but before I begin is It better first to unplug my Samsung SSD drive and then first of all reboot my pc to see if earthdog is correct and that there is files written on my Samsung SSD which are Hidden " hence" showing zero objects?
I will do that and post a screenshot minus the Samsung SSD

ok I have to problem solved ..however I was confused to find that windows indeed did install on the Samsung SSD and was apparently showing up as being used by the Kingston M.2, now one more thing I now since installing windows in UEFI have now 3 partitions on my Kingston, is there any way around that to delete them so its just one physical partition?. now that I have finally installed windows on my M.2 will I notice any speed performance?
and just to add, to achieve this I unplugged both my Samsung SSD and my Samsung 1tb hdd before installing
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
I did the mistake myself the first time I got an NVMe drive for starters, got nowhere near the full speeds of the drives until I changed to GPT.
Others here in the forum has had the same problem too.
I can't find any actual benchmark comparisons either.
It's apparently possible to convert an MBR drive to GPT without losing data.
I'm really struggling to figure out why that would be. It has nothing to do with alignment so I am at a loss as to how that works....
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
me too anyway now I have that figured out how fast should it be at installing windows from usb to the M.2 drive?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,855 (5.15/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I'm really struggling to figure out why that would be. It has nothing to do with alignment so I am at a loss as to how that works....
The only thing I can think of is that GPT is more efficient at random requests, so it gives higher IOPs. But I doubt the difference would actually be noticeable.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
me too anyway now I have that figured out how fast should it be at installing windows from usb to the M.2 drive?
Dont worry about the minutia. Just get windows installed on the proper drive and get them labeled properly moving forward.

As far as install time from usb 3.0 to nvme drive... takes me around 20 mins...but that is also using pcie 3.0 x4 slot and your system neuters that drive... so 20 mins+...
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
me too anyway now I have that figured out how fast should it be at installing windows from usb to the M.2 drive?
here is a screen shot as you see now that my C: drive is now the Kingston as I unplugged my other two hdd's before installing, now as you see I have now 3 partitions? is there a way of deleting these so I can have the M.2 SSD as a whole windows C: drive
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
here is a screen shot as you see now that my C: drive is now the Kingston as I unplugged my other two hdd's before installing, now as you see I have now 3 partitions? is there a way of deleting these so I can have the M.2 SSD as a whole windows C: drive
Leave them. Windows does this for a reason. ;)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,855 (5.15/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
is there a way of deleting these so I can have the M.2 SSD as a whole windows C: drive
No. Those partitions are required to boot Windows in UEFI mode.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
ok thank you both, so now officially I am actually using my M.2 SSD as my boot drive?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,699 (4.50/day)
ok thank you both, so now officially I am actually using my M.2 SSD as my boot drive?
You're asking us? Lol, you should know, friend! Do you know how to figure it out? If so, post screenshots, if not, look back at what we asked of you previously and how it should perform...(to spell it out, run atto on c:\ and see if it performs as it should on your system).

We obviously cannot tell from you last image....
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
here are my results . thank you all for the help.. appreciated
 

Attachments

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,855 (5.15/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
ok thank you both, so now officially I am actually using my M.2 SSD as my boot drive?
The best way to make sure Windows is getting installed on the right drive is to take every other drive out of the computer or disconnect them when you install Windows. This can be hard for M.2 drives, but some BIOS let you disable them, so that helps.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2018
Messages
60 (0.10/day)
System Name Own Build
Processor AMD FX 4300 Black Edition (Codename Bulldozer) 3.8 GHZ qiuadcore turbo to 4.0 GHZ
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Coolermaster ML240L Water Cooling
Memory 2 x 4 gig corsair dominator @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX560 OC @ 4 gig DDR5
Storage Kingston A2000 M.2 SSD 250GB(Primary boot drive), Samsung Evo SSD@250GB, Samsung sprinpoint 1TB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA850 27" led monitor connected via DVI to HDMI on Videocard
Case Sharkkoon
Audio Device(s) realtek HD 7.1 & creative tactic alpha 3d
Power Supply OCZ 700w xtreme 80 Plus
Mouse logitech mouse
Keyboard Logitech MX5500
Software Windows 10 x64
that's exactly what I did, dis-connected my other HDD's and let windows install on my M.2 in UEFI
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top