• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cannot get my PC to detect Nvidia Graphics Card Tried Everything!

Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#1
I just upgraded to Vista SP2 from no service pack and now my PC cannot detect my graphics card. It said it cannot detect any when I upgraded to SP1 so I uninstalled nvidia drivers and upgraded to SP2 and tried to reinstall but can't even install them now. I have really tried quite everything :banghead: I even followed all steps perfectly from
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502 Didn't work
Please Help Me!

My System Specs are

Operating System – server roles
Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)

System Model
MAXTONE 945GC(HIS) 3.0
System Serial Number: 1131
Enclosure Type: Desktop

Main Circuit Board
Board: MAXTONE 945GC(HIS) 3.0
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 080012 05/05/2008

Processor
2.20 gigahertz Intel Pentium Dual
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (2 total)
Not hyper-threaded

Drives– drive encryption
250.05 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
87.21 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
MOSER BAER DH-22A8S ATA Device [Optical drive]
WDC WD2500AAJS-07M0A0 [Hard drive] (250.06 GB) -- drive 0, s/n WD-WMAV26631916, rev 01.03E01, SMART Status: Healthy

Memory Modules
3584 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Slot 'DIMM0' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum00)
Slot 'DIMM1' is Empty
Slot 'DIMM2' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum02)
Slot 'DIMM3' is Empty

Controllers
IDE Channel [Controller] (3x)
Intel(R) ICH7 Family Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0
NVIDIA MCP61 Serial ATA Controller
NVIDIA nForce 430/410 Serial ATA Controller
NVIDIA nForce 590/570/550 Serial ATA Controller (2x)
NVIDIA nForce4 Serial ATA Controller

Display
None discovered

Bus Adapters
Microsoft iSCSI Initiator
NVIDIA nForce 590/570/550 Serial ATA Controller
NVIDIA nForce RAID Controller
NVIDIA nForce RAID Device
NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
NVIDIA nForce(tm) RAID Class Controller
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC

Multimedia
High Definition Audio Device
WsAudio_DeviceS(1)
WsAudio_DeviceS(2)
WsAudio_DeviceS(3)
WsAudio_DeviceS(4)
WsAudio_DeviceS(5)

Communications new – connection speed & status
6TO4 Adapter
Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
↑ Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller

Other Devices
Standard PS/2 Keyboard
Microsoft PS/2 Mouse
USB Easy Transfer Cable
USB Root Hub (5x)

Pics of my Device Manager and Nvidia Installer

 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#2
I dont even have any Display Devices on my Device Manager. I had the same problem before and had installed Install_Vista_6250_11182011. The Nvidia drivers could install after that but I couldn't enter the settings because it could not detect any graphics card. It showed Display devices at that time and also showed my graphics card GTS 450 below it but with an exclamation. I have tried scan for hardware numerous times, tried searching for hardware updates but all are up to date. Right now when I double click on Nvidia in my Device manager, it says
"This device cannot start. (Code 10)
Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available." for all.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#3
From what i see your computer needs a full reinstall. Threre are two kinds of chipset drivers intalled as your chipset can't be intel 945+ich7 and nvidia nforce5xx at the same time. There is something wrong with windows thus a reinstall will probably solve your issues.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#4
Can't I do something from the BIOS? Please I just do not want to reinstall windows right now.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#5
Windows itself suggested me the Install_Vista_6250_11182011 drivers so I guess its okay to install them and then I'll install the nvidia drivers and see what I can do from the BIOS

Installed 'Install_Vista_6250_11182011' then ran windows update. It installed some Nvidia RAID but now I'm not even able to install the nvidia drivers Great! Windows update really F***** my computer
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#6
Shut down, opened cabinet, disconnected graphics card, plugged the monitor to mobo, rebooted, uninstalled all Nvidia from device manager, restarted, shutdown, connected graphics card, rebooted, (nothing on the screen), shutdown, plugged in the monitor to graphics card, rebooted, tried to install, still the same problem!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
has the video card ever worked in this machine?


also, zsolt is right - you've listed specs for multiple machines at once, which cannot be correct. we cant help you without accurate information.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#8
Yes it was completely working with the latest drivers before I installed SP1. Believe me the info is correct and taken at the same time by Belarc advisor at which I snapped those pics (I cut out the name of my PC). However I have uninstalled all the nvidia drivers from the Device manager. Right now I tried to install previous drivers but still the same
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
Yes it was completely working with the latest drivers before I installed SP1. Believe me the info is correct and taken at the same time by Belarc advisor at which I snapped those pics (I cut out the name of my PC). However I have uninstalled all the nvidia drivers from the Device manager. Right now I tried to install previous drivers but still the same
you're telling me you have 6 northbridge chipsets/SATA controllers?


Controllers
IDE Channel [Controller] (3x)
Intel(R) ICH7 Family Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0
NVIDIA MCP61 Serial ATA Controller
NVIDIA nForce 430/410 Serial ATA Controller
NVIDIA nForce 590/570/550 Serial ATA Controller (2x)
NVIDIA nForce4 Serial ATA Controller

there is simply no way this information is correct. it looks like you've grabbed an operating system from another PC and tried to use it on your current one, and its all gone to hell.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#10
No please trust me. Those drivers were installed by mistake during windows update. I had never even seen those before in there. And as I wrote above whenever I clicked them, I got the message
"This device cannot start. (Code 10)
Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available."
So they never even installed properly I guess and it was probably a mistake by windows to download and install those updates. But they are uninstalled and gone now. If you need, I can run a belarc test right now and post the results and even post current pics of my device manager.
I even clicked to find a solution online but it just searched for updated drivers and told me that mine were up to date.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#11
Rewrite windows
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
No please trust me. Those drivers were installed by mistake during windows update. I had never even seen those before in there. And as I wrote above whenever I clicked them, I got the message
"This device cannot start. (Code 10)
Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available."
So they never even installed properly I guess and it was probably a mistake by windows to download and install those updates. But they are uninstalled and gone now. If you need, I can run a belarc test right now and post the results and even post current pics of my device manager.
I even clicked to find a solution online but it just searched for updated drivers and told me that mine were up to date.
the very fact that they're showing up in the device manager means something is really wrong, you're not understanding.


*drivers* do not show up in device manager. detected hardware does. windows update and driver installers will not make this happen. somehow, your windows install is really, really screwed.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
44 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#13
Yeah I guess i understand now. Some wrong software messed things up. It is working on inbuilt video adaptors right now. I have some work pending so as soon I finish it, I will install Windows 7 though I didn't like it last time(not performance, the interface) but windows 8 is too far away so will have to do with 7. Anyway thanks a lot for helping me or I would've spent so much more time trying to make it work.