• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot install driver 470.05 on my rtx 3060 to mine help

limvulic

New Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
So i just bought a rtx 3060, i have 2 friends that bought one a few weeks ago and they install the driver 470.05 and mine at around 48MH, so i bought one for myself and now when i go and install the 470.05 driver it says that installation cannot continue, my windows version is not compatible or there isnt a compatible device, but my device is just fine, its a rtx3060 with 12gb. this is the only driver that gives me problems when installing (but the only one i need) so i dont know what to do pls if you have any info or help tell me.
I saw a video of how to get rid of the cannot continue problem but that works only on normal nvidia installers where they first ask you where you want to install (you have to go there and do some tweaking to a file) but as this 470.05 is not like that, you just click on the setup directly i cannot tweak anything.
 
Low quality post by 27MaD
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
886 (0.58/day)
Location
Al Balqa', Jordan
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 (Covered with Arctic MX-4)
Motherboard Gigabyte A320M-S2H (rev 1.X) BIOS version: F55b
Cooling CPU:Wraith Spire, Case:4xAlseye EY-120 (3xFront Intakes+1xRear Exhaust)+1xTop Exhaust stock case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz C15 8GB x 2 @3000MHz (16-15-17-36) @1.3V (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ver5.39)
Video Card(s) Colorful TomaHawk GTX 1650
Storage Colorful CN600 120GB (OS) + Kingston A400 2.5" 120GB + WD Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX) + WD Caviar 160 GB
Display(s) LG 22MK400H-B (Main, HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster E1920 (2ndary, DL-DVI-D Male to VGA Female adapter)
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Audio Device(s) Frisby FSP-235
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550 80+ White
Mouse HP G200 Black
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 11 Home

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,402 (6.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Are you using a stock bios?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,083 (0.27/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18D-32GTZN
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 21H2
it says that installation cannot continue, my windows version is not compatible or there isnt a compatible device
That normally means missing Windows dependencies. (usually Windows versions before 10, when not updated) Or the video card isn't seated properly.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,112 (3.31/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 64GB (4 x 16GB DR Samsung C-Die) @ DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply Corsair RM850x Gold 850W (2021 Version)
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Confirmed new RTX 3060 manufactured from July do not accept 470.05 driver!
This. That driver work around was never supposed to happen in the first place.

Your only workarounds known atm are 1.) Mine at half rate or 2.) don't mine.

That normally means missing Windows dependencies. (usually Windows versions before 10, when not updated) Or the video card isn't seated properly.
It doesn't here.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,083 (0.27/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18D-32GTZN
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 21H2
It doesn't here.
This is clearly a new problem. About cards built in July?

Looks like a card revision update that requires another driver update, just like it's an entirely different series! I think it's one of those hash-rate-limited versions
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,112 (3.31/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 64GB (4 x 16GB DR Samsung C-Die) @ DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply Corsair RM850x Gold 850W (2021 Version)
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
This is clearly a new problem. Did Nvidia suddenly bork a lot of their drivers or their installers?
No offense, but read some recent news. There is an intentional driver cutoff date on LHR cards. That's the issue here.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
1,083 (0.27/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18D-32GTZN
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6750 XT
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 1 TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 11 Pro x64 21H2
No offense, but read some recent news. There is an intentional driver cutoff date on LHR cards. That's the issue here.
I edited my post, because someone mentioned a certain period. (a person mentioned, "from July") I do think it's one of those LHR cards. Also, there's still a long way to go for the video card pricing!
My early version of one of my replies, was because I got worried about the drivers and the installers suddenly getting majorly buggy.
I'm like, "Yikes!, they possibly suddenly got majorly buggy, when just months ago, I had an excellent experience with my GeForce GTX 1660 Super."
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
886 (0.58/day)
Location
Al Balqa', Jordan
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 (Covered with Arctic MX-4)
Motherboard Gigabyte A320M-S2H (rev 1.X) BIOS version: F55b
Cooling CPU:Wraith Spire, Case:4xAlseye EY-120 (3xFront Intakes+1xRear Exhaust)+1xTop Exhaust stock case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz C15 8GB x 2 @3000MHz (16-15-17-36) @1.3V (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ver5.39)
Video Card(s) Colorful TomaHawk GTX 1650
Storage Colorful CN600 120GB (OS) + Kingston A400 2.5" 120GB + WD Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX) + WD Caviar 160 GB
Display(s) LG 22MK400H-B (Main, HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster E1920 (2ndary, DL-DVI-D Male to VGA Female adapter)
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Audio Device(s) Frisby FSP-235
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550 80+ White
Mouse HP G200 Black
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 11 Home
Are you using a stock bios?
Hey man so glad to see you back, Hope you're doing better.
Couldn't dm you for some reason so thought i'd just say it here.
Welcome back.
 

maickelbr

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Old RTX 3060 chips were GA106-300 and now they are GA106-302, it has a new "PCI Device ID" which makes any existing old drivers useless.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,864 (0.95/day)
System Name [Daily Driver -- Home Server]
Processor [Ryzen 5 5600X -- Intel i7-3770K]
Motherboard [Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS -- ASUS P8H61-I R2.0]
Memory [64GB G.Skill Ripjaws (16GBx4) -- 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws (4GBx2)]
Video Card(s) [PNY RTX 3070Ti XLR8 -- IGP]
Storage [2x 1TB WD SN850 NVMe , 2TB Samsung 860 QVO SSD -- Crucial BX500 2TB]
Display(s) [2x 27" HP X27q at 1440p -- SSH]
Case [Fractal Meshify-C -- Lian Li Mini-ITX]
Audio Device(s) [Steelseries Arctis Pro]
Power Supply [CORSAIR RM 650 -- EVGA 550 B5]
Mouse [Logitech G Pro -- SSH]
Keyboard [Logitech G810 -- SSH]
Software [Windows 11 64-Bit -- Ubuntu]
You have an LHR card at the hardware level. The driver doesn't matter.

The driver trick is only for cards that aren't LHR hardware (And that driver specifically will give you the wrong windows version or whatever error regardless of what you do).

TLDR mine something besides ETH because there's currently no known workaround for LHR specific cards and ETH mining at a decent rate. (And when you figure out what that is, let me know because I'm in the same boat with a TI)
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.63/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Old RTX 3060 chips were GA106-300 and now they are GA106-302, it has a new "PCI Device ID" which makes any existing old drivers useless.
I'm sure if it was as "simple" as that, someone would have worked out how to change it at Bios level.
 
Low quality post by maickelbr
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,348 (7.38/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard MSI x570s Carbon Max WiFi
Cooling Corsair AIO 360. Phantek T30 fans.
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp. HiFiMan HE400i Headphones Presonus Eris 4.5" monitors.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Razer Viper V2 Pro
Keyboard Fantech Maxfit 67
Software Windows 11
Latest driver is 471.11. Try that.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.39/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
i'm not always the sharpest knife in the drawer but did you try modding the inf file to add the device ID?

use to do similar to use quarto drivers w/geforce card because. here is an old guide that might help:
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,864 (0.95/day)
System Name [Daily Driver -- Home Server]
Processor [Ryzen 5 5600X -- Intel i7-3770K]
Motherboard [Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS -- ASUS P8H61-I R2.0]
Memory [64GB G.Skill Ripjaws (16GBx4) -- 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws (4GBx2)]
Video Card(s) [PNY RTX 3070Ti XLR8 -- IGP]
Storage [2x 1TB WD SN850 NVMe , 2TB Samsung 860 QVO SSD -- Crucial BX500 2TB]
Display(s) [2x 27" HP X27q at 1440p -- SSH]
Case [Fractal Meshify-C -- Lian Li Mini-ITX]
Audio Device(s) [Steelseries Arctis Pro]
Power Supply [CORSAIR RM 650 -- EVGA 550 B5]
Mouse [Logitech G Pro -- SSH]
Keyboard [Logitech G810 -- SSH]
Software [Windows 11 64-Bit -- Ubuntu]
I feel like my last post is being ignored so..

You have an LHR card. It's not a standard card with driver enforced LHR. Switching drivers wont do anything. Until someone cracks the hardware LHR you only get ~50% mining (supposed to just be when mining ETH, haven't tested it as nothing else is worth GPU mining)

/thread
 
Low quality post by looniam
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.39/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
I feel like my last post is being ignored so..
Capture.PNG
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,402 (6.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I feel like my last post is being ignored so..

You have an LHR card. It's not a standard card with driver enforced LHR. Switching drivers wont do anything. Until someone cracks the hardware LHR you only get ~50% mining (supposed to just be when mining ETH, haven't tested it as nothing else is worth GPU mining)

/thread

The solution is to stop mining lol, better yet a dedicated mining card or asic would be good for them
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,112 (3.31/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 64GB (4 x 16GB DR Samsung C-Die) @ DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply Corsair RM850x Gold 850W (2021 Version)
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
The solution is to stop mining lol, better yet a dedicated mining card or asic would be good for them

If that isn't an acceptable answer for the user, there are other coins as pointed out.
 

maickelbr

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Worst of all is that nvidia forces me to have this new 471.11 drive for the old 3060 cards also in the same windows, I can't install a drive for each separate old 3060 and 3060 new card in the same windows. Does anyone know why I can't have 2 nvidia drives?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,864 (0.95/day)
System Name [Daily Driver -- Home Server]
Processor [Ryzen 5 5600X -- Intel i7-3770K]
Motherboard [Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS -- ASUS P8H61-I R2.0]
Memory [64GB G.Skill Ripjaws (16GBx4) -- 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws (4GBx2)]
Video Card(s) [PNY RTX 3070Ti XLR8 -- IGP]
Storage [2x 1TB WD SN850 NVMe , 2TB Samsung 860 QVO SSD -- Crucial BX500 2TB]
Display(s) [2x 27" HP X27q at 1440p -- SSH]
Case [Fractal Meshify-C -- Lian Li Mini-ITX]
Audio Device(s) [Steelseries Arctis Pro]
Power Supply [CORSAIR RM 650 -- EVGA 550 B5]
Mouse [Logitech G Pro -- SSH]
Keyboard [Logitech G810 -- SSH]
Software [Windows 11 64-Bit -- Ubuntu]
Worst of all is that nvidia forces me to have this new 471.11 drive for the old 3060 cards also in the same windows, I can't install a drive for each separate old 3060 and 3060 new card in the same windows. Does anyone know why I can't have 2 nvidia drives?

That's windows. Partitioning multiple installs on your system is probably the easiest way to do that, then just swap to the old driver one when you want to use your mining card (disable the LHR card on that install).
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
19,984 (6.00/day)
Location
USA
So i just bought a rtx 3060, i have 2 friends that bought one a few weeks ago and they install the driver 470.05 and mine at around 48MH, so i bought one for myself and now when i go and install the 470.05 driver it says that installation cannot continue, my windows version is not compatible or there isnt a compatible device, but my device is just fine, its a rtx3060 with 12gb. this is the only driver that gives me problems when installing (but the only one i need) so i dont know what to do pls if you have any info or help tell me.
I saw a video of how to get rid of the cannot continue problem but that works only on normal nvidia installers where they first ask you where you want to install (you have to go there and do some tweaking to a file) but as this 470.05 is not like that, you just click on the setup directly i cannot tweak anything.
Install normal drivers and deal with the fact that you're going to get reduced hash-rates. You've got no other options really. This many not be the answer you wanted, but it's reality. Sorry to break it to you..
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,112 (3.31/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 64GB (4 x 16GB DR Samsung C-Die) @ DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply Corsair RM850x Gold 850W (2021 Version)
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Install normal drivers and deal with the fact that you're going to get reduced hash-rates. You've got no other options really. This many not be the answer you wanted, but it's reality. Sorry to break it to you..
The other option is mining under a different algo. A different coin.

This will hurt profits too, mind, but probably not as much as half.

These cards weren't meant for mining and people are going to have to accept that about their purchase.
 
Low quality post by maickelbr

maickelbr

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
Install normal drivers and deal with the fact that you're going to get reduced hash-rates. You've got no other options really. This many not be the answer you wanted, but it's reality. Sorry to break it to you..
I'll solve this with the vsphere server, whether you like it or not hahahahahaahaha cries gamer!
 
Top