• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cannot boot, POST, or get into BIOS after flashing... did I brick it?

mkuo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all,
Thank you for taking the time to read my problem. I will keep it as clear and concise as possible :)

System:
Asus P5NT-Deluxe
E8400 3.0GHz
EVGA 8800 GTS
2Gb RAM
USB keyboard/mouse

Problem:
Wanted to reformat and reinstall Win7 Pro x86. Could not boot with installation disc (disc itself does work) due to a "awdflash.exe not found" message. Some solutions online suggested BIOS flashing. It just so happens I do have the BIOS flash tool disc that came with the mobo. So I proceeded with that and the flash was successful (as indicated by the message at the end of flashing). Monitor was then turned off ("No Signal") and PC just hung there for about 15 min. I was a little nervous so I restarted.

Now the PC hangs at the very beginning of the pre-booting sequence, where all the fans rev up at high speed and do not slow down normally, monitor remains "off", no mobo welcome screen and no POST.

Actions taken:
-Tried to reset CMOS (battery out, jumper positions etc) for a few min with the system unplugged.
-Started up with RAM, HD, and video card removed.
-Googled for time machine so I could go back in time and kick myself.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Even if your opinion would pronounce the death of my mobo.

Thanks in advance!

Mike
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#2
On the CPU support list the E8400

Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00GHz,1333FSB,L2:6MB,65W,rev.E0) 1.02G
1106
Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00GHz,1333FSB,L2:6MB,rev.C0) 1.02G
0502

Check PCB number ( 1.02G ) first and bios number on the cd to rule out thet bios may not support your CPU.
Then (if supported)
take out CMOS for one day, take out CPU to.
Then report back .
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
I dont get why windows installation would want awdflash?
When you flashed the bios did you use the newest from the internet or the one on the CD?
LGV could be right that the rom on the CD does not support your CPU.
If it is so buy a cheap celeron that your mobo supports flash the newest bios and put your E8400 in.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#4
Well i think i know why does windows installation want awdflash, I also faced this problem with my W7 ultimate cd all you had to do is go into the bios options and select CD-DVD Rom as the first boot device and all will go buttery smooth :D And for your Cannot boot question i don't know what is the problem, All i can say is follow LGV's instructions, I also agree with LGV that the bios might not supported by the CPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#5
Short answer Sounds as if it's bricked
 

mkuo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Thank you all for the prompt replies and ideas!

On the CPU support list the E8400

Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00GHz,1333FSB,L2:6MB,65W,rev.E0) 1.02G
1106
Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00GHz,1333FSB,L2:6MB,rev.C0) 1.02G
0502

Check PCB number ( 1.02G ) first and bios number on the cd to rule out thet bios may not support your CPU.
Then (if supported)
take out CMOS for one day, take out CPU to.
Then report back .
Will do with the battery!
I hope this answers what you are asking:

Read this on my mobo [REV. 1.02G]
On the CD surface [REV.354.03]

Good god. Does this mean it's not compatible?

I dont get why windows installation would want awdflash?
When you flashed the bios did you use the newest from the internet or the one on the CD?
LGV could be right that the rom on the CD does not support your CPU.
If it is so buy a cheap celeron that your mobo supports flash the newest bios and put your E8400 in.
Actually I've never flashed this one so I presumed the BIOS is the same version as the flash CD that it came with. Yes it is foolish of me not to check first.

Well i think i know why does windows installation want awdflash, I also faced this problem with my W7 ultimate cd all you had to do is go into the bios options and select CD-DVD Rom as the first boot device and all will go buttery smooth :D And for your Cannot boot question i don't know what is the problem, All i can say is follow LGV's instructions, I also agree with LGV that the bios might not supported by the CPU.
Ahh yes I've came across that solution as well. But I did change the boot priority to CD-ROM first.
1st = CD-ROM
2nd = HD
3rd = CD-ROM
4th = Removable drive

Short answer Sounds as if it's bricked
Well... one vote on it being bricked... :toast:
 
Last edited:

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#7
On the CD surface [REV.354.03]
please open the CD , then find bios file manually there.

"Actually I've never flashed this one so I presumed the BIOS is the same version as the flash CD that it came with."

sometime not. Example, some seller update it in the shop before they sell it.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#8
That is why i have never tryed to flash my bios, but i did flashed a DG31PR i say you must download then BIOS from Intel's site or the site of the manufacter
 

mkuo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
please open the CD , then find bios file manually there.

"Actually I've never flashed this one so I presumed the BIOS is the same version as the flash CD that it came with."

sometime not. Example, some seller update it in the shop before they sell it.
Hmm I'm not too sure if this is what you are looking for, but here:

BIOS version is 1402. It was upgraded from 1303.
 

LGV

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
260 (0.10/day)
Likes
64
System Name outdated
Processor AM2 6400+ X2 black @stock
Motherboard MSI K9N SLI @ HOT (very, 65+)
Cooling air
Memory 4x2GB OCZ @stock
Video Card(s) 260 gtx
Storage Hitachi 650 / ssd corsair force 3//120
Display(s) 26''
Case Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX2/ Z5500 X2 :)
Power Supply Mushkin 1000W
Software Win7/64
#10
Thets fine , your CPU supported with thet bios.

try this:
1.unconnect it from the wall plug.
2. push the start button on your case ( this deploy all electricity from all system)
3. Take out battery for minimum of 24 hour.

if still no boot
try this:
1. Take everything out ( unpug all hardware )
2. take out CPU, memory too
3. clear cmos again
4. put back the CPU and only one mem stick ( NO HDD!)
ofc GPU and power suply too BUT NO HDD!
5. try boot.

If still no boot
try this ( may better expert do this, better)
1. Make boot CD with the bios flash
2. " blind" flash it ( without screen, step by stwp, tipe everything, only not able to see )

If still no go
Take it to expert, and ask hem to change the BIOS chip for you.
May some member here would do thet for you.
( the "boss " wizzard did this before for people, with some GPU cards b4. )

Still no go...
yes, bricked, buy new MB

Thets what I would do , this order ( just myself) THEN buy new MB only.
Im very stubborn about bin nice hardware .

Good luck
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#11
that MB has a socketed bios chip [pic] ...you could remove it and have it reprogramed, if you can get access to a programer OR you could order a new chip from E-bay
IF your are feeling lucky you could see if ASUS support will send you a new chip

I remembered that some of those MB's suffered from 'socket creep' mabe try pushing down on the chip to make sure it's seated all the way
 

Attachments

Last edited:

mkuo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Thets fine , your CPU supported with thet bios.

try this:
1.unconnect it from the wall plug.
2. push the start button on your case ( this deploy all electricity from all system)
3. Take out battery for minimum of 24 hour.

if still no boot
try this:
1. Take everything out ( unpug all hardware )
2. take out CPU, memory too
3. clear cmos again
4. put back the CPU and only one mem stick ( NO HDD!)
ofc GPU and power suply too BUT NO HDD!
5. try boot.

If still no boot
try this ( may better expert do this, better)
1. Make boot CD with the bios flash
2. " blind" flash it ( without screen, step by stwp, tipe everything, only not able to see )

If still no go
Take it to expert, and ask hem to change the BIOS chip for you.
May some member here would do thet for you.
( the "boss " wizzard did this before for people, with some GPU cards b4. )

Still no go...
yes, bricked, buy new MB

Thets what I would do , this order ( just myself) THEN buy new MB only.
Im very stubborn about bin nice hardware .

Good luck
that MB has a socketed bios chip [pic] ...you could remove it and have it reprogramed, if you can get access to a programer OR you could order a new chip from E-bay
IF your are feeling lucky you could see if ASUS support will send you a new chip

I remembered that some of those MB's suffered from 'socket creep' mabe try pushing down on the chip to make sure it's seated all the way
Thanks for all of your help!

Reporting back:
Turned on PC after 24 hrs without the battery, with 1 stick RAM and HDD removed unfortunately did not help. The boot still hangs at the very initial stage and nothing on the monitor, fans in high revs.

I think I will go ahead and order a new BIOS chip since, as LGV kindly advised and Frogger keenly pointed out, it is socket instead of welded down.

Really appreciate you all for taking the time to help out. Cheers go to LGV :rockout:
I learned quite a few things from this experience lol