• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I run Battlefield 2 on my parents computer?

Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Can I run BF2 on my parents computer which is a dell dimesdions 8400 intel pentium 4 cpu 3.20GHZ 3.19 GHZ, 512 of ram? Will the PCI express x 16 run BF2? I think it is called ATI Radeon X300 SE but I am not sure? Any advice? Can I do it on this system. The reqs page on EA says "Video card must have 128 MB or more memory and one of the following chipsets: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700 or greater / ATI Radeon 8500 or greater".
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#2
It will run

Not well but will run
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
818 (0.17/day)
Likes
468
System Name $computer$
Processor Core i7 4790K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling Alpenföhne Broken 120 + 2 huge coolermaster chassis fans
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 2133Mhz Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Geforce GTX 1080
Storage 2x60gb Kingston SSDnow 320 / 1x120gb Crucial SSD C300 / 1 WD caviar black 1tb
Display(s) 40" Samsung UE40ES5500
Case Cooler Master HAF932
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Microsoft intellimouse optical
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/vmb641
#3
your parents said "no", so don't bother asking :)

honnestly you'll have to lower most settings to get an acceptable framerate, and 512megs is simply not enough for those kind of texture intensive games.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
#4
Sorry, but you need a new system buddy. :(
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,004
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5
Well, I know that the X300 is a tad better than an FX5700, but it really wont' run worth a crap. Maybe 800x600 with all low settings.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,135 (0.33/day)
Likes
67
Location
England
System Name Wasleys PC
Processor Intel i5 2400 3.10GHz
Motherboard Asus P8z68-V
Cooling AC Freezer Pro
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 Hyperx Memory
Video Card(s) HIS ATi 6850 1GB DDR3
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache*
Case Antec 900 with mods
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth Xtream 500W
Software Windows 7
#7
Why'd you mention BF2. Now your making me install it again...:)

But it this way, I was playing BF2 with the following specs;

Intel Celeron 1.7GHz
64MB Graphics card (Later changed to 128MB - Arent I hardcore).
1 GB RAM

It ran fine on Karkland (A map), but only with 16 MAX players. I Suggest you hit a new GFX card in and some extra RAM.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,231 (1.47/day)
Likes
664
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#8
sure it is work , but not on high setting , many boots is ok
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
Yea it should defintely work i used to run it on a celeron D 2.4ghz and an Ati 9550 ok
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.54/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#10
Well, I know that the X300 is a tad better than an FX5700, but it really wont' run worth a crap. Maybe 800x600 with all low settings.
is it the 64 bit version of the x300
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#11
HEy GUYs, TY For THA HeLP. IT SeeMS LiKE I am going to have to BUy A new one?

IS this the best I could do for dirt cheap? ......

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883107700

Is this the best for that $$$$$(I want this as cheap as possible)......



HP Pavilion A6530F(KQ496AA)
Phenom X3 8450(2.1GHz)
4GB DDR2 640GB NVIDIA GeForce 6150
SE Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit

Service Net Desktop PC Onsite Extended Warranty Plan
Desktops serviced via onsite repair or by authorized repair facility if applicable. All shipping charges are covered

Service Net Desktop PC Onsite Extended Warranty 2 year plan: $69.99
Subtotal: $489.99
Extended Warranty Fee: $69.99
Shipping: $24.99
Promo Code: -$70.00
Instant - $150.00

Grand Total: $514.97
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#12
That pc has inegrated graphics, no better than your current one. If you know how to upgrade to a better graphics card then I would advise getting a cheap second hand nvidia 8600gt or something, maybe a 4670 but it will probably be bottlenecked by the p4. I wouldn't be so drasic to buy a whole new pc just to play bf2.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.54/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#13
pair that computer up with a video card and it will fly
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#14
TY for all the help everyone. I am thankful to have so many resources to find advice. I am thinking of just Upgrading my parents PC with a cheap range quality GPU. How's the one below?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121235

Would this card be compatible with my current setup at my parents house? If I could Find a cheap GPU that was compatible with my dell dimesdions 8400 intel pentium 4 cpu 3.20GHZ 3.19 GHZ, 512 of ram I would definately buy it to improve the system I have now. Is the one I picked ok or is there somthing better in the $30 price range? Do I need to get something better?
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#15
Yes but on low settings.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#16
i think it will run fine. i had a laptop with a 2.0 mentium m and radeon 9600 video card, i played with medium high settings. the x300 is pretty close to the 9600.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#17
If I am going to buy something, I want my game to run medium to well as far as game speed and res. I am open to any suggestions and advice on how to match up my new GPU with my old dell dimesions 8400 setup previously listed as the setup at my rents house. I want enough power to run BF2 online well to avoid lag problems. Also does anyone suggest new memory for my BF2 applications?
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,035 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name mine
Processor 2600k@5.2ghz 1.41 vcore
Motherboard asrock z77 OC Formula
Cooling pa120.3, apogee HD, mcp655 pump
Memory 16gigs ddr3 1600mhz sammy's @ 1886
Video Card(s) evga gtx470 under water on a seperate loop
Storage Crucial M4 128gig SSD
Display(s) HP 2511x 25inch led
Case none ATM
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750watt seasonic x-1250watt(dead)
Software win 8 pro 64bit
#18
i would suggest trying it out first before you buy anything. i know BF2 will run, i'm not sure if it will run with as much eye candy as you want. for ram you need 1.5 gigs atleast, bf2 will use almost a gig by itself.
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#19
hey it will run i used to have pentium 4 cpu 2.8 GHZ , 512 of ram and ATI Radeon X300 SE and it ran fine i could play online and everything. i could even play 2142 at all low settings
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#20
he should be able to run it at pretty good settings.
I had a 3400+ and an onboard x200 and was able to play battlefield 2142 pretty easily.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.54/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#21
if you do my a new computer, make sure it has enough room in it for a modern graphics card, at least 9 inches
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
#22
If you buy a computer, forget about the extended service plans and warranties, they are a waste of money. use the money you save by not getting a service plan to get a better pc, or a gfx card. :) try and stear clear of hp's.. :\
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#23
If I am going to buy something, I want my game to run medium to well as far as game speed and res. I am open to any suggestions and advice on how to match up my new GPU with my old dell dimesions 8400 setup previously listed as the setup at my rents house. I want enough power to run BF2 online well to avoid lag problems. Also does anyone suggest new memory for my BF2 applications?
that 8400gs is equally crappy like your 300se. Get atleast 8600gt or get this one

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131066

this 2600xt will serve you well. I have this card and it gives me around 94 FPS on almost all maps on 1280 * 1024 high settings. ofcourse I am feeding it with a Phenom 9500 (not the greatest one tho).

And oh when you are buying the card you better upgrade your system's mem to 2 gb atleast or else there will be nothing but lag.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
#24
Well, I took the liberty of going to newegg and configuring a system for you to build. It totals out to $592 shipped - $85 in mail in rebates. so a final cost of about $507. it's not hard to build a system. if you can follow directions and turn a screw driver, you're all set. the basic run down of the setup is as follows: COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 and add 4x XIGMATEK XSF-F1251 120mm Case Fans for some serious cooling power. The Foxconn A7DA-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1GHz Socket AM2 89W Dual-Core CPU, CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit, SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA, OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ500MXSP 500W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive, and a POWERCOLOR AX3870 512MD3-PH Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card. Anyone wish to comment or add or remove from this selection or any constructive criticism? I think this system will keep you gaming happily with some very decent gameplay and eye candy for a couple years. :)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#25
OK I c. Some say get a better card (e.g. Radeon HD 2600XT or better). Other say run it and see how it runs. I honestly think that this dell I am using now is too weak to support this game due to past virus damage. The computer is just a shadow of what it was when we bought it due to all the virus and spyware programs that were there. Then my mom lost her mind and paid $150 to get the thing "fixed". The guy ran registry cleaning programs through his PC into my hard drive to clean it up but for 150-250 the computer could have been upgraded to run like a new one.

So I wanna spend maybe $50-$80 on a GPU or mem to get most bang for buck on the dell. I am also trying to build my own PC sometime in the next year or so. ATM I have too many other more things that need money (a.k.a. bills & bitches).

Thanks for that input bluefox. I will think about that, but keep in mind that I want my FTB to have O/C capability. I am trying to learn how to build, mod, and O/C. I have been focusing on the basics for system builds and am going to try to start learning the basics of O/C. The stickies are great so far.

Swami TY for that link. I appreciate the extra effort of putting all that together for me. I will consider that as an option to improve my parents' dell. Do you have any suggestions as far as mem sticks go? Also how do you know that the card is compatible with my current mobo? I am not suggesting that it isn't compatible. I am asking because I want to learn how to select my own GPU based on compatablity and performace, not just one or the other. For that matter, how do I know what to look for in mem compatabilty either?

Last but not least ty to 3870, fafa, and ranger. You guys all gave me something to think about and I am happy to get all the advice from everyone.

Now I think I will run BF2 with the current setup and see. Then if upgrades are needed I will need to know what mem and/or GPU to use to upgrade the rents PC. Thanks again to everyone that took the time to add.