• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can anyone see a problem with this system

BigJunit

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
117
Likes
1
Location
UK - Avon
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus CROSSHAIR nForce 590 SLi
Cooling Custom Watercooled 1/2' Loop (CPU & GPU)
Memory OCZ 2GB PC2-6400C4 Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2
Video Card(s) Nvida BFG Geforce 8800GTS OC2 320mb
Storage 320gb Seagate SataII & 400gb Freecom External
Display(s) HP 22' Widescreen DVI 1650x1050
Case Asus Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus (5.1 came with board)
Power Supply Jeantech 600w Modular
Software Windows XP Pro
#1
Hi all,

I am about to invest in a bit of a revamp to my current hardware. Before I part with my hard earned cash I just want to make sure I have not missed something really stupid.

Currently I have :

ASUS Crosshair Motherboard (AM2)
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia BFG Geforce 7600GT
1gb Cheap Ram

I am looking to upgrade:

CPU - AMD X2 5200+ Here
GPU - BFG GeForce 8800 GTS OC2 320MB Here
Memory - OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 Dual Channel Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2 Here

Can anyone see and problems this new hardware may cause or any incompatibility issues (i am running Windows XP pro btw)

Also I use water cooling and need a block for the GPU with 10/8mm (G1/4') connections, if anyone knows of one it would be much appreciated.

Cheers Guys,
 
Last edited:

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#2
What PSU are you planning on running this rig with?
 

BigJunit

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
117
Likes
1
Location
UK - Avon
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus CROSSHAIR nForce 590 SLi
Cooling Custom Watercooled 1/2' Loop (CPU & GPU)
Memory OCZ 2GB PC2-6400C4 Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2
Video Card(s) Nvida BFG Geforce 8800GTS OC2 320mb
Storage 320gb Seagate SataII & 400gb Freecom External
Display(s) HP 22' Widescreen DVI 1650x1050
Case Asus Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus (5.1 came with board)
Power Supply Jeantech 600w Modular
Software Windows XP Pro
#3
Ah yes, forgot to mention that - I currently have a Jeantech 600w Modular PSU (SLI Ready)
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#4
Hard to judge that PSU. Specs on manufacturer website are not that specific. There is a chance it will have trouble powering that 8800. People in the past have had trouble with 19amp 12v rail psu's and that card. You should find a PSU with at least 24 to 26 amps on the 12v rail.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#5
Also check mobo manuel to ensure you can use that OCZ memory. Asus boards are quite memory specific.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
Your system specs are fine. And so is your PSU and Memory. All should work together, Asus motherboards are not so picky with memory as suggested.
 

BigJunit

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
117
Likes
1
Location
UK - Avon
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus CROSSHAIR nForce 590 SLi
Cooling Custom Watercooled 1/2' Loop (CPU & GPU)
Memory OCZ 2GB PC2-6400C4 Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2
Video Card(s) Nvida BFG Geforce 8800GTS OC2 320mb
Storage 320gb Seagate SataII & 400gb Freecom External
Display(s) HP 22' Widescreen DVI 1650x1050
Case Asus Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus (5.1 came with board)
Power Supply Jeantech 600w Modular
Software Windows XP Pro
#7
thanks for the replies - have checked the Asus manual and the OCZ memory is listed. Only problem may come from the power supply as I have quite alot running in the 12v rails. PCProbe II shows it as running at 11.78v both idle and load, this suggests to me that the 12v rail has more to give.

Have order parts, they will arrive tuesday so will post followup (if the system works of course)
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
thanks for the replies - have checked the Asus manual and the OCZ memory is listed. Only problem may come from the power supply as I have quite alot running in the 12v rails. PCProbe II shows it as running at 11.78v both idle and load, this suggests to me that the 12v rail has more to give.

Have order parts, they will arrive tuesday so will post followup (if the system works of course)
It should be fine, it is probably within the tolerances allowed. Just note, I don't exactly trust the voltage monitoring features built in to some MB. I've tested several MB and have checked with my Fluke scopemeter and there were discrepancies (although not by much, within 0.2 V) with the results, and if it were the case, your MB is within 0.2V so your MB 12V rail may be closer than you think.
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
980
Likes
109
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
#10
Jeantech, i had 2 of them damn things ( 600w ) and both failed 1 after 6 mths the other after 3 days :laugh:, but i got the hiper Type R 580 and its been amazing and cheaper than the jeantech. It could have been i had 2 bad ones but who knows, anyway something for you to think about.

Cheers:rockout:
 
Last edited: