• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can anyone tell me what this blue screen means?

Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#26
alot of great advice. I havent did memtest but did do windows memory test and it was ok. I think i will just hang tuff until rest of the new ram arrives and then set ip up in bios and see how it goes, I will raise my voltage up a notch or two as well to see if that helps, I kinda wish it would doit more often so i can kinda get a feel for whats cause ing it but it is very random. never when gaming, benching etc. always when puter is idle
can i raise my cpu pll higher than what it is? cause its at 1.57 but next setting in bios is i think i.68 or something like that, Iam thinking that might be too high
and what about cpu vcore its at 1.239 could i go to lets say 1.34?
stock speed and setting on ram are 9,9,9,24 and 1.5 volt, but i needed to raise volts a few notchs so it wouldnt freeze, as that was a big problem with these boards
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.04/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#27
To me, if your at 3.9, on 1.239v, it might be needing a little more cpu volts. I never had a Q9650, Q9550 was my last 775, but I know I needed at lease 1.35v to get 4gh going..

If you try memtest, it's best to use the boot version. here is the latest version. TPU needs to update their download.. lol
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#28
To me, if your at 3.9, on 1.239v, it might be needing a little more cpu volts. I never had a Q9650, Q9550 was my last 775, but I know I needed at lease 1.35v to get 4gh going..

If you try memtest, it's best to use the boot version. here is the latest version. TPU needs to update their download.. lol
nope not 1.239 its 1.293 lol
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
567 (0.17/day)
Likes
93
Location
Finland
System Name I can't believe I bought that / HTPC
Processor i5-750 @ 3.5GHz 1.27v / P II 705e @ stock
Motherboard Asus P7P55D-E Evo / Asus M4A785D-M PRO
Cooling Corsair H100i / Air
Memory 4x2 Geil DDR3-2133 @ 1755 / 2x2 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus GTX660 TI / Asus HD6670
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB + Spinpoint F1 750GB / Crucial m4 128GB + WD Green 1TB
Display(s) HP w2408h / Samsung 55" HDTV
Case CM 690 II Advanced / Silverstone GD02
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair AX850 / OCZ ModXstream 500W
Software Win 7 / Win 7
#29
I had the same problem. It manifested randomly but most often while playing Mount & Blade.

Raised cpu voltage by one notch, never had it again. Maybe some wearing on the cpu, since it didn't do it before.

Just my 2c.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#30
ok just bumped it up to 1.33, will wait and see if it happens again, I hate waiting for things to happen lol
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#31
in reference to the OC - running IBT for 10 passes or prime95 for 3 hours is not nearly enough of a stress test. you need to run IBT for atleast 10-12 hours. you could also run linpack for 10-12 hours. from what i've read about prime95 its not nearly as stressful as IBT or linpack.

in reference to raising your voltage - you should still run stability tests to make sure that the new settings are ok. for a rock solid OC you really need to make sure it can run about 24hrs on IBT or linpack. if it does, than it is likely not the OC thats causing your problem.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#32
running it that long it isnt hard on the system?? never knew i needed to do it that long, my daughter will have a heart attack if i told her she couldnt use the puter for a day lol
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#33
as long as you have enough cooling to keep the temps down then no, its not hard on the system.

temps should not be going any higher than 70c to be on the safe side. 70c is when you start to push things on these chips imo.

also, make sure that you are running these test on the maximum setting, as IBT and linpack test your ram stability at the same time.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#34
ok here are my temps after ibt 5 runs do you think temps are too high?
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#35
yeah that looks fine. 5 runs on IBT is enough to get the max temps out of the cpu(as long as you have adequate cooling and airflow in the room that the cpu is in.)and those temps arent bad at all for what you have.

now just make it run for 10-12 hours or even 24 to be sure. linpack might be better for that as you cna make linpack run for a certain amount of time or even make it run to infinity, where as with IBT you have to set the number of runs you want it to do.
if it passes however long you run it stable, then drop the cpuv down 1 notch, and run it again. the ultimate goal is to get the most speed at the minimum volts while being 100% stable. if you pump more voltage into the cpu than it needs to run at the speed you have it then all you are really doing is 3 things.
1) increasing your powerbill
2) increasing your heat
3) making the cpu not last as long(we are talking years here, so dont worry)
the less voltage you need to run your OC 100% stable then the lower your temps willl be.

make sense?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#36
MS needs to stop using stupid codes and start putting stuff like "your cpu need more volts" or "your ram timings are too tight for windows to run." It's not like them telling us exactly what caused the crash would be bad, could help us explain to the techs the problem when it isn't use pushing limits, like trying to fix the parents PC when it doesn't last 2 hours.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#37
MS needs to stop using stupid codes and start putting stuff like "your cpu need more volts" or "your ram timings are too tight for windows to run." It's not like them telling us exactly what caused the crash would be bad, could help us explain to the techs the problem when it isn't use pushing limits, like trying to fix the parents PC when it doesn't last 2 hours.
you are 100% correct on that, it would make things so much easier to trouble shoot I think i will give old billy gates a call and ask him to do this for us..if only things were that easy lol
wish my puter wasnt 2 feet awya from our heat registers!!!! cant wait for summer so i can shut the furnace off and put on the a/c!!
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
597 (0.15/day)
Likes
63
Location
Under Columbus, Ohio
System Name Gen0cide
Processor AMD Phenom x4 920 2.8 @ 3.36 1.44v
Motherboard Asus M2N-Deluxe + WiFi
Cooling Thermoright True Rev C
Memory 2x 2gig of Gskill DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 20 2.125v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 250 GTS 1 Gig
Storage 5x 730gig 7,200 RPM Raid 5 Western Digital Black
Display(s) Neovo F-417
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM
Software Windows 7 x64 / Arch Linux-fluxbox(duel Boot)
#38
Good luck dragon these guys gave you excellent advice I wish I had this much help when i first started =)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#39
yepthats why i love this site, there is always a time you can give advice as well get good advice, alot of great people, willing to take there time to help out,
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
597 (0.15/day)
Likes
63
Location
Under Columbus, Ohio
System Name Gen0cide
Processor AMD Phenom x4 920 2.8 @ 3.36 1.44v
Motherboard Asus M2N-Deluxe + WiFi
Cooling Thermoright True Rev C
Memory 2x 2gig of Gskill DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 20 2.125v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 250 GTS 1 Gig
Storage 5x 730gig 7,200 RPM Raid 5 Western Digital Black
Display(s) Neovo F-417
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM
Software Windows 7 x64 / Arch Linux-fluxbox(duel Boot)
#40
yea only f people in real life were like that
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#41

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#42
MS needs to stop using stupid codes and start putting stuff like "your cpu need more volts" or "your ram timings are too tight for windows to run." It's not like them telling us exactly what caused the crash would be bad, could help us explain to the techs the problem when it isn't use pushing limits, like trying to fix the parents PC when it doesn't last 2 hours.
That would be too easy dark LOLOL!
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#43
well i ended up running intel burn test for approx 6 hours at my voltage settings and it was all a pass, From what ive read ibt will stress out your setup alot more than will be needed so i think its safe to say that my system should be stable now, The new ram will still go in here in a few days once the rest arrives, just a question..before i put in new ram should i set the ram settings to auto, then shut off puter and install new ram and then go back into bios to manually set up , or can i just leave settings as is shut down ,install new ram , go into bios and manually set it up with correct settings? probly dosnt matter either way I presume
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#44
i would do the first method if the new ram is supposed to run at different settings.

i still say you need to stress your OC for longer though to completely rule that out.

do you have memtest? that is a ram only diag program that you can run to rule out the ram as causing the issues.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#45
ok what i will do is try this all over again once i put in new ram, no use tersting with this as it wont be in much longer, and new ram has much tighter timing 7,8,7,7,20 i beleive they are, these are 9,9,9,9,24 thanx!!
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#46
sounds good.
memtest can also be used to test for ram stability as well as the diagnostics - unstable ram will show up the same as bad ram in its tests.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
877 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
canada
System Name family system
Processor intel quad core Q9650 o/c'ed to 4.1
Motherboard gigabyte EP45T-USB3P ( new board)
Cooling custom cpu and gpu cooling
Memory 8 gig G.Skills RipJaws @ 7,8,7,24,@1440mhz
Video Card(s) HD5870 SAPPHIRE 1018@1310at1.29v on water
Storage 750 gig sata 7500rpm X2 seagate barracuda
Display(s) acer 22.5 lcd
Case Antec 600
Audio Device(s) 7.1 internal, soon to be auzentech x-fi forte
Power Supply thermaltake 850 watt modular (new version, single rail)
Software Windows 7, 64 ult.
Benchmark Scores vantage E47428 3DMARK06 23290 needs updateing
#47
well i couldnt wait for the other 4 gig to arrive and these elpidas are sold so i pulled them out and popped in 4 gig of the g.skill i purchased, I had to go into bios and set it up , i see it had XMP profile and ive never seen that before so i set it to profile one and it showed because of my cpu o/c that thr ram was going to be at 1781 and these are rated for 1600 lol so i cant use the xmp profiles so i just did it manually here is a screen shot of my 4 gig setup. anyways I was expecting it to be real slow now with only 4 gig but to tell you the truth my puter has never been snappier!! everything is super fast ,programs open instantly, I also did an everest memory and lat benchmark and the numbers were higher with these g.skilss and 4 gig less! i think they are running at 1424 but when i get the others ill see if i can get them close to the 1600
 

Attachments