• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I squeeze more out of 2x F4-3600C14D-16GVKA kits?

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
22 (0.07/day)
Gigabyte x570 UD rev 1.0 (Bios: F36e)
Ryzen 5800X
2x F4-3600C14D-16GVKA (Samsung B-die)
XFX Speedster QICK 308 6600 XT
be quiet! Pure Power 11 600W
be quiet! Pure Loop 240mm (push)
Corsair Scythe Kaze Flex 120mm PWM (1x pull back, 2x push front)
Fractal Meshify C

So, I hear good news about G.Skill (and my previous 3000's I could OC up to 3266 on standard profile, stable). Here's me wondering if I can get gain out of OC'ing the four sticks. Mind that my knowledge of this is marginal at best, and with a x570 chipset I can tune the living daylights out of everything of course.
Some research I could fathom is an OC to 4000 with some "roomier" timings and a slightly higher voltage would do. Ran a full memtest86 at "profile 1" speeds on defaulted BIOS had no problems, just FYI.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,682 (1.76/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5800X3D @ 100W
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4006)
Memory 2x16GB 3733CL14
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti - 2010@0.95V
Storage 1TB SN750 - 1TB SN850X - 1TB Blue3D
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
  • If you run just one of the kits, 4000 16-16-16 should be easily doable barring unforeseen complications from it being a low end board.
  • If you run both kits (4x8GB), even booting 4000 might be a little optimistic as it is 2 ranks per channel just as 2x16GB Bdie is. The X570 UD is an average 4-layer 4DIMM board, and your average 4-layer board tops out somewhere between 3733-3866 on 2 ranks per channel. Generally would not count on even 1:1 3866 for 2x16 and 4x8 kits on 4-layer boards.
And even if you had a 6-layer board on which dual rank 4000 is not an issue, your 5800X needs to feel up to the task of 2000MHz IF stable and without WHEA errors. 5600X and 5800X have a much better chance at 4000 error-free than 5900X/5950X, but it's far from a guarantee.

If all goes well, 3800CL15 is plenty fast and should be relatively easy for a 3600CL14 kit, probably in the range of 1.4-1.5V. For 3800CL14, you're looking at 1.5-1.55V, and with 4 DIMMs that's going to be nigh-impossible to cool in RAM testing and games without setting up a small fan dedicated to blowing at the RAM, and still challenging with a fan.
 

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,828 (2.46/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Gaming / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 / Xeon X5675 @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool h2o
Memory 32GB DDR4 / 24GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1080 Ti / Radeon R9 290X
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB / 240GB of SSDs + 1.25TB
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080p / 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) DAC + Superlux HD668B / Corsair HS35 Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion 550W / Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB / IBM Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro ENG / Win 10 Pro ENG
Hard to say. When I started OC'ing my HyperX 3200s, I went with a 33MHz bump and ran TestMem5 for several hours. I ended with 3466MHz at 1.38 Volts.

Try for yourself? We're here to help you :)
 

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
22 (0.07/day)
If it's a case of WHEA errors, then I think I'm already a bit in trouble. Got cache hierarchy errors when system goes in standby. Despite memtest86 results with 0 errors.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,682 (1.76/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5800X3D @ 100W
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4006)
Memory 2x16GB 3733CL14
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti - 2010@0.95V
Storage 1TB SN750 - 1TB SN850X - 1TB Blue3D
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
If it's a case of WHEA errors, then I think I'm already a bit in trouble. Got cache hierarchy errors when system goes in standby. Despite memtest86 results with 0 errors.

At 3800+ we're talking about Bus/Interconnect WHEAs here. If you don't have any of those and you can boot and be stable otherwise then your CPU is doing fine on Infinity Fabric.

Cache hierarchy has nothing to do with RAM. Cache hierarchy means your cores aren't stable, in your case at idle, that's a separate problem. If you've messed with PBO and Curve Optimizer then you've got bad settings, if you're at stock settings then bad BIOS/bad board/bad CPU.

No one serious about RAM uses MT86, the CPU is literally at rest during that program. Use HCI Memtest, Karhu, or preferably Testmem5 on anta777Extreme1 config or 1usmusv3 config.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
9,224 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.2Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling 280MM AIO
Memory 32 GB DDR5 6000 MHZ 36-36-36-95
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UV @1810mhz 800mv
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) LG CX 48" 120hz, Samsung 28" 4k 144hz
Case SLIGER S610
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Superlight wireless
Keyboard 65% mini hyperspeed wireless
Software Windows 11
have you OC'd the tertiary timings? -- those get a ton of performance above and beyond what a frequency bump will do -- especially with 4 dimms.

primarily trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw to [4 / 6 / 24] (loose) then [4 / 5 / 20] then [4 / 4 / 16] (super tight ) or 4 / 5 / 16

Try something like

trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw - [4 / 6 / 24] (to start)

and:

tRDRD_sg = 7
tRDRD_dg = 4
tRDRD_dr = 7
tRDRD_dd = 7

tWRWR_sg = 7
tWRWR_dg = 4
tWRWR_dr = 7
tWRWR_dd = 7


And then run a test -- i think you will be surprised at the performance increase.
 
Last edited:

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
22 (0.07/day)
have you OC'd the tertiary timings? -- those get a ton of performance above and beyond what a frequency bump will do -- especially with 4 dimms.

primarily trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw to [4 / 6 / 24] (loose) then [4 / 5 / 20] then [4 / 4 / 16] (super tight ) or 4 / 5 / 16

Try something like

trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw - [4 / 6 / 24] (to start)

and:

tRDRD_sg = 7
tRDRD_dg = 4
tRDRD_dr = 7
tRDRD_dd = 7

tWRWR_sg = 7
tWRWR_dg = 4
tWRWR_dr = 7
tWRWR_dd = 7


And then run a test -- i think you will be surprised at the performance increase.
Eh...

I did say "marginally experienced".
I'll try all the suggestions when home.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,296 (0.38/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
At 3800+ we're talking about Bus/Interconnect WHEAs here. If you don't have any of those and you can boot and be stable otherwise then your CPU is doing fine on Infinity Fabric.

Cache hierarchy has nothing to do with RAM. Cache hierarchy means your cores aren't stable, in your case at idle, that's a separate problem. If you've messed with PBO and Curve Optimizer then you've got bad settings, if you're at stock settings then bad BIOS/bad board/bad CPU.

No one serious about RAM uses MT86, the CPU is literally at rest during that program. Use HCI Memtest, Karhu, or preferably Testmem5 on anta777Extreme1 config or 1usmusv3 config.
So if MT86 is not worthy, then how does one test ram before booting into OS? The authors of that program have done some nice clean ups with the user interface in v9.3
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,682 (1.76/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5800X3D @ 100W
Motherboard Crosshair VIII Impact (4006)
Memory 2x16GB 3733CL14
Video Card(s) TUF RTX 3070 Ti - 2010@0.95V
Storage 1TB SN750 - 1TB SN850X - 1TB Blue3D
Case Cerberus
Power Supply SF750
So if MT86 is not worthy, then how does one test ram before booting into OS? The authors of that program have done some nice clean ups with the user interface in v9.3

You don't. There's no magical benefit to "testing outside the OS". You don't use your computer outside of the OS.

Even if there was an argument for testing literally 100.0% of memory capacity, and these theoretical instabilities only show at 100% capacity, it would be incredibly irrelevant in that there is no way you are filling 100.0% of memory capacity while using your computer normally without suffering major consequences.

If you pick up a brand new kit you can run it while doing something else so that you don't waste further time on a physically faulty kit, but that's pretty much it. TM5 automatically allocates nearly all available RAM and hammer it within an inch of its life. Especially when running more aggressive OCs, RAM doesn't exist in a vacuum; the Infinity Fabric needs to be happy, and so does the UMC (IMC for intel). All of these OC favourite in-OS memtests have appreciable CPU and memory controller load to some degree (TM5 probably the heaviest, and LinpackXtreme depending on config) - MT86 basically just has the CPU sit there.

Yes, Windows is sensitive to unstable memory, but it's also not that immediate as long as you are even remotely aware of what you're doing.
 

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
22 (0.07/day)
You don't. There's no magical benefit to "testing outside the OS". You don't use your computer outside of the OS.

Even if there was an argument for testing literally 100.0% of memory capacity, and these theoretical instabilities only show at 100% capacity, it would be incredibly irrelevant in that there is no way you are filling 100.0% of memory capacity while using your computer normally without suffering major consequences.

If you pick up a brand new kit you can run it while doing something else so that you don't waste further time on a physically faulty kit, but that's pretty much it. TM5 automatically allocates nearly all available RAM and hammer it within an inch of its life. Especially when running more aggressive OCs, RAM doesn't exist in a vacuum; the Infinity Fabric needs to be happy, and so does the UMC (IMC for intel). All of these OC favourite in-OS memtests have appreciable CPU and memory controller load to some degree (TM5 probably the heaviest, and LinpackXtreme depending on config) - MT86 basically just has the CPU sit there.

Yes, Windows is sensitive to unstable memory, but it's also not that immediate as long as you are even remotely aware of what you're doing.
Save Windows 2000. I remember installing 2 sticks back in the day and one was badly seated. Win95, 98 etc crashed at install. Windows 2000 went it's merily way. That one is stable as a rock.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
9,224 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.2Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling 280MM AIO
Memory 32 GB DDR5 6000 MHZ 36-36-36-95
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UV @1810mhz 800mv
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) LG CX 48" 120hz, Samsung 28" 4k 144hz
Case SLIGER S610
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Superlight wireless
Keyboard 65% mini hyperspeed wireless
Software Windows 11
TM5 for ram and Linpack for Cache OC (on intel) works wonders for me.
 
D

Deleted member 215115

Guest
tRDRD_sg = 7
tRDRD_dg = 4
tRDRD_dr = 7
tRDRD_dd = 7

tWRWR_sg = 7
tWRWR_dg = 4
tWRWR_dr = 7
tWRWR_dd = 7
I don't think you can mess with these on AM4. I've never seen them in any submenu.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
9,224 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.2Ghz 1.235v
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling 280MM AIO
Memory 32 GB DDR5 6000 MHZ 36-36-36-95
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UV @1810mhz 800mv
Storage 2x 2TB WDC SN850, 1TB Samsung 960 prr
Display(s) LG CX 48" 120hz, Samsung 28" 4k 144hz
Case SLIGER S610
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Superlight wireless
Keyboard 65% mini hyperspeed wireless
Software Windows 11
I don't think you can mess with these on AM4. I've never seen them in any submenu.
It depends on the motherboard and what they’re called but all of them have a section for turn around timings. Might be labeled something else tho. The sg/dg/dr/dd at the end should give them away.

with 4x ranks tuning those should give some very nice boosts after he is able to find his max frequency.

1) get highest 1:1 ratio mhz,
2) tighten cl and primaries
3) tighten trrd(s)/l and tfaw
4) turnaround timings
5) last and most painful: trfc and trefi tuning
6) watch your cpu-bottlenecked fps go up by 20%
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted member 215115

Guest
It depends on the motherboard and what they’re called but all of them have a section for turn around timings. Might be labeled something else tho. The sg/dg/dr/dd at the end should give them away.

with 4x ranks tuning those should give some very nice boosts after he is able to find his max frequency.

1) get highest 1:1 ratio mhz,
2) tighten cl and primaries
3) tighten trrd(s)/l and tfaw
4) turnaround timings
5) last and most painful: trfc and trefi tuning
6) watch your cpu-bottlenecked fps go up by 20%
I've been through all of them, and if memory serves, I have these options and more.
Ah yeah, my bad, these are always called something else for every manufacturer.
 

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
22 (0.07/day)
Just for arguments sake, what would be a proper board within a budget of about 250 Euro's?
 
D

Deleted member 215115

Guest
Just for arguments sake, what would be a proper board within a budget of about 250 Euro's?
There are none. Proper boards start at 300 EUR. ( MSI X570 Unify/Unify-X)

But then again, I've pushed B-die kits to 3800 CL14 on 100 EUR X470 boards so who knows anymore?

For Ryzen, the board doesn't matter much if your memory is great. 3800 is what you want and 99% of boards should be capable of that with some B-die.

B550/X570S boards will do better memory OC because they are newer. 2-DIMM boards will get you the best results.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,350 (2.94/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,350 (2.94/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
CMOS reset button.
Just use your reset switch?

Edit:

You said a proper board starts at 300 euro.. I disagreed and said 6 layers..
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
4,350 (2.94/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Street Meat
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-XE
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 140
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN850 1TB, SN750 1TB, SN750 500GB, Asus Hyper M.2
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,296 (0.38/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
You don't. There's no magical benefit to "testing outside the OS". You don't use your computer outside of the OS.

Even if there was an argument for testing literally 100.0% of memory capacity, and these theoretical instabilities only show at 100% capacity, it would be incredibly irrelevant in that there is no way you are filling 100.0% of memory capacity while using your computer normally without suffering major consequences.

If you pick up a brand new kit you can run it while doing something else so that you don't waste further time on a physically faulty kit, but that's pretty much it. TM5 automatically allocates nearly all available RAM and hammer it within an inch of its life. Especially when running more aggressive OCs, RAM doesn't exist in a vacuum; the Infinity Fabric needs to be happy, and so does the UMC (IMC for intel). All of these OC favourite in-OS memtests have appreciable CPU and memory controller load to some degree (TM5 probably the heaviest, and LinpackXtreme depending on config) - MT86 basically just has the CPU sit there.

Yes, Windows is sensitive to unstable memory, but it's also not that immediate as long as you are even remotely aware of what you're doing.
Thanks, I wasn't implying there is a magical benefit in testing outside of the OS but the thing is MT86 will check for physical integrity of the DIMMS & obviously before the OS loads. If the end user is attempting an OC on the ram they don't want to load the OS & get errors when its loading before the desktop completely loads. That's the whole point of MT86.
 
Top