• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I do anything with this AM3 mobo?

Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
213 (0.03/day)
A coworker gave me her old pc. She said it was 6-7 years old. I was hoping it was going to be a decent motherboard so I could build a cheap gaming rig for World of Tanks. Turns out it's a bottom of the barrel HP pc with a basic socket AM3 mobo.
1599185133424.png

I have 8 GB of ram but according to the specs, I don't even think I can go higher than 4 GB. It has a PCI express x 16 slot but I can't go higher than a 95 watt cpu:


TDP: 95 watt
  • AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)
  • AMD Phenom II X3 7xx/7xxe Triple-Core (Heka)
  • AMD Phenom II X2 5xx (Callisto)
  • AMD II Athlon X4 6xx/6xxe (Propus)
  • AMD II Athlon X3 4xx/4xxe (Rana)
  • AMD II Athlon X2 2xx/2xxe (Regor)
  • AMD Sempron 1xx (Sargas)
Thoughts?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
865 (0.29/day)
Processor ryzen 5 5600x
Motherboard AB350m Pro4
Cooling custom loop
Memory TEAMGROUP T-Force TXKD416G3600HC18ADC01 16gbs XMP
Video Card(s) HP GTX1650 super 4gb
Storage MZVLB256HBHQ-000H1 PM981a (256GB)/3TB HDD
Display(s) Nitro XF243Y Pbmiiprx
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
its really not worth your time. you could probably find a prebuilt pc in your local area for what it would cost just to get a case,psu,proc,hdds and so forth. plus most ivy bridge pre builds are going for cheap and you can easily play wot on one.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,832 (2.02/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory VENGEANCE LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3600 C18 OCed
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, Samsung 870 QVO 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung 28” 4K monitor
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H2
You’re probably better off selling/donating that HP.
I would be looking for a PC that meets the recommended system requirements.

You could try looking around or find on eBay a used off lease business PC. Make sure to look for one with a minimum i5/7 3750/3700 Ivy Bridge CPU, ideally 8GB of RAM occupying two slots. The power supply is going to limit your graphics card options though.

907EA3CB-5225-4BA2-BDB9-EC4F9A8A4A91.jpeg
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
8,225 (2.64/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi
Cooling CoolerMaster PL360 Flux
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 4x16GB
Video Card(s) RX6800XT
Storage 2 NVME + 3 HDD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 + Moano condenser microphone / Samsung T400
Power Supply EVGA GQ 850w
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Oh! I had the 78 version instead of the 68. Those things are solid enough to be office machines. I had it paired with an Athlon II X4 620 and 8GB as my first actual desktop. It'll work as a small server or storage thing.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
213 (0.03/day)
I was playing on my sons 4770k/780GTX/27"1440p system I build a while back but he took it with him. Now I'm down to my Ryzen 2500u/RX 570/15"1080p laptop and I hate playing on a laptop with such a small screen.

I have an old socket 775/8800GT that can barely play it on minimal settings but you're right, I should be either looking for something more current. I was just hoping to score a decent board. The Athlon 250/2GB ram it currently has would even struggle as a NAS server.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,208 (4.54/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Connect a large screen to your laptop, problem solved.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,832 (2.02/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory VENGEANCE LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3600 C18 OCed
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, Samsung 870 QVO 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung 28” 4K monitor
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H2
This is what I was suggesting earlier.

 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
8,225 (2.64/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi
Cooling CoolerMaster PL360 Flux
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 4x16GB
Video Card(s) RX6800XT
Storage 2 NVME + 3 HDD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 + Moano condenser microphone / Samsung T400
Power Supply EVGA GQ 850w
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
I was playing on my sons 4770k/780GTX/27"1440p system I build a while back but he took it with him. Now I'm down to my Ryzen 2500u/RX 570/15"1080p laptop and I hate playing on a laptop with such a small screen.

I have an old socket 775/8800GT that can barely play it on minimal settings but you're right, I should be either looking for something more current. I was just hoping to score a decent board. The Athlon 250/2GB ram it currently has would even struggle as a NAS server.
The Athlon 620 or 640 would do great in there. If you manage to find enough ram (8gb) for cheap then it'll go places.

I remember getting my 620 to 2.93ghz and that was a good improvement.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
213 (0.03/day)
The Athlon 620 or 640 would do great in there. If you manage to find enough ram (8gb) for cheap then it'll go places.

I remember getting my 620 to 2.93ghz and that was a good improvement.

Just for fun I installed Windows 10 pro. I guess I'll need a key eventually.

I'm sure 4 GB of ram is plenty but I think I might clone the HDD to a SSD. That should help speed things up.

Other than that runs pretty good for an antiquated machine with a HDD.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
8,225 (2.64/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi
Cooling CoolerMaster PL360 Flux
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 4x16GB
Video Card(s) RX6800XT
Storage 2 NVME + 3 HDD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 + Moano condenser microphone / Samsung T400
Power Supply EVGA GQ 850w
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Just for fun I installed Windows 10 pro. I guess I'll need a key eventually.

I'm sure 4 GB of ram is plenty but I think I might clone the HDD to a SSD. That should help speed things up.

Other than that runs pretty good for an antiquated machine with a HDD.
SSD would help a ton, and depends on what you're going to do in total with it for memory. Give it a shot and see what happens.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
213 (0.03/day)
SSD would help a ton, and depends on what you're going to do in total with it for memory. Give it a shot and see what happens.

I have 8 GB ram I could add in as well but like it’s been said In this thread before, gaming is out of the question, so I doubt just using the Internet is going to saturate 4 GB of ram.

With it’s tiny PSU gaming might actually kill it lol. You think I can use the PCIEx1 slot to add USB 3.0 and replace the old ones?
 

Attachments

  • FA5DE6A7-10D6-4686-AE3F-5FB1A91D6588.jpeg
    FA5DE6A7-10D6-4686-AE3F-5FB1A91D6588.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 101

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
8,225 (2.64/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Hero Wifi
Cooling CoolerMaster PL360 Flux
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 4x16GB
Video Card(s) RX6800XT
Storage 2 NVME + 3 HDD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 + Moano condenser microphone / Samsung T400
Power Supply EVGA GQ 850w
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Could do a HD5450 or 5470, and a USB3.0 card should work in there.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
213 (0.03/day)
Ack. Old Nvidia chipset driver display is conflicting with Windows 10. Changing the compatibility to windows 7 & 8 does nothing. Maybe I’ll look for a dirt cheap vid card on Amazon.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
57 (0.05/day)
System Name even lower budget then an old Optiplex :)
Processor Intel Xeon X3480 = Core i7 880
Motherboard SuperMicro C7SIM-Q LGA1156
Cooling OEM Dell aluminum heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB Samsung DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 1060 SC 6GB GDDR5
Storage 60GB/512GB SSDs - 2TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV/Monitor 1360x768
Case Cooler Master RC-342
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD w Dolby Home Theatre V4 software
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 550 GA
Mouse MS Wheel Mouse Optical 1.1A USB
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse red backlit USB
Software Windows 10 LTSC 2019

I run one of these in my relic coming from an AMD R7 250 and this card is very impressive. It's basically a cut down GTX 750, and performs great in newer games at lower resolutions. Currently playing Metro Exodus Sams Story at 1280x768 medium settings and it's staying around 30FPS and looks fine. The only thing I did was BIOS MOD the card and clocked the memory from 900MHz to 1000MHz.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,470 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Recycle it, plug your laptop into external monitor = win.... there is literally nothing this relic is good for, for anybody with any kind of semi-half decent PC system from the last 10 years.... unless you build a retro gaming PC/emulation rig and even then it's kinda in between old and modern and just kind of useless..... go Pentium 2/3 or go home. Recycle junk.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
57 (0.05/day)
System Name even lower budget then an old Optiplex :)
Processor Intel Xeon X3480 = Core i7 880
Motherboard SuperMicro C7SIM-Q LGA1156
Cooling OEM Dell aluminum heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB Samsung DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 1060 SC 6GB GDDR5
Storage 60GB/512GB SSDs - 2TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV/Monitor 1360x768
Case Cooler Master RC-342
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD w Dolby Home Theatre V4 software
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 550 GA
Mouse MS Wheel Mouse Optical 1.1A USB
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse red backlit USB
Software Windows 10 LTSC 2019

If you want to go cheaper, these Dell HD8570s are decent low end cards as well. They are basically an R7 250 clocked down. I have BIOS MODDED these from their stock 780MHz to 1100MHz on GPU and stock 900MHz on memory to 1100MHz and they turn into decent low end gaming cards - Far Cry 5 will run around 30FPS on low settings on one of these overclocked at 720p resolution!

One bummer with old AMD AM3 CPUS is no SSE 4.1 support so many newer games won't run on them without workarounds......
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
213 (0.03/day)

I run one of these in my relic coming from an AMD R7 250 and this card is very impressive. It's basically a cut down GTX 750, and performs great in newer games at lower resolutions. Currently playing Metro Exodus Sams Story at 1280x768 medium settings and it's staying around 30FPS and looks fine. The only thing I did was BIOS MOD the card and clocked the memory from 900MHz to 1000MHz.

Thanks! I might use this to replace the 8800GT in my Q9650/socket 775. But will it handle a resolution of 1900x1200? That is the question.

And it doesn't look like it needs extra power from the PSU
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
57 (0.05/day)
System Name even lower budget then an old Optiplex :)
Processor Intel Xeon X3480 = Core i7 880
Motherboard SuperMicro C7SIM-Q LGA1156
Cooling OEM Dell aluminum heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB Samsung DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 1060 SC 6GB GDDR5
Storage 60GB/512GB SSDs - 2TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV/Monitor 1360x768
Case Cooler Master RC-342
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD w Dolby Home Theatre V4 software
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 550 GA
Mouse MS Wheel Mouse Optical 1.1A USB
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse red backlit USB
Software Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
376 (0.13/day)
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 925
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 R2
Memory 4 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II 620w (SS-620GB)
Software Windows 10 Education x64 21H2
A coworker gave me her old pc. She said it was 6-7 years old. I was hoping it was going to be a decent motherboard so I could build a cheap gaming rig for World of Tanks. Turns out it's a bottom of the barrel HP pc with a basic socket AM3 mobo.
View attachment 167640
I have 8 GB of ram but according to the specs, I don't even think I can go higher than 4 GB. It has a PCI express x 16 slot but I can't go higher than a 95 watt cpu:


TDP: 95 watt
  • AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)
  • AMD Phenom II X3 7xx/7xxe Triple-Core (Heka)
  • AMD Phenom II X2 5xx (Callisto)
  • AMD II Athlon X4 6xx/6xxe (Propus)
  • AMD II Athlon X3 4xx/4xxe (Rana)
  • AMD II Athlon X2 2xx/2xxe (Regor)
  • AMD Sempron 1xx (Sargas)
Thoughts?

hi Rob94hawk.

sorry for responding almost a few years late on this but, there was one other person in another forum who also owns that AM3 board that put in a pair of 8Gb sticks (aka. 2x8Gb) for a total of 16Gb and has the pics to prove it

I know this post is old, but for anyone searching in the future the max supported ram for the narra6 is 16GB though I do believe I read you had to have windows 7 professional or windows 10 professional to unlock the 16GB... I could be wrong on this.

16GB on a narra6 = Mind Blown!

it's just that HP only tested that board with only up to 4Gb RAM at that time (anything higher like 6gb or 8gb was untested). also that board is found in most "slimline" (aka. thin) desktop PCs
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
17 (0.02/day)
hi Rob94hawk.

sorry for responding almost a few years late on this but, there was one other person in another forum who also owns that AM3 board that put in a pair of 8Gb sticks (aka. 2x8Gb) for a total of 16Gb and has the pics to prove it



it's just that HP only tested that board with only up to 4Gb RAM at that time (anything higher like 6gb or 8gb was untested). also that board is found in most "slimline" (aka. thin) desktop PCs
Your necro is actually very interesting to me, as I did not know it could take that much ram. A client gave me that board, when I built him a new system back in 2018. Had an X4 955 BE and 2x2GB ram. It was fun to mess around with, and played most of my GOG library fine. I think I was using a GTX 750ti with it and win10 pro.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
A coworker gave me her old pc. She said it was 6-7 years old. I was hoping it was going to be a decent motherboard so I could build a cheap gaming rig for World of Tanks. Turns out it's a bottom of the barrel HP pc with a basic socket AM3 mobo.
View attachment 167640
I have 8 GB of ram but according to the specs, I don't even think I can go higher than 4 GB. It has a PCI express x 16 slot but I can't go higher than a 95 watt cpu:


TDP: 95 watt
  • AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)
  • AMD Phenom II X3 7xx/7xxe Triple-Core (Heka)
  • AMD Phenom II X2 5xx (Callisto)
  • AMD II Athlon X4 6xx/6xxe (Propus)
  • AMD II Athlon X3 4xx/4xxe (Rana)
  • AMD II Athlon X2 2xx/2xxe (Regor)
  • AMD Sempron 1xx (Sargas)
Thoughts?
Thats an Asus Mobo
 
Top