1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I SLI with my PSU?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Castiel, Sep 26, 2008.

  1. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I'm kinda of a n00b when It comes to power supplies, I just buy one that has enough juice in it. So I am planning on SLI(ing) 9600GT's. And I was wandering If I can with all the hardware and power supply I have. On Extreme PSU Calculator it says that I will be able to run all with a 430w, but I was wanting to make sure. The type of PSU I have is a Antec NeoPower 650w. And the rest of my hardware is in my specs.

    Here is a link for the PSU.Thanks!
    http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=28651
     
  2. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    It'll be fine.

    [​IMG]

    52A (624w/12v) combined output on the 12v rail. Itll power most systems.
     
    Castiel says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,350 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,429
    Absolutely! You should have no problems power.
     
    Castiel says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Now if I plan on OC my cpu to at most 2.8GHz will it still be ok? My CPU is a Energy Efficient, so It only takes like 65w to power it?
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,350 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,429
    You should be able to overclock everything in your system as far as it will go with your PSU.
     
    Castiel says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. wolf2009 Guest

    No problem , I can Xfire a HD4850 and HD4870 , which consume a lot more power , with my Ultra X 600W Pro . 9600GT's should be nothing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    You have the same PSU? Or did you just grab this off of google images?
     
  8. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    A review on the net done by overclockersclub. But it is the same PSU. The antec link didnt give combined output, which I wanted to check.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Ahh, ok. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)