• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can hot temps cause BSOD and crashes?

Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#1
What im talking about is can a gpu or cpu overheating make a system crash because i think that my system might be crashing due to overheating.

I have a AC Freezer 64 and some mx 2 thermal paste tho on my cpu but i still think it overheats.

Its at a regular overclock of 3150mhz, i can turn cool n quiet off and get the temps vid ect.

My gpu cant be the the offender tho it is non stock and isnt clocked to much.

I know for a fact it cant be anything else becasue i have cool n quiet on and its fine its at 20c and my pc works GOOD, when i go to play a game for a while it will play for a while then crash this makes me think it takes a while to heat if its getting stressed then crashes.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,340
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
There should be a place in the bios to swap what temp the PC shuts down at on the CPU, but that isnt advisable to reset. if its overheating and the BIOS is shutting the system down its way too hot IMHO.

Graphics are different, there is a hord coded temp for GPU shutdowns. but in my experience if a GPU gets too hot you will return to a GPU recovery message!

Run real temp and GPU-z and tell them both to log. this will create a file so you may see the temps just before the PC crashes!
 

Fastmix

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
627 (0.18/day)
Likes
115
Location
The Kingdom of Heaven
#3
Have you tested the stability of your overclock?

Try running something like Orthos or Prime 95, I use OCCT, I have a feeling you need to lower your overclock a littlebit.;)
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#4
1.5V doesn't seem that bad with an AC freezer, even for AMD. What are your temps running at anyway?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#5
sorry i forgot bout this thread well its like 40-50c and 24c idle so it cant be hot temps
the gpu never goes over 60c

it seems to only crash when im in games yet to try other 3ds apps but im guessing its just 3d apps that cause the bsods

i get a message blah blah contact the oem manufacturer or admin to determine the hardware ect but it says caused by CPU when it comes up and tells me there has been a fault, it only says it is in the taskbar tho, the other thing tells me it could be ram cpu or gpu or psu, i knwo for a fact my psu and ram are fine

im stable in windows at 3.17ghz with 1.375v + 6%v

for some reason my bios only allows up to 1.375 then you get this voltage % to go higher but it fluctuates im sure because it went from 1.4 odd to 1.5 then back again this is checked via the bios

there are no new bios for this board its 1.8 which is the latest from about Christmas last year, i think they stopped support for this board

dunno if its the nvidia drivers either becasue i get this on some other ones too

its mysterious because at one point it was stable at 3.2ghz then it wasnt and i know Dark used to own this cpu and he got it to 3.2ghz easy but struggled after that

i dont think its a high gpu overclock becasue my 8800gt is set at core - 713mhz shader - 1730mhz and memory - 950mhz
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#6
Hmm thats wierd. On those temps there's no where near getting crashes. Maybe it's hardware failure. Try 1 ram stick at a time and 1 HDD at a time.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#7
sorry i forgot bout this thread well its like 40c and 24c idle so it cant be hot temps

the gpu never goes over 60c

it seems to only crash when im in games yet to try other 3ds apps but im guessing its just 3d apps that cause the bsods

i get a message blah blah contact the oem manufacturer or admin to determine the hardware ect but it says caused by CPU when it comes up and tells me there has been a fault, it only says it is in the taskbar tho, the other thing tells me it could be ram cpu or gpu or psu, i knwo for a fact my psu and ram are fine

im stable in windows at 3.17ghz with 1.375v + 6%v

for some reason my bios only allows up to 1.375 then you get this voltage % to go higher but it fluctuates im sure because it went from 1.4 odd to 1.5 then back again this is checked via the bios

there are no new bios for this board its 1.8 which is the latest from about Christmas last year, i think they stopped support for this board

dunno if its the nvidia drivers either becasue i get this on some other ones too

its mystereous because at one point it was stable at 3.2ghz then it would be and i know Dark used to own this cpu and he got it to 3.2ghz easy but struggled after that
Your chip voltage is set to 1.4575.

But anyway, you need to check the temps with Core Temp while OCCT or Prime 95 is running for a few minutes. You should let one of those apps run for a few hours to test for stabilty as well.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#8
OCCT it is and ill leave the pc on while im at college tomorrow
9 till 3 so that should be long enuf
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#10
crapped out after 1 min 12seconds
want me to upload the graphs? i think its overheating man that sucks the ac 64 isnt that bad is it?

i have an nzxt tempest so airflow is no problem
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11
crapped out after 1 min 12seconds
want me to upload the graphs? i think its overheating man that sucks the ac 64 isnt that bad is it?

i have an nzxt tempest so airflow is no problem
Might be time for a cooler reseat. What temps did you hit?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#13
Sounds like you need more vCore. Your chip might be degrading.

Dial it back down to stock, and see if it starts to behave again.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#14
hit like 53c then crapped it on the original run how about i tighten things up then xigmatek that POS good for nothing half cache stupid BE hyped up cpu

HDT-S1283
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#15
well at stock it runs fine never really tried to game at stock tho
more v core isnt over 1.5 dangerous?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#16
hit like 53c then crapped it on the original run how about i tighten things up then xigmatek that POS good for nothing half cache stupid BE hyped up cpu

HDT-S1283
I'd say dial back to stock first and test. The issue may be somewhere else, after all. But yeah, HDT-S1283 blows the Freezer away. My 6400+ at 1.5V loads to 48C with one. It hit over 60C on the Freezer.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#18
well at stock it runs fine never really tried to game at stock tho
more v core isnt over 1.5 dangerous?
Well, you aren't quite to 1.5V. But, personally, I'd just lower the OC until it's stable.

Gaming should be no different at stock. On my 6400+, there was a 1fps difference between 3.2GHz and 2GHz in Crysis at 1440x900. That was test by changing the multi only. Everything else was the same.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#19
this cpu sucks my motherboard dosnt accept phenoms even some of the newer energy efficient athlons

guess im stuck with it till am3
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#21
left occt on untill i get back from college we will see what happens at stock clocks

i dunno if its my mother board or maybe some other part heating up like the northbridge
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#23
8hrs 43mins stock settings mid 40s for both cores, was stable
That sounds like a bad OC to me then. Fire up the game that made it crash before, and see if it behaves.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#24
most games run fine now at exactly 3ghz i think that it still could be the game overheats only at high oc

3.2 is what dark achieved with this exact cpu, although dark had a better board than me

dunno whatver if i can get it to run at 3.1ghz ill leave it alone
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.34/day)
Likes
132
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
#25
yeah man I new from the first post that it was an unstable oc, as I use them alot, lol. But a semi stable oc can run normal things fine but intensive apps it when the crash.