• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can IDE HDD and SATA HDD be Run Simultaneously?

Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
217
Likes
9
Location
England!
System Name Core i7
Processor i7 920 @ 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory Corsair XMS-3 18GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Unlocked and overclocked XFX ATi HD6950 2GB
Storage Main Drive - OCZ Vertex 2 120gb; storage -WD Caviar Blue 640Gb, 4Tb Seagate and 240gb Crucial mx100
Display(s) 27" LG Black Full HD Widescreen 3dtv, 1920x1080.
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 650w
Software Windows 7
#1
Ive currently got 2 classic IDE drives, i was wondering if i could squeeze a 3rd HD in there, a SATA based one tho, could i run it at the same time as the IDE pair?

also would it have to be set as a slave or master?

Cheers, dan!
 

Mediocre

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,237
Likes
70
Processor C2D E8400 @ 3.60GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Pro w/ extra Vreg HS
Cooling Apogee GTX, 2x120mm DD, MCP-1000P Res/Pump, all 3/8" 7x80mm (4x push/pull, 2x exhaust, 1x side)
Memory 2 x 1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 @ 800 (4-3-3-6)
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800GTX+
Storage 3 x 80 GB WD SATA300 (2x RAID 0)
Display(s) Scepter x37 1080p 37" LCD & Samsung 204B
Case CoolerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Mushkin HP-580AP (C/O TPU!)
Software Vista Ultimate (32-bit)
#2
Shouldn't be any problems running it at the same time (provided you aren't trying to RAID it with your other drives)

No master/slave for SATA, just connect and go (the newer ones have jumpers for SATA150 and SATA300...all SATA300 drives are SATA150 compatible)

So yeah, just plug it in, turn it on in the BIOS and windows should see a third drive...

Seem to remember somewhere if it doesn't show up on first boot you have to right-click somewhere and scan for changes?? But chances are you plug it in, set the jumper (if running a SATA150 mobo), flip it on in the BIOS and windows should see it no problem
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,768
Likes
267
Location
Oklahoma, USA
System Name W.I.P.
#3
As long as you have a free SATA port you are good to go. I am assuming you will just be using for additional storage? Also SATA do not use the old school slave/master settings. :toast:

Beat me to it Mediocre! :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
217
Likes
9
Location
England!
System Name Core i7
Processor i7 920 @ 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory Corsair XMS-3 18GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Unlocked and overclocked XFX ATi HD6950 2GB
Storage Main Drive - OCZ Vertex 2 120gb; storage -WD Caviar Blue 640Gb, 4Tb Seagate and 240gb Crucial mx100
Display(s) 27" LG Black Full HD Widescreen 3dtv, 1920x1080.
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 650w
Software Windows 7
#4
okay cool, ill have to read my mobo instructions to see if its a 150, i bet it is with it being a classic 478 Mobo. :)
 

Mediocre

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,237
Likes
70
Processor C2D E8400 @ 3.60GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-Pro w/ extra Vreg HS
Cooling Apogee GTX, 2x120mm DD, MCP-1000P Res/Pump, all 3/8" 7x80mm (4x push/pull, 2x exhaust, 1x side)
Memory 2 x 1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 @ 800 (4-3-3-6)
Video Card(s) EVGA 9800GTX+
Storage 3 x 80 GB WD SATA300 (2x RAID 0)
Display(s) Scepter x37 1080p 37" LCD & Samsung 204B
Case CoolerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Mushkin HP-580AP (C/O TPU!)
Software Vista Ultimate (32-bit)
#5
okay cool, ill have to read my mobo instructions to see if its a 150, i bet it is with it being a classic 478 Mobo. :)
That sounds about right, I might even forego the manual check and just set it to sata150. I don't think there is a real world performance difference between 150 and 300. 150 is supposed to be 150mb/s and 300mb/s but I thought I read somewhere there wasn't a real performance difference...could be waaaay wrong :laugh:

Welcome to the SATA age :toast:

(see specs - I run 4x80 in RAID 0 for gaming...load times are unbelievably short - Always the first to load in BF2 and C&C)
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
217
Likes
9
Location
England!
System Name Core i7
Processor i7 920 @ 3.3 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120
Memory Corsair XMS-3 18GB 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Unlocked and overclocked XFX ATi HD6950 2GB
Storage Main Drive - OCZ Vertex 2 120gb; storage -WD Caviar Blue 640Gb, 4Tb Seagate and 240gb Crucial mx100
Display(s) 27" LG Black Full HD Widescreen 3dtv, 1920x1080.
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 650w
Software Windows 7
#6
haha and i make everyone wait for me on BF2, i have time to go make a brew before it comes on for me!

yeah it will be used for games.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#8
I always thought that it had to be one or the other????
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#9

LonGun

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
407
Likes
12
Location
U.S. - San Diego, CA
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ (40C-50C max)
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe /WiFi
Cooling customized Big-Typhoon, x2-120mm, x1-80mm. & a Portable AC next to the case.
Memory Patriot 6.00 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS @645/1932 (45C min >60C max)
Storage SATA II: WD 500GB, Maxtor 200GB
Display(s) SCEPTRE 20" LCD (5ms) @ 1680x1050 res.
Case ULTRA Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Power Supply Antec NEO HE 550W
Software OS: Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1
#10
If you guys dont' mind I'm asking can an external HDD perform well on USB 2.0? Firewire Port? or an external SATA port on the back of the MB I have?
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#11
it'll perform well on all 3.
if you really want external storage, go with NAS(network attached storage). NAS hooks up to your router.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#12
nas is cool, ive been looking for (a cheap) one for a while now, however if you have an esata port on the back of your mobo, id suggest one of those external boxes that has esata AND usb2, as it will give you the quickest performance on your own computer, and you can hook it up to (virtually) any other computer via usb
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488
Likes
1,331
#13
You can combine any type of controller. If you're bored (or even have a real reason) you could fill all your expansion slots with controllers. Add some SATA card, a PATA controller, SCSI, SAS, all can run together without issues. Add several USB and firewire disks while you're add it and use Windows to make a RAID 0 array from all these different disks. Your system won't care, if you want it you can do it :)

As for external storage. Do you plan on moving it around? Use it on multiple computers? Or will it just sit on top of your computer? If you move it around a lot I'd recommend USB simply because it'll work on 99% of the computers. If you keep it at home but have multiple PC's I would recommend NAS (Network Attached Storage). If you plan on using it on 1 system and not disconnecting it I would use an internal drive :) (perhaps eSATA if you lack space in your case)