• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can I Run Oblivion?

gamer210

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
136 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
University of Texas San Antonio
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700
Memory Mushkin XP 4GB DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon HD 4850
Storage Seagate 750 GB w/ 32MB Cache
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP Rev A04 S-IPS
Case Tuniq 3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 610
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
#1
I have been thinking about buying a new game, and Oblivion is on my list. My question is how well can my machine run Oblivion. Here are my specs

Intel 540J @ 3.2 GHz
G.SKILL F1-3200PHU2-2GBNS PC3200 @ 2.5-3-3-6
BBA X800 Pro @ 530/540

I'm thinking it will run pretty well. I get about 40-50 fps in quake4 and doom3 at 1600x1200 with 0xAA/16xAF. I only get 30-40 fps in FEAR and Prey at 1024x768 with 4xAA/8xAF, so that is my goal for Oblivion. Any help would be appreciated, as would any tweaks.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#2
there is no way you will run it at very high settings but should be able to run it on medium at 1024*768. it is simply a very hardcore game.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#3
1024x768 Medium, MAYBE high. It really dosen't matter that much anyway, it all looks the same to me.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#4
Find out for yourself!! ;o
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
353 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard X58 SABERTOOTH
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 24 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 ti sc @ 1550 mhz
Storage EVO 512 gb
Display(s) ASUS 24 QE248
Case ANTEC Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Soundbalster
Power Supply EVGA 1300 Supernova
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Steelseries 6gv2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores high
#5
can I run oblivion??

sapphire 1900 XT

Intel Prescott 3.6 Ghz @ 3.8

1 gb OCZ Valu Ram and if someone can find the timings I would appreciate it... I have CPU-Z but i dont know how to read it...
 
Last edited:

SeeK

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
138 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Edinburgh, UK
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800C9
Video Card(s) CF 2x Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Storage Samsung SP2504C
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Case CoolerMaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Pete: Yeah, sure you can. The CPU's probably a bottleneck, and Oblivion usually chunks more RAM than that, but you'll definately run it, no problems. One tip though... don't buy the expensive version of the game. It's not worth it. Because most people get tired of Oblivion quite fast.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
353 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard X58 SABERTOOTH
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 24 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 ti sc @ 1550 mhz
Storage EVO 512 gb
Display(s) ASUS 24 QE248
Case ANTEC Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Soundbalster
Power Supply EVGA 1300 Supernova
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Steelseries 6gv2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores high
#7
Thank you for replying, the CPU at 4ghz would be a bottleneck too?? I can put it to that no problems.. and i want to know if my memory timings are terrible because I think I got ripped off on this memory... please tell me if they are good...

and PS. why do they get bored.. it looks so sick
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
353 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard X58 SABERTOOTH
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 24 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 ti sc @ 1550 mhz
Storage EVO 512 gb
Display(s) ASUS 24 QE248
Case ANTEC Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Soundbalster
Power Supply EVGA 1300 Supernova
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Steelseries 6gv2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores high
#8
here are the timings
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
557 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Location
at my pc
Processor P4 2.8
Motherboard Intel D865PERL
Memory 2x512 Ballistix DDR400
Video Card(s) GeForce 5200
Storage Maxtor 120GB
Power Supply Allied 300w 10A
#9
DDR2 looks good... but single channel... you're running 1 1GB stick? :O
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
353 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard X58 SABERTOOTH
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 24 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 ti sc @ 1550 mhz
Storage EVO 512 gb
Display(s) ASUS 24 QE248
Case ANTEC Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Soundbalster
Power Supply EVGA 1300 Supernova
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Steelseries 6gv2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores high
#10
yes but it said dual channel kit and I have 2 ram slots used... i dont get it... do you think I should move one of the ram slots?
 

Moose1309

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
67 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#11
yes but it said dual channel kit and I have 2 ram slots used... i dont get it... do you think I should move one of the ram slots?
That could be it. I'm assuming it's 2 512MB sticks? Make sure they're in the right slots, and make sure dal-channel is enabled in BIOS. The memory timings won't realy cause noticeable perf decrease.

Gamer 210: Yeah you can run Oblivion, AA makes a big hit though on performance (aliasing isn't big deal in this game anyway). Just make sure you disable grass shadows. Heck you might even run 1280 if you tweak it right.
 

Gorre

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
103 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Cinnamon - edible orgasms
Processor AMD Opteron UP 148 @ 2860Mhz
Motherboard DFi Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR eXpert
Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2Gig OCZ Gold GX XTC @ 196Mhz, 2.5-3-3-7
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7900GT w/ Zalman Fatal1ty
Storage 120Gig + 200Gig Western Digital SATA-II 7,200RPM
Display(s) Belinea 20.1" Widescreen TFT (102035W)
Case Coolermaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Tagan 520W
Software Win XP Pro SP2
#12
Disable most of the shadows, to be honest. Not only do they make the game look cluttered (In my opinion) but they knock seven shades out of even beefy PCs.
 

Geekish

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Pete: Yeah, sure you can. The CPU's probably a bottleneck, and Oblivion usually chunks more RAM than that, but you'll definately run it, no problems. One tip though... don't buy the expensive version of the game. It's not worth it. Because most people get tired of Oblivion quite fast.
I agree to not buying the expensive version, but why the heck do you say that people gets tired of it fast? There`s alot to do in the game even after you`ve done all the main missions!
 

firebird

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
can i run oblivion on my new laptop

ok my specs are
3.5 ghz
1.5gb ram
60 gb hard drive 5400
and my video card is weird so thats y im asking about this its ATI Radeon® Xpress 1150 256MB HyperMemoryTM it has 3d capability and all but wen i ran a scan it said that it wouldnt run it
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.08/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#15
ok my specs are
3.5 ghz
1.5gb ram
60 gb hard drive 5400
and my video card is weird so thats y im asking about this its ATI Radeon® Xpress 1150 256MB HyperMemoryTM it has 3d capability and all but wen i ran a scan it said that it wouldnt run it
it will run at 800x600 lowest settings with luck ;)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
500 (0.12/day)
Likes
13
#16
It will run for gamer210 but at the worse setting alive and firebird it wont be working for you at all because that graphics card is a complete pile a shit.

Im guessing you have a 3.5ghz Pentium 4 or somthing?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
1,937 (0.48/day)
Likes
103
Location
Fremont, Ohio
System Name The Darkside
Processor Intel i7-2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB GSKILL Ares PC3-12800
Video Card(s) VisionTek R9 270x
Storage 250GB, 320GB, 1TB, & 2TB Seagate
Display(s) 40" Sharp Aquos Quattron 1080p
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Reltek
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#17
I run Oblivion at High settings with shadows and grass off as I think the grass sucks and thats on a P4 524 3.0gGhz OC'ed @ 3.8Ghz on a Sapphire X800XL and 512MB of RAM and its not bad, be better when my Hyper X dual channel comes in
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#18

Rhino666

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Szeged, Hungary
System Name Therion v6
Processor Intel Core i5-3450
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H77-DS3H
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 Evo
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Blu 1600@CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD7770 1GB OC
Storage ADATA 64GB mSATA SSD + 2x2TB Samsung RAID0
Display(s) 2x LG 22" FullHD TFT
Case Gigabyte GZ-X2
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy HD2
Power Supply Corsair CX400
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M: ??s 3D Mark 06: ??p
#19
And can I run it? :D
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#20
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
318 (0.08/day)
Likes
3
Processor x2 4000+@2.96gz, thermalright ultra90 with 90mm panaflow ultra speed
Motherboard biostar tforce 550
Cooling Thermalright ultra90,90mm panaflow ultra speed fan
Memory Transend AxeRam ddr2 800@986mhz 5-5-5-15 2t TrFc 75ns
Video Card(s) x1900xtx+zalman vf900cu cooler
Storage 80+160+200+250gb
Display(s) 20.1in gaming lcd 1600x1200@120hz(dvi-d)
Case cg-briza (thx again to ashen)
Audio Device(s) realtek 8ch hd audio latist drivers
Power Supply 400watt fsp 12cm fan psu
Software windows 2003 sp2(custom build),nod32,opera9,tcmp,vlc,udrfrag,perfect disk,utorrent
#21
*cant imagin less then 1.5gb ram anymore* oblivion is the worst game i have seen in years for being totaly unoptimized for pc, you will beable to run it but not at high res with stuff turned up dont even try.

1024 is the best i think ur gonna get out of that system, as stated it loves ram and it eats video cards for lunch.
 

Geekish

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
*cant imagin less then 1.5gb ram anymore* oblivion is the worst game i have seen in years for being totaly unoptimized for pc, you will beable to run it but not at high res with stuff turned up dont even try.

1024 is the best i think ur gonna get out of that system, as stated it loves ram and it eats video cards for lunch.
Patially agree with u, there is no way you get to run oblivion at mid/high settings with ur specs, but u should be able to run it at OK settings, nothing more than that:toast:
 

Rhino666

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2007
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Szeged, Hungary
System Name Therion v6
Processor Intel Core i5-3450
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H77-DS3H
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 Evo
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Blu 1600@CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD7770 1GB OC
Storage ADATA 64GB mSATA SSD + 2x2TB Samsung RAID0
Display(s) 2x LG 22" FullHD TFT
Case Gigabyte GZ-X2
Audio Device(s) Audiotrak Prodigy HD2
Power Supply Corsair CX400
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M: ??s 3D Mark 06: ??p
#23
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#24
runs good on my brothers pc (my old gear) 1024x768 high detail, no shadows, sliders roughly half way (couple higher) bloom on

axp-m@2300 400fsb
9800pro 256/256 (stock)
1gig ddr400 ram

its 4 years old!!! (apart from xp-m)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
318 (0.08/day)
Likes
3
Processor x2 4000+@2.96gz, thermalright ultra90 with 90mm panaflow ultra speed
Motherboard biostar tforce 550
Cooling Thermalright ultra90,90mm panaflow ultra speed fan
Memory Transend AxeRam ddr2 800@986mhz 5-5-5-15 2t TrFc 75ns
Video Card(s) x1900xtx+zalman vf900cu cooler
Storage 80+160+200+250gb
Display(s) 20.1in gaming lcd 1600x1200@120hz(dvi-d)
Case cg-briza (thx again to ashen)
Audio Device(s) realtek 8ch hd audio latist drivers
Power Supply 400watt fsp 12cm fan psu
Software windows 2003 sp2(custom build),nod32,opera9,tcmp,vlc,udrfrag,perfect disk,utorrent
#25
bloom, didnt like oblivions bloom, was kinda washed out, think they could have done better personaly, i have a couple free MMO's that have better bloom!!!!

personaly i gave up on oblivion ever running as it really should, they need to take some time and truely optimize the code, i guarntee if it was optimized properly it would run a hell of alot better on current hardware then it does now.

i need a nap, noding off as i type :p