1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I run dual monitors with onboard and an additional video?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Famous Hobo, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I customer of mine requested that I make his computer able to use dual monitors. He wants to be able to use the two monitors as one. Can I use the onboard VGA and an additional video card? Or d I have to buy a video card with dual dvi?

    If so, will anyone on here sell me one for cheap? Thanks.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    So he wants an extended desktop, or he wants to run dual screens for games?

    I think the Card is the easier way to go. assuming he isnt gaming, this wont require any great price to get them new from say newegg.
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    How much are they. It's not for gaming. His mom just uses it for home office. It's like dual screen so you can drag stuff over. Like one big monitor.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    What sort of budget is he looking at. I mean you can get basic dual DVI cards like a HD3650 for around $50. There are many cheaper that will do the job, you just need to see what he needs. if HD movies are out then you can get older cheaper tech too. I mean hell an X800GTO or a 7600GT would do what you need with flying colors!
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The absolute cheapest via PCI Express. His mom doesn't do gaming, so the least expensive thing would be good for him and I.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    is there an X16 slot or just PCI express?
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    pci-e x16 and regular pci, and pci-e x4 are the only slots on the board.
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oops I read you have 4x PCIE and a PCI lol my bad
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    I assumed this ment you have all 4 slot types as options.
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I do. I have 1 PCI-E, 2 PCI, and a PCI-E x4 slot for sound cards and stuff. All of those are open for options.

    But if I get a splitter wont it be the same image on both screens? He wants the two monitors to be used as one.
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    its called extended desktop. once the monitors are hooked up to the card its in the options to extend the use of monitor one to monitor two. Can be done in desktop properties as well once they are attatched.
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    alright. my brother has an 8500 gt can i use that and get the splitter and ill be g2go? DO I have to buy a special splitter or can i just use any old regular one.

    I wish I could just use the onboard for the monitors because hes using vga anyways.
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    it isnt a splitter its a VGA to DVI atapter.
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm confused here. I might just be stupid.

    So those video cards that come with one DVI and one VGA can be used for dual monitors as long as you use a VGA to DVI adapter on the VGA port?
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    yup
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    yup, you sure could! just if the monitors are both VGA you need a DVI to VGA adapter to make the DVI convert to VGA * might be some resolution issues tho if they are CRT's*
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Famous Hobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thanks sneeky. Your 100% sure on this right?
     
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,043 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,710
    Ive run dual screens with extended desktop and udes dual DVI, one DVI one VGA. and dual VGA. All with LCD screens tho. Never personally tried dual CRT's. Had a CRT and LCD trial run before I knew what I was doing, never got it set up right. swapped screens before I ran duals again.
     
    Famous Hobo says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)