1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can you guys tell me this info?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Slater, Aug 30, 2006.

  1. Slater Guest

    I have a 3700+ san diego custom built gaming rig (I was pulling your guys legs with my video card post :)).

    It's a socket 939

    Right now I have it at 2.8Ghz on it's stock cooler @ 40c idle.

    Ram is 3-5-5-9 @ stock voltages & ddr-333 divider.

    I have my proccie @ 1.4volts right now

    What's the max volts I can put thru my processor and what's the max temp I should allow?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Slater Guest

    wait it's 34c idle and where can I get that Pi test (not SuperPi) that will check stability?

    EDIT:Oh heres a screenshot
    [​IMG]

    EDIT2: OOps it's not a Pi test but rather a Prime test
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,196 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,359
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    2.8 @ 40c idle should = 3ghz++ w/ 1.55 and 40 load.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Slater Guest

    Yeah but should I go that high (on the volts?)

    EDIT: And what's the max volts should I put through my RAM? It's ddr and the standard speed so shouldn't that be like pc-2800 or something like that? It's ddr-400 but I don't know the PC rating...

    EDIT2: I tightened back up my timings to 3-4-4-8 but it won't run on a DDR-400 Divider (I think that's 1:1)

    EDIT3: RAM is at 1T command rate, dual channel, and @ 2.6Volts currently

    EDIT4: I'm pretty sure my CPU is a KACAE stepping
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Slater Guest

    [​IMG]
    Cheah, the RAM divider is killing me though
    I think I need new ram :p
    I'm going to tighten up the timings a little more and see what I can do

    REMEMBER I'M ON THE STOCK COOLER
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,380 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yes the RAM divider is not helping but you can still get a good overclock. Most Sandy's and Venice cores are advised to not go above 1.6V max but there is some risk involved there. I personally would not/do not go above 1.55V and that should be safe but would not advise it on stock cooling! The MAx operating temps are 69-71C and that should never be prolonged use or you will at the least shorten the life of the CPU at at worst fry it, I do not personally like mine even to hit 50C at full load for gaming etc.

    On average, on stock volts, every 100Mhz you go up you will add roughly 3-4C at idle and around 6-7C at full load, add 0.1V to that 100Mhz ie 1.4-1.5V and you can double, near triple those temp rises especially the higher up you get, thats of course only a basic rule of thumb and Sandy's are well know for being good with the heat but be careful, anythin over 40C at idle is going to be well into the 50's in a gaming session. My opinions only of course.

    Edit: sorry forgot the memory bit, now memory voltage thresholds really can vary, unless you have really good quality RAM I would not go more than .2 or at the worst if you wanna risk it .3V above stock. Good quality memory can take much more but with the likes of "Value Ram" it really can be a risky business pushing too hard.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,380 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    DDR400=PC3200, what make is it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,715 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,907
    Location:
    Houston
    tattys right w/ the 40C idle and 50C load stuff i know thats what mine hits w/ my stock cooler but since i have a s754 i can hit 1.7v no issues :) good luck w/ the s939 they dont like v as much though mine didnt really heat up as much maybe 55C unde load no matter if the core was @2.4ghz or 2.5ghz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Slater Guest

    My board is only letting me get up to 1.5volts =( and I can post @ 3Ghz with that but it doesnt let me boot in to windows.. great now I need a new board =(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,715 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,907
    Location:
    Houston
    you dont need a new board you can vmod it but you do need new cooling it would be more worth while than the board
    PS loosening the ram timings may let you get to windows w/ that clock on the ram 430mhz may be pushing it @ those timings
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Slater Guest

    I tried lowering the RAM ratio instead of loosening the timings... still wouldn't load up windows... I also tried changing the HTT multi (the one thats like 4x) to 3x and it did nothing either... The board can't handle the volts... I chose 1.5volts in the BIOS but I'm getting 1.55 in windows so that's nice :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,715 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,907
    Location:
    Houston
    same thing mine does cept mine does more 1.550vin bios 1.768v in windows nice trick right
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Slater Guest

    Man I love how fast this is now... alot faster than how it was before :) what % OC do I have?
    its 2929.33Mhz :D
    out of the original 2.2
    Whats that around like 30% or so?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,715 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,907
    Location:
    Houston
    use central brain id it has a nice window that sais :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Slater Guest

    I think my RAM died =/
    Oh well
    I need new RAM anyway
    It may not be dead
    afterall it's working right now xD
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    You have a nice processor dude. 3ghz would be obtainable on 1.6v but probably not stable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Slater Guest

    Thanks, yeah I know, especially since I'm using the stock cooler
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Remember that these are idle temps. When you launch games or benchmarks, it will get overshadowed by temps shooting upwards of 50 to 55°c. Unless you put a nice copper HSF, you may be a little better with LOAD temps of 45-48°c.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Slater Guest

    Yeah, tell me about it =(
    I'm thinking about modding my old watercooling bracket so I can use the watercooling with my San Diego... man that watercooling would keep my Prescott in it's place ~ 21cidle in a 17c enviorment.... load was in the low 30's... if I remember correctly.... =/ I'm probably wrong though... my memory is shot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,589 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    what u have it right now is nice for every day use.. what u run it at for benching is up to u.. mine ran at 2.8 gig 1.45 core at 65c under full load for every day use.. the only thing that got it up ther was 3dmark 2005.. but general games got it over 60c.. zalman 9500 air cooler.. its been running since last november like this no problems.. it maxed out at about 2.95 gig no matter what voltage i put thru it..

    just replaced it with a cheapo 4000+ this maxes out about 3.25 gig.. runs all day at 3.2 gig at 1.425 volts.. for every day use i run it at 3 gig at 1.375 volts..

    the later 4000 is a much better chip.. i have a simple theory about real stability.. for every day use run a couple of hundred mhz below its max-out speed.. for benching run it as fast as it will go..

    old 3700.. max 2.95.. daily use 2.8 gig..

    new 4000.. max about 3.25.. daily use 3 gig

    my idea of maxed out stable is being able to run 2005 and super pi without crashing or errors.. my idea of every day stable is no problems at all over several months usage.. he he

    it works for me.. and i dont have to worry if its stable.. i know it is..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Slater Guest

    One of them are mushkin Greenline and the other is I forget :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,380 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK

    So they are not running in dual mode???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Slater Guest

    no it's running in Dual channel... I don't know why I guess I'm just lucky :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,715 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,907
    Location:
    Houston
    a lot of unmatched ram sticks can run dual channel it just depends if the board wants to run it in that mode i have some unmatched diff brand ramin my pentium d that runs in dual channel and the are 2 completly diff sticks one is centon one is ulra the 2 dont even use the same modules (centon vs samsung)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,380 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I know but a lot don't ...thats why I asked.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)