• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can install Windows, can't install Linux

power_overwhelming

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Weird stuff, don't know how to approach it to be honest.

Month ago I've installed Windows 7 on my PC, no problems at all. Now I wanted to install Linux on top of that. The trick is, no matter what Linux distro I use (tried Ubuntu from DVD, Ubuntu from pendrive, Fedora from DVD, Ubuntu from pendrive), they show a splashscreen, start loading and at some point the screen turns gray with some weird symbols and it crashes. Nothing happens anymore and monitor shows "No signal from video card" message.

Now the interesting part. I press the reset button and it doesn't start at all, BIOS is beeping 2-3 short beeps (hard to tell if it's 2 or 3), then 8 short, then after some delay another short one. Resetting again doesn't help. I have to turn off the PC, then turn it on again.
I have AMI Bios and ami bios beep chart doesn't really help...

Windows 7 DVD starts without any problem :/ I ran a memtest, no problems at all, loaded factory defaults in BIOS, no effect.

Any suggestions what could be the problem?

specs:
ASROCK M3A770DE
SAPPHIRE Radeon 6850 1GB
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE 3.4GHz
2 x Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333MHz
OCZ ModXStream PRO 500W
Asus Xonar DG
 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.52/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Have you Googled for any known incompatibilities between your specific hardware and linux? Sounds like a video card issue offhand but surprised so fatal. Is the Fedora a LiveCD too? Wondering if it too has GUI. Perhaps a command line boot environment would work like Damn Small Linux or even booting with Darik's Boot and Nuke cd (just to see if it can fire up without crashing)? At least you'd have more info...
 

power_overwhelming

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Have you Googled for any known incompatibilities between your specific hardware and linux? Sounds like a video card issue offhand but surprised so fatal. Is the Fedora a LiveCD too? Wondering if it too has GUI. Perhaps a command line boot environment would work like Damn Small Linux or even booting with Darik's Boot and Nuke cd (just to see if it can fire up without crashing)? At least you'd have more info...
Yes, I did google, but couldn't find anything interesting. Only thing I can find is that Linux ATI drivers aren't the highest quality, but come on, it should at least launch.

Yes, Fedora is a LiveCD (DVD actually), it works without problem if I launch it in VirtualBox.

I'll try a completely different linux tomorrow, maybe it will help.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
get the alternate install cd (fro ubuntu). it will be a very basic interface. however after install will will still probably have video issue you will then want to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and change Driver to Driver "vesa" till you can find a working one.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
601 (0.11/day)
Location
Under Columbus, Ohio
System Name Gen0cide
Processor AMD Phenom x4 920 2.8 @ 3.36 1.44v
Motherboard Asus M2N-Deluxe + WiFi
Cooling Thermoright True Rev C
Memory 2x 2gig of Gskill DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 20 2.125v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 250 GTS 1 Gig
Storage 5x 730gig 7,200 RPM Raid 5 Western Digital Black
Display(s) Neovo F-417
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM
Software Windows 7 x64 / Arch Linux-fluxbox(duel Boot)
a vm machine is good to test the media but it wont have any problems as its emulated hardware. I would try ubuntu or my personal fav Archlinux
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
601 (0.11/day)
Location
Under Columbus, Ohio
System Name Gen0cide
Processor AMD Phenom x4 920 2.8 @ 3.36 1.44v
Motherboard Asus M2N-Deluxe + WiFi
Cooling Thermoright True Rev C
Memory 2x 2gig of Gskill DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 20 2.125v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 250 GTS 1 Gig
Storage 5x 730gig 7,200 RPM Raid 5 Western Digital Black
Display(s) Neovo F-417
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM
Software Windows 7 x64 / Arch Linux-fluxbox(duel Boot)
wubi would have the same problems that ubuntu would ... all it does it create a file and and entry in the windows bootloader to boot from that file .... Monte84 has a good idea
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
I had that issue before, its trying to load a driver that doesnt support your video card.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor i9-9900k {6600k,4790k}
Motherboard asus strix z390-i, Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,z97m-d3h
Cooling EK - ROG Strix z390I, laing ddc in series, aquaero XT, liquid metal...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, oc'd to 4266,19x3,44,2t
Video Card(s) gtx1660ti, custom watercooled...
Storage wdc nvme wds256g1xoc, samsung evo 1TB,etc
Display(s) benq ew3270u,acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H,
Case antec crystal p120
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Mouse logitech g703... ,Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard drevo gramr 84, mad giga p1, among others...
Software win10pro...
my system is 6850, amd 905e, 4GB kingston ram ddr2... (w /380watt seasonic)
I have 64bit windows 7 installed. (16k sectors, what a pain that was to effect)
i also installed the 32bit wubi linux install. (ubuntu-in-windows-directory)
It installed without an hitch (of course getting the 32 bit version was a pain... need the --32 switch, ) (32 bit version because I was testing Second life under linux with the 6850, and the 560ti...)

anyways, it isn't the graphics card, and i dont suppose it is the cpu, so I would check to see if the system is rock-solid by running prime95 for 24 hours.

if that isn't the problem, then I would blame the motherboard.
could be a boot sector problem... thus, install any version of ubuntu (easily) using the wubi installer under windows.
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.36/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Are you doing a clean install?

Also if you are doing a clean install may I suggest this. Delete and format all partitions and let Ubuntu allocate the drive. You might have some MBR files left on the HD that is conflicting with Ubuntu booting.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Its not an MBR issues, because he has same issue when installing from DVD. As i said, Alternate install cd then we can edit some text files to get you working and setup :)
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.36/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Its not an MBR issues, because he has same issue when installing from DVD. As i said, Alternate install cd then we can edit some text files to get you working and setup :)

Um it could very well be an MBR issue if he didn't format his HD correctly.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Quoting op here
"I use (tried Ubuntu from DVD, Ubuntu from pendrive, Fedora from DVD, Ubuntu from pendrive), they show a splashscreen, start loading and at some point the screen turns gray with some weird symbols and it crashes. Nothing happens anymore and monitor shows "No signal from video card"

he is getting no signal while booting DVD, not an MBR issue.
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.36/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Quoting op here
"I use (tried Ubuntu from DVD, Ubuntu from pendrive, Fedora from DVD, Ubuntu from pendrive), they show a splashscreen, start loading and at some point the screen turns gray with some weird symbols and it crashes. Nothing happens anymore and monitor shows "No signal from video card"

he is getting no signal while booting DVD, not an MBR issue.



 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
lol thats awesome
 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.52/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
^ Yeah. As seen on Reddit--"My response when asked if I smoke a lot of weed". :D

Anyway, Yes the ATI drivers do kinda blow but it should be able to get to the desktop. I have tried a LiveCD fairly recently without issue, think on my old 5850. Anyway apparently there is a "Safe Graphics" option if you hit F4.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1149881
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
By default, it it will not load a proprietary. maybe the opensource radeon driver. But not fglrx, fglrx is actually quiet good now, from my experience. I couldnt remember if ubuntu had a way for "safe graphics" switched to opensuse and havent looked back.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,334 (0.78/day)
System Name Dark Stealth
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450M Gaming
Cooling Snowman dual fan
Memory 16x2 DDR4 Corsair Dominator Pro
Video Card(s) RX 580 4GB
Storage 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) Omen 25"
Case Zalman S2
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Razer DeathAdder v1.0
Keyboard Logitech EX100
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
LOL
Without even reading your post i thought it was the video card :)
Have you tried installing MS-Dos?
Is the card not putted well in the pci-exp slot?
Did you flash it to 6970?
Have you tried a safe mode?
 

power_overwhelming

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
I ran the alternate installer. It was going nicely. It failed on software installation, but still continued. It rebooted, and still fails in same way when trying to launch for the first time. What's even stranger, recovery mode doesn't work either ;]

I guess this is some kind of a weird hardware incompatibility. I'll try to replace the RAM tomorrow with a spare one and try again.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
its still the video card, now you need knoppix or something in order to be able to access that hdd so you can edit the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf so you can tell it to use a different video driver, vesa for instance.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,334 (0.78/day)
System Name Dark Stealth
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450M Gaming
Cooling Snowman dual fan
Memory 16x2 DDR4 Corsair Dominator Pro
Video Card(s) RX 580 4GB
Storage 1TB SSD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) Omen 25"
Case Zalman S2
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Razer DeathAdder v1.0
Keyboard Logitech EX100
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
If it is the ram, it shows the blue screen
 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.52/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
By default, it it will not load a proprietary. maybe the opensource radeon driver. But not fglrx, fglrx is actually quiet good now, from my experience. I couldnt remember if ubuntu had a way for "safe graphics" switched to opensuse and havent looked back.

I think you want to try to load VESA drivers? Look at that thread if you haven't seemed to have some helpful info.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.03/day)
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,681 (3.34/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Now the interesting part. I press the reset button and it doesn't start at all, BIOS is beeping 2-3 short beeps (hard to tell if it's 2 or 3), then 8 short, then after some delay another short one. Resetting again doesn't help. I have to turn off the PC, then turn it on again.

You have a hardware issue guaranteed, because your PC goes weird after a reset and while it's still controlled by the BIOS as you explained above. Nothing else is relevant. I dunno why people are going on about software issues, which will simply lead you round in circles. :rolleyes: Sorry, but this is just too lame to let it go. The experienced people on here should know this. :shadedshu

From the sound of it, it's likely to be RAM issues of some sort, although it could honestly be any part of the system. Even though the PC runs memtest OK does not guarantee that the memory is working properly. I recently had an old AMD socket 939 mobo play up when 4GB RAM was fitted to it. It ran memtest just fine, but Windows would lock up within a minute or so of starting, every time. After much troubleshooting and swearing in frustration at it, turned out to be a buggy BIOS that needed all the RAM timing values set manually. Due to it's age and brand (defunct Abit) there's no possibility of a BIOS update.

In your case, you need to start separating parts as much as possible and unfortunately, there's no quick silver bullet to troubleshooting this one. Before you do all that though, resetting the CMOS completely is a recommended starting point. Do this by removing the battery and clearing it with the jumper, then loading the safe defaults and see how that goes.

When that doesn't work, you need to start removing a stick of RAM and see how it goes. Move that stick to another slot and test again, then use the other stick if it's still bad.

The list of troubleshooting possibilities goes on and on, so I can't list everything here, unfortunately.

Oh and of course, make sure that you take out any overclock while troubleshooting. ;)

Be aware that a dodgy PSU can also cause this, though you do have a good brand, so it's unlikely to be that.
 
Last edited:
Top