• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can i run my old X58 RAM in a X79?

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#1
Just asking because im going to be upgrading soon and RAM is last on the list :)
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#2
there both dd3 i dont see why not :p
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
120 (0.05/day)
Likes
47
System Name Mein pride und joy
Processor Intel Core i5-2400
Motherboard GigaByte GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9800 MAX
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 8GB CL11
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 HAWK LE 2GB
Storage Samsung 850 pro 256 / Seagate 1TB / Western Digital 500GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650RM
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
Why the hell not? It's not like x79 doesn't support DDR3 modules.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#4
Cool thanks will save me $200 for awhile :)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,349
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
your 12GB of ram, is that 3 X 4 or 6 X 2GB kits?

reason I ask is that X79 is built around quad channel, or 4 sticks of ram.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#6
your 12GB of ram, is that 3 X 4 or 6 X 2GB kits?

reason I ask is that X79 is built around quad channel, or 4 sticks of ram.
Its 6 x 2gb kits i got it on the release of the X58 :eek:
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,349
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Awesome, use 4 X 2GB for quad channel, keep a hold of the extra 4GB just in case;)
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#8
You can use them, however, they might not run at "advertised" specs. I ran in to this issue with some G.Skill ripjawsX. They advertise them as "Designed specifically for P67", and of course I was like whatever, they're DDR3, they'll work. Oh sure they worked, but not anywhere close to their advertised specs of 2133MHz. No matter what I did, I couldn't get them to run any faster than 1066Mhz, no matter how much I messed with the voltages.
The only consolation though, they would do 5-5-5-15 timings @ 1066, so that kinda made up for it.

I've since sold those off and got a set "specifically engineered for x58" and it works beautifully.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#9
You can use them, however, they might not run at "advertised" specs. I ran in to this issue with some G.Skill ripjawsX. They advertise them as "Designed specifically for P67", and of course I was like whatever, they're DDR3, they'll work. Oh sure they worked, but not anywhere close to their advertised specs of 2133MHz. No matter what I did, I couldn't get them to run any faster than 1066Mhz, no matter how much I messed with the voltages.
The only consolation though, they would do 5-5-5-15 timings @ 1066, so that kinda made up for it.

I've since sold those off and got a set "specifically engineered for x58" and it works beautifully.
Lets hope the XMP still work on my ram running them on the x79 chipset :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#10
I don't see any reason it wouldn't. In fact, you may be able to push them harder. In the past I've always been able to get a little bit more speed and tighter timings with my 775/DDR2 gear as newer chipsets came out. aka x48>925. Either that or they just built better boards but I didn't go from a $50 925 board to a $250 x48 board and say "oh wow look how fast my memory is now with this new chipset". I've always used high end boards when I upgraded. The memory controller is in the CPU now so this may not apply but one can hope there have been improvements in the controller.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#11
Lets hope the XMP still work on my ram running them on the x79 chipset :toast:
Quite honestly, I doubt the XMP profile will work. But look at it this way, if you have to run it at a lower frequency, just crank the crap out of the timings.
When I was running those RipjawX @ 1066 CAS 5, they were actually really fast. It was definitely a noticeable improvement over OCZ sticks I had in there (1333 CAS 9).

With RAM it's a direct inverse function, the higher the frequency, the looser (numerically higher) the timings. And vice versa. You can actually experiment with it and you'll notice that even if you're running at a lower frequency, with super tight timings (numerically lower) you may actually have more performance that's noticeable at keyboard level.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#12
Careful with the voltage, I know 1366 kits have up to 1.65v rather than the standard 1.5v
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#13
Careful with the voltage, I know 1366 kits have up to 1.65v rather than the standard 1.5v
Yer ill have to set the voltage to 1.5 and run the memory at a lower clock but its only for a few weeks after i upgrade.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#14
What mb are you going to get some have 6slots ;)
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#15
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#16
I didn't read the comments, but a suggestion if you like/need more RAM.

I personally have 6x4GB of RAM on my X58 system and I have 2x4GB of the same RAM on its way to have 8x4GB for X79 ;)
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#17
Im not to sure about the voltage on my sicks they run @ 1.65v and seems X79 ram runs at only 1.5v should i lower the voltage down when installing my ram ?
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#18
Im not to sure about the voltage on my sicks they run @ 1.65v and seems X79 ram runs at only 1.5v should i lower the voltage down when installing my ram ?
Yes, lower it when you install, if your ram can run fine with lowered voltage. you might need to loosen timings and latency if its not stable, the usual tricks. I am not sure what the long term effects will be running the ram voltage 10% higher than specced though.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#19
I believe X79 can probably handle 1.65V no problem... At worst their might be another voltage to change to be safe... I ran RAM at 1.8V on X58 (I had to make sure whatever voltage was within a certain voltage of my RAM voltage beforehand) for example and it ran great

EDIT: Seems X79 RAM is coming out @ 1.65V http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=155290 so it should NOT be a problem at all
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
EDIT: Seems X79 RAM is coming out @ 1.65V http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=155290 so it should NOT be a problem at all
WHoa, partner!


The fact new kits are coming out, should tell you something!!!

I recommend using X79-approved ram only, and suggest 1.5v ram.

Thing is votlage may be the same, but you cannot know if CURRENT draw will be the same. With higher bandwidth on the same frequency, you can basically guarantee that the current pulled by those sticks will be higher than on X58. I cannot say that older ram will be fine, but as I work on my X79 reviews, you can bet I will be asking OEMs what they think.


Ram is so cheap now, if you are buying into X79, and cannot afford new ram, I suggest you re-evaluate your priorities.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#21
WHoa, partner!


The fact new kits are coming out, should tell you something!!!

I recommend using X79-approved ram only, and suggest 1.5v ram.

Thing is votlage may be the same, but you cannot know if CURRENT draw will be the same. With higher bandwidth on the same frequency, you can basically guarantee that the current pulled by those sticks will be higher than on X58. I cannot say that older ram will be fine, but as I work on my X79 reviews, you can bet I will be asking OEMs what they think.


Ram is so cheap now, if you are buying into X79, and cannot afford new ram, I suggest you re-evaluate your priorities.
Never thought current could be a problem :ohwell: There are always new kits, and it is even more normal since it is a channel change ie: triple-channel RAM in packs of 3, so quad is in packs of 4, so that can't be an indication.

TBH, I'll try my luck with my current RAM, if it doesn't work I'll sell my RAM and have an excuse to go 1866+ lol :D
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#22
Yeah, I hear ya. I do plan to try 4 sticks od 1156 rma I have to see how it works, but I am leary of it working just because of my own experience with two kits of the same ram from the same batch being so very different...and both of them NOT working together very well.

If we were talking 1333MHz 1.5v stuff, sure, I think that should be fine, but it becomes questionable when using XMP-based memory.

X79 introduces XMP v1.3, while Sandybridge is XMP 1.2. I am not 100% sure how XMP v1.2 or XMP 1.1 memory will work, but, as always, I WILL be checking!
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#23
WHoa, partner!


The fact new kits are coming out, should tell you something!!!

I recommend using X79-approved ram only, and suggest 1.5v ram.

Thing is votlage may be the same, but you cannot know if CURRENT draw will be the same. With higher bandwidth on the same frequency, you can basically guarantee that the current pulled by those sticks will be higher than on X58. I cannot say that older ram will be fine, but as I work on my X79 reviews, you can bet I will be asking OEMs what they think.


Ram is so cheap now, if you are buying into X79, and cannot afford new ram, I suggest you re-evaluate your priorities.
Well some stores here are selling dual ch kits as quad which probably isnt right then, Takes these for example

Listed as a Quad ch kit for X79
G.SKILL 16GB KIT DDR3 RIPJAWS X C11 2133MHZ (F3-17000CL11Q-16GBXL)

But on the G.SKILL website they say RIPJAWS Z is for x79 not RIPJAWS X beats me.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
More than likely they think sticks will work.

Kits for Sandybridge should be OK, but there will be some sets that just won't be capable of the same speeds as they are rated for.

If the memory is on the board's QVL, it should be fine, but there will always be isntances of kits not working fully, no matter the situation. The differences in XMP versions is something that could potentiallly cause issues, but again, I don't have a CPU yet(retail not available locally), so the best I can go with is MANUFACTURER specifications.