• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can any ram be overclocked?

Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
4,952 (3.55/day)
Likes
3,469
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8700K 5.0GHz 1.296V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V 3000MHz 32GB/ G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133Hz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#1
Hi all
I want to buy some new
G.Skill ram and I concern to know if any ram can be overclocked...
Any advice?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#2
yes any ram can be overclocked within reason, as long as motherboard/cpu/cooling/power is adequate.

But just like cpu's etc different ram types overclock differently, if wanting to overclock ram i wouldnt buy new but some older PSC/BBSE or similar IC's that can overclock well.

also ivy-bridge have great IMC's so paired with good ram you could do well.

in the hwbot classified there are great deals on some good clocking mems, just ask the seller what they clock like. i bought my Trident mems for cheap and they do 2400 8-11-8 or 2600 8-12-8 (on air)

http://forum.hwbot.org/forumdisplay.php?f=122
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,081 (0.52/day)
Likes
809
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 5820K@4.4/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD5 WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Fury 16GB 2666 MHz/Corsair Vengeance 10GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 4GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE/GTX 690/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/OCZ Trion 100/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c + Asus VC239H + Sammy T200/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX+SMSL SA50(Tannoy F1)/AMD HD/ Intel HD Audio+ Logi Z323
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit
#3
Short answer is yes. But as any other pc component it is a lottery.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
4,952 (3.55/day)
Likes
3,469
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8700K 5.0GHz 1.296V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V 3000MHz 32GB/ G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133Hz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#4
yes any ram can be overclocked within reason, as long as motherboard/cpu/cooling/power is adequate.

But just like cpu's etc different ram types overclock differently, if wanting to overclock ram i wouldnt buy new but some older PSC/BBSE or similar IC's that can overclock well.

also ivy-bridge have great IMC's so paired with good ram you could do well.

here in the classified there are great deals on some good clocking mems, just ask the seller what they clock like. i bought my Trident mems for cheap and they do 2400 8-11-8 or 2600 8-12-8 (on air)

http://forum.hwbot.org/forumdisplay.php?f=122
I own some Kingston Hyper Blue/Hyper Genesis, I can set it maximum to 1600, when I set it up to 1866 the system reboot it self
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
I own some Kingston Hyper Blue/Hyper Genesis, I can set it maximum to 1600, when I set it up to 1866 the system reboot it self
Often, overclocking RAM requires more than just setting it to a higher frequency. Voltage, timings also need to be adjusted. It's probably best to google some guides on doing it with Ivy Bridge/Sandy Bridge systems.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#6
there are loads of guides for Z77 and ivy-bridge mem clocking. The ROG site has lots of good articles too.

but i would definitely not buy some new g.skill mems unless buying the more expensive tridentx or pi's that have good IC's (integrated circruits), older mems (ill find a list) have IC's like BBSE, elpida, elpida-hyper, PSC etc which can overclock well and able to adjust timings to go tight with voltage. also if you got the cash corsair platinums have great IC's.

you may know that on graphics card have memory modules (IC's) and just like them each overclock differently, i.e hynix vs elpida.

heres a few guides i used.

http://www.overclockers.com/memory-overclocking-guide-ivy-bridge
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...ng-Guide-(Extreme-LN2-Section-Guide-Included)
http://rog.asus.com/136402012/maximus-motherboards/maximus-v-formula-overclocking-guide/

p.s we have the same platform so i could always help ya
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#7
yes, but how far you can push it, it depends on your ram too and the other, like some board maynot give you much room to set it up by yourself
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793 (0.93/day)
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#8
Yes, all or "most" (some exceptions) Ram can be overclocked. But just like a CPU..... there are certain requirements. BIOS Needs to support the overclock, Better surrounding components will help with easier overclock, better ram better overclock, and like CPU's its a lottery some Ram modules will overclock better than others. Its the luck of the draw.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#9
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
275 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Processor i5 4670K @4.4GHz 1.239V
Motherboard Asus Z87M-PLUS
Cooling High Pressure Fan System
Memory 24GB DDR3 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 4GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 830, 500gb WD Blue 7200rpm
Display(s) 23inch Dell LCD
Case Silverstone Sugo SG10B
Power Supply Antec TP-750
Software Windows 10
#10
I have 8GB G.Skill Ares 2400MHZ RAM, can it be overclocked to hgiher speeds? and if so will the Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard be able to run it at higher speeds?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
204 (0.15/day)
Likes
45
Location
Finland
System Name WorstEVER
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45 GAMING
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E
Memory G.Skill 8GB (2x4GB) Sniper, DDR3 1600MHz, 9-9-9-24, 1.35V
Video Card(s) 7970 Matrix Platinum
Storage Samsung 840EVO / Samsung F1
Display(s) Crossover Blacktune 2763 AMG "PP"
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Corsair HX 750 Gold
Software Win7 x64 ultimate
Benchmark Scores over 9000
#11
"any ram" no