• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can you guys tell me this info?

S

Slater

Guest
#1
I have a 3700+ san diego custom built gaming rig (I was pulling your guys legs with my video card post :)).

It's a socket 939

Right now I have it at 2.8Ghz on it's stock cooler @ 40c idle.

Ram is 3-5-5-9 @ stock voltages & ddr-333 divider.

I have my proccie @ 1.4volts right now

What's the max volts I can put thru my processor and what's the max temp I should allow?
 
S

Slater

Guest
#2
wait it's 34c idle and where can I get that Pi test (not SuperPi) that will check stability?

EDIT:Oh heres a screenshot


EDIT2: OOps it's not a Pi test but rather a Prime test
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
2.8 @ 40c idle should = 3ghz++ w/ 1.55 and 40 load.
 
S

Slater

Guest
#4
Yeah but should I go that high (on the volts?)

EDIT: And what's the max volts should I put through my RAM? It's ddr and the standard speed so shouldn't that be like pc-2800 or something like that? It's ddr-400 but I don't know the PC rating...

EDIT2: I tightened back up my timings to 3-4-4-8 but it won't run on a DDR-400 Divider (I think that's 1:1)

EDIT3: RAM is at 1T command rate, dual channel, and @ 2.6Volts currently

EDIT4: I'm pretty sure my CPU is a KACAE stepping
 
Last edited by a moderator:
S

Slater

Guest
#5

Cheah, the RAM divider is killing me though
I think I need new ram :p
I'm going to tighten up the timings a little more and see what I can do

REMEMBER I'M ON THE STOCK COOLER
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,018
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#6
Yes the RAM divider is not helping but you can still get a good overclock. Most Sandy's and Venice cores are advised to not go above 1.6V max but there is some risk involved there. I personally would not/do not go above 1.55V and that should be safe but would not advise it on stock cooling! The MAx operating temps are 69-71C and that should never be prolonged use or you will at the least shorten the life of the CPU at at worst fry it, I do not personally like mine even to hit 50C at full load for gaming etc.

On average, on stock volts, every 100Mhz you go up you will add roughly 3-4C at idle and around 6-7C at full load, add 0.1V to that 100Mhz ie 1.4-1.5V and you can double, near triple those temp rises especially the higher up you get, thats of course only a basic rule of thumb and Sandy's are well know for being good with the heat but be careful, anythin over 40C at idle is going to be well into the 50's in a gaming session. My opinions only of course.

Edit: sorry forgot the memory bit, now memory voltage thresholds really can vary, unless you have really good quality RAM I would not go more than .2 or at the worst if you wanna risk it .3V above stock. Good quality memory can take much more but with the likes of "Value Ram" it really can be a risky business pushing too hard.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,018
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#7
DDR400=PC3200, what make is it?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#8
tattys right w/ the 40C idle and 50C load stuff i know thats what mine hits w/ my stock cooler but since i have a s754 i can hit 1.7v no issues :) good luck w/ the s939 they dont like v as much though mine didnt really heat up as much maybe 55C unde load no matter if the core was @2.4ghz or 2.5ghz
 
S

Slater

Guest
#9
My board is only letting me get up to 1.5volts =( and I can post @ 3Ghz with that but it doesnt let me boot in to windows.. great now I need a new board =(
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#10
you dont need a new board you can vmod it but you do need new cooling it would be more worth while than the board
PS loosening the ram timings may let you get to windows w/ that clock on the ram 430mhz may be pushing it @ those timings
 
S

Slater

Guest
#11
I tried lowering the RAM ratio instead of loosening the timings... still wouldn't load up windows... I also tried changing the HTT multi (the one thats like 4x) to 3x and it did nothing either... The board can't handle the volts... I chose 1.5volts in the BIOS but I'm getting 1.55 in windows so that's nice :)
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#12
same thing mine does cept mine does more 1.550vin bios 1.768v in windows nice trick right
 
S

Slater

Guest
#13
Man I love how fast this is now... alot faster than how it was before :) what % OC do I have?
its 2929.33Mhz :D
out of the original 2.2
Whats that around like 30% or so?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#14
use central brain id it has a nice window that sais :D
 
S

Slater

Guest
#15
I think my RAM died =/
Oh well
I need new RAM anyway
It may not be dead
afterall it's working right now xD
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#16
I think my RAM died =/
Oh well
I need new RAM anyway
It may not be dead
afterall it's working right now xD
You have a nice processor dude. 3ghz would be obtainable on 1.6v but probably not stable.
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#18
Thanks, yeah I know, especially since I'm using the stock cooler
Remember that these are idle temps. When you launch games or benchmarks, it will get overshadowed by temps shooting upwards of 50 to 55°c. Unless you put a nice copper HSF, you may be a little better with LOAD temps of 45-48°c.
 
S

Slater

Guest
#19
Yeah, tell me about it =(
I'm thinking about modding my old watercooling bracket so I can use the watercooling with my San Diego... man that watercooling would keep my Prescott in it's place ~ 21cidle in a 17c enviorment.... load was in the low 30's... if I remember correctly.... =/ I'm probably wrong though... my memory is shot
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,943 (1.36/day)
Likes
826
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#20
what u have it right now is nice for every day use.. what u run it at for benching is up to u.. mine ran at 2.8 gig 1.45 core at 65c under full load for every day use.. the only thing that got it up ther was 3dmark 2005.. but general games got it over 60c.. zalman 9500 air cooler.. its been running since last november like this no problems.. it maxed out at about 2.95 gig no matter what voltage i put thru it..

just replaced it with a cheapo 4000+ this maxes out about 3.25 gig.. runs all day at 3.2 gig at 1.425 volts.. for every day use i run it at 3 gig at 1.375 volts..

the later 4000 is a much better chip.. i have a simple theory about real stability.. for every day use run a couple of hundred mhz below its max-out speed.. for benching run it as fast as it will go..

old 3700.. max 2.95.. daily use 2.8 gig..

new 4000.. max about 3.25.. daily use 3 gig

my idea of maxed out stable is being able to run 2005 and super pi without crashing or errors.. my idea of every day stable is no problems at all over several months usage.. he he

it works for me.. and i dont have to worry if its stable.. i know it is..

trog
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,018
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#24
a lot of unmatched ram sticks can run dual channel it just depends if the board wants to run it in that mode i have some unmatched diff brand ramin my pentium d that runs in dual channel and the are 2 completly diff sticks one is centon one is ulra the 2 dont even use the same modules (centon vs samsung)
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,018
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#25
I know but a lot don't ...thats why I asked.