• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot get to BIOS after failed overclock

henry snider

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
So I had been running my i5 2500k at 4.4 GHz at 1.35V for a week or so. Yesterday I tried to push it to 4.5GHz at 1.4V. It worked for a few minutes, then computer froze so I turned it off and turned it on, expecting to go back into BIOS and change the settings back.

Except now it won't even boot to BIOS. It turns on, fans spin, nothing happens. Resets itself eventually. I've tried using the CMOS jump, didn't work. I've tried taking out the mobo battery for 5 minutes. Didn't work. I tried Taking out the battery and doing the CMOS jump at the same time. Didn't work. I tried doing that with the video card out. Still didn't work. Also tried re-seating RAM. Tried leaving out mobo battery overnight.

Specs:
i5-2500k
Asus P8Z68-v LX
GTX 550 Ti
8 GB Crucial DDR3 Ram
500GB WD Green HDD

Did I just completely ruin my computer? Or is there something I can do here... boy this sucks.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,872 (2.00/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
You may have fried your CPU, try it with another CPU if you have one
 

henry snider

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
I don't. I guess I need to buy a new motherboard and CPU. Funny, thought I was going to be able to spend my money on a new graphics card. I guess now I just get to replace faulty parts.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,656 (0.91/day)
Location
Washington, US
System Name Rainbow
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC
Cooling Corsair H115i, 2x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM
Memory G. Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 1060 6GB
Storage 2x Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST Deskstar 4TB 7.2K
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Xigmatek Aquila
Power Supply Seasonic 760W SS-760XP
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4 trillion points in GmailMark, over 144 FPS 2K Facebook Scrolling (Extreme Quality preset)
I think it'd be worth finding a cheap CPU to pop in there just to see if the motherboard is good. Could put out a [WTB] thread over in the Buy/Sell/Trade section. Someone might have a used Pentium or something. If not there, then perhaps eBay. Just hate to throw out a possibly good motherboard (or perhaps a dead motherboard and a good CPU).

Edit: My old Phenom X2/X6 system refused to boot for about a week when I first got it. I left it unplugged and, to my surprise, it fired up no problem about a week later. Running strong since.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,971 (0.92/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 10 64-bit Core i7 6700
Processor Intel Core i7 6700
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Corsair AIO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Kingston DDR4 2666
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
That mobo doesn't have VRM for such overvoltage.
 

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,431 (3.32/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name GPU and more SSD for 2021
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 4.8GHz 1.28v
Motherboard MSi Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360 & 6x Corsair LL120s - Hardline tubing
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 32GB 3200 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) RTX3080(Ti) or Radeon 6800XT -> EK Waterblock
Storage 2 1TB NVME SSDs
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 1440p Freesync 2 (G-Sync) HDR 165Hz | 2x Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D
Audio Device(s) Realtek 1220 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
That mobo doesn't have VRM for such overvoltage.
Its got the VRM, but it doesnt have any cooling for them.

EDIT: except i wouldnt touch 1.4v on that board s you were saying "for such overvoltage"
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.36/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Yeah, something is fried, unfortunately. That's the risk one takes with overclocking.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,656 (0.91/day)
Location
Washington, US
System Name Rainbow
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC
Cooling Corsair H115i, 2x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM
Memory G. Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 1060 6GB
Storage 2x Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST Deskstar 4TB 7.2K
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Xigmatek Aquila
Power Supply Seasonic 760W SS-760XP
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4 trillion points in GmailMark, over 144 FPS 2K Facebook Scrolling (Extreme Quality preset)
OP, any magic smoke come out during any of these overclocking adventures?
 

henry snider

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
no, nothing out of the ordinary other than computer freezing. I was told by a guy I know at a PC shop that I should flush the bios with USB drive but I can't find the bios to put on the drive.

Edit: Found the bios, about to try this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: xvi

henry snider

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Nope, didn't work. Friend from the PC shop looked at it, seems to think mobo and cpu are fried. goody.
 

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,431 (3.32/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name GPU and more SSD for 2021
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 4.8GHz 1.28v
Motherboard MSi Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360 & 6x Corsair LL120s - Hardline tubing
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 32GB 3200 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) RTX3080(Ti) or Radeon 6800XT -> EK Waterblock
Storage 2 1TB NVME SSDs
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 1440p Freesync 2 (G-Sync) HDR 165Hz | 2x Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D
Audio Device(s) Realtek 1220 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
This is why you overclock only when you really are comfortable and know what you are doing.

#1 thing is knowing your hardware's capabilities.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,012 (4.77/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Maybe it was the straw that broke the camel's back... It is an intel, not AMD, has enough phases, but they are not heatsinked. That said, if it didnt happen when stressing it, I doubt its the VRMs that crapped out. it cna handle the voltage just sitting there.. but prolonged use........ heh...

can you get the shop to drop in another CPU?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.36/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Overclocking is dangerous and one should always be prepared for component failure. That's part of the thrill and the risk of doing it.

I confess that my PC was heading for failure due to a careless overclock by me, but I rescued it in time. I've got a 2700K that can actually hit 5.5GHz (when it was new at least and damned fast) but obviously required liquid cooling to keep temperatures under control. I then settled on an easy 4.7GHz air cooled. My mistake? I forgot to double check the voltage. I'd left it set to Auto in the BIOS and forgot to come back to it.

A few months later the PC began to be very unstable, blue screening a good once a day or even more. I finally realized to check the voltage and saw that the stupid BIOS had set it rather high, so it was slowly killing the CPU. Since then I've run it at stock clocks at the stock voltage and it runs fine.

I've been meaning to try overclocking it again, this time paying attention to the voltage, but have never got around to it. Part of that reason is that I wanted my CPU to last as I knew an upgrade wasn't gonna happen anytime soon with Intel's incremental performance jumps each generation.

So there you have it, even someone experienced with PCs can screw up sometimes so don't beat yourself up about it.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,666 (1.94/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
To be clear, its not the overclock, its the increase in voltage, and thus the extra heat generated and lost in the voltage generation and regulation hardware, and or the CPU. The unfortunate part is that if either the CPU or voltage regulation fail during this it usually kills both due to capacitive or a shorting condition.

The last CPU I killed like this was an Athlon A series I think, but I have seen a lot of CPU's killed and take the board with them when we had crappy caps, and people put their much hotter computer into a tiny desk oven and closed the door.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,005 (4.22/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
well, thats what happens when you buy a dirt cheap motherboard. I wouldnt of even considered overclocking on that thing. Sure it might have the feature in the bios but pushing a board like that is definitely a no go.

higher quality components with better durability that can stand overclocking cost money

If youre serious about overclocking try investing money into the 'pro' version of that motherboard. I had the exact same board and CPU and I was running my 2500k at 4.9Ghz in a matter of hours easy peasy lemon squeezy.


Hopefully you've learned your lesson.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
748 (0.28/day)
Location
Oceania
LX...is that the one with 4 phase vrm?

Fyiw I know another guy who had the same board same cpu overclocked it and fried the vrms.....
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,983 (2.05/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
its pretty hard to kill a cpu that quick 1.4V while being pretty dam high for a mear 4.5 should't have been enough to cause instant-death
what I think is going on here is that either the board or psu is done or the bios is corrupt known to happen with high overclock's on z68 boards ...
I would pull the cpu inspect the socket for badness and re-seat it and try it again
else I would definitely take the cpu to a shop or something and have it post tested before buying anything
and there is nothing wrong with the op's choice of board its more then adequate for a 4.4Ghz overclock
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,388 (1.02/day)
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-8700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme & ASUS Prime Z-370 A
Cooling Corsair 280mm AIO & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3466 GEIL Potenza
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070Ti 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
The CPU is probably still good. Find a board that will use it and install it. It will probably work.

Where are you located?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,247 (3.12/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
I had an older laptop that a friend fuck ed up with some 3rd party bios lock software,so long story short I had to locate the bios chip,or eeecm,or something chip that held a small charge,and I had to jump it by contacting two of its pins, maybe something like this could work for you,just a shot in the dark.good luck
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,388 (1.02/day)
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-8700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme & ASUS Prime Z-370 A
Cooling Corsair 280mm AIO & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3466 GEIL Potenza
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070Ti 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
I had an older laptop that a friend fuck ed up with some 3rd party bios lock software,so long story short I had to locate the bios chip,or eeecm,or something chip that held a small charge,and I had to jump it by contacting two of its pins, maybe something like this could work for you,just a shot in the dark.good luck
Some friend,..............
 
Top