• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot install driver 470.05 on my rtx 3060 to mine help

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
18,977 (5.84/day)
Location
USA
The other option is mining under a different algo. A different coin.
That might work. But it might not. NVidia is smart enough to know what can be mined and might have driver code and hardware watching for all of it.
I'll solve this with the vsphere server, whether you like it or not hahahahahaahaha cries gamer!
Oh my... Nice level of maturity.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,689 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
351 (0.28/day)
477.22 is the latest driver, as for the OP's card, he is SOL for mining so he can divest and cut his losses for an non nerfed card
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,689 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
I have been considering swapping my standard non-LHR 3070 for a 3070 ti LHR, but not sure that card is even worth the "upgrade" lol...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
18,977 (5.84/day)
Location
USA
I have been considering swapping my standard non-LHR 3070 for a 3070 ti LHR, but not sure that card is even worth the "upgrade" lol...
Get a 3080/3080ti or 3090. So far, no reduced hash rates and the profit will off-set the extra cost, it'll just take a few weeks longer.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,689 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
I do not plan on expanding my one card mining op, thus no plans on mining with it. Gaming performance is my only concern.

And 3080 ti's are LHR AFAIK.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
18,977 (5.84/day)
Location
USA
I do not plan on expanding my one card mining op, thus no plans on mining with it. Gaming performance is my only concern.

And 3080 ti's are LHR AFAIK.
OH! My bad. I thought you said you were into mining? Or am I thinking of someone else?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,689 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
OH! My bad. I thought you said you were into mining? Or am I thinking of someone else?
I have a one card mining op, but it was mostly just because I like keeping up on tech. It's a single RTX 2080 super in a server that was running anyways.

I'm a fan of crypto (used to cover it here for TPU), but not mining or Proof of Work really. I see it as a good idea gone off the rails.

/OT
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,689 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
I got it working! First, I uninstalled everything with DDU and rebooted. I then installed only an old GTX1060 to force to adopt the 470.05 driver since it is used for all the GTX-RTX line. Stopped the computer to install the second card, an EVGA RTX3060 12GB. It won't be recognized as an NVIDIA video card. You have to go in the hardware manager and do a manual update from your 470.05 folder (You'll have to do it for every cards). It will even give you a warning that you're not using a compatible driver, just ignore it. Reboot et voilà! The RTX has now the 470.05 installed. I've replaced the GTX by another RTX3060 and it worked too. Installed a third one, same result. Don't forget the dummy loads. Hopping it will work for others.
Are you certain you have an LHR card? That seems dumbfoundingly simple.
 

babu2001

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2021
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I got it working! First, I uninstalled everything with DDU and rebooted. I then installed only an old GTX1060 (RTX20xx should work but I don't have one to confirm) to force to adopt the 470.05 driver since it is used for all the GTX-RTX line. Stopped the computer to install the second card, an EVGA RTX3060 12GB. It won't be recognized as an NVIDIA video card. You have to go in the hardware manager and do a manual update from your 470.05 folder (You'll have to do it for every cards). It will even give you a warning that you're not using a compatible driver, just ignore it. Reboot et voilà! The RTX has now the 470.05 installed. I've replaced the GTX by another RTX3060 and it worked too. Installed a third one, same result. Don't forget the dummy loads. Hopping it will work for others.

Are you certain you have an LHR card? That seems dumbfoundingly simple.
Yes, I'm certain. I have 22 rigs of 6 to 9 cards each and I only have 3X 3070 ti LHR. My issue is to run Pre-LHR 3060 but still limited to run at full speed if they detect at least a 8X slot and a monitor. I'm using an Asus X99-E WS with 7 16X slots.
 
Last edited:

maickelbr

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2021
Messages
7 (0.02/day)
I got it working! First, I uninstalled everything with DDU and rebooted. I then installed only an old GTX1060 (RTX20xx should work but I don't have one to confirm) to force to adopt the 470.05 driver since it is used for all the GTX-RTX line. Stopped the computer to install the second card, an EVGA RTX3060 12GB. It won't be recognized as an NVIDIA video card. You have to go in the hardware manager and do a manual update from your 470.05 folder (You'll have to do it for every cards). It will even give you a warning that you're not using a compatible driver, just ignore it. Reboot et voilà! The RTX has now the 470.05 installed. I've replaced the GTX by another RTX3060 and it worked too. Installed a third one, same result. Don't forget the dummy loads. Hopping it will work for others.


Yes, I'm certain. I have 22 rigs of 6 to 9 cards each and I only have 3X 3070 ti LHR. My issue is to run Pre-LHR 3060 but still limited to run at full speed if they detect at least a 8X slot and a monitor. I'm using an Asus X99-E WS with 7 16X slots.
Strangely, in the past I tried several times to install this way and I couldn't. I don't have a GTX, I had an RTX 3060 V1 and another LHR V2. Does the previous installation of the GTX really make all that difference?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,689 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Strangely, in the past I tried several times to install this way and I couldn't. I don't have a GTX, I had an RTX 3060 V1 and another LHR V2. Does the previous installation of the GTX really make all that difference?
Maybe. It strikes me as odd but possible.
 

Beststriker

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I got it working! First, I uninstalled everything with DDU and rebooted. I then installed only an old GTX1060 (RTX20xx should work but I don't have one to confirm) to force to adopt the 470.05 driver since it is used for all the GTX-RTX line. Stopped the computer to install the second card, an EVGA RTX3060 12GB. It won't be recognized as an NVIDIA video card. You have to go in the hardware manager and do a manual update from your 470.05 folder (You'll have to do it for every cards). It will even give you a warning that you're not using a compatible driver, just ignore it. Reboot et voilà! The RTX has now the 470.05 installed. I've replaced the GTX by another RTX3060 and it worked too. Installed a third one, same result. Don't forget the dummy loads. Hopping it will work for others.


Yes, I'm certain. I have 22 rigs of 6 to 9 cards each and I only have 3X 3070 ti LHR. My issue is to run Pre-LHR 3060 but still limited to run at full speed if they detect at least a 8X slot and a monitor. I'm using an Asus X99-E WS with 7 16X slots.
Good day,

Would you be so kind as to share a video or a tutorial with screenshots how you installed the driver in device manager? When I try that I mess up my display drivers and had to do system restore lol. What I did is I installed a gtx 760 and ran DDU, installed the 470 driver, then I shutdown the computer completely, not sleep mode and then I installed a RTX 3060 TI. I can't see why it won't work for n 3060 TI as well. After that I used device manager and right clicked on the only display driver listed, microsoft display adapter and then I clicked update. I made a copy of the extracted files the 470 folder generated and browsed to that with device manager, chose RTX 3060 TI, but then there was 10 listed 3060 TI so I chose the top one, after that I got a black screen and had to do system restore. Please I would appreciate the effort :)
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
816 (0.27/day)
Processor i7-4790K 4.6GHz @1.29v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII Z97
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) Asus Tuf RTX 3060 V1 FHR (Newegg Shuffle)
Storage OS 120GB Kingston V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300, 500GB M.2 @ x2
Display(s) Lenovo y27g 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse Glorious Model D
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : needs updating
Good day,

Would you be so kind as to share a video or a tutorial with screenshots how you installed the driver in device manager? When I try that I mess up my display drivers and had to do system restore lol. What I did is I installed a gtx 760 and ran DDU, installed the 470 driver, then I shutdown the computer completely, not sleep mode and then I installed a RTX 3060 TI. I can't see why it won't work for n 3060 TI as well. After that I used device manager and right clicked on the only display driver listed, microsoft display adapter and then I clicked update. I made a copy of the extracted files the 470 folder generated and browsed to that with device manager, chose RTX 3060 TI, but then there was 10 listed 3060 TI so I chose the top one, after that I got a black screen and had to do system restore. Please I would appreciate the effort :)
driver ver 470.05 only unlocks V1 3060 at full hash rate. It was never known to unlock anything else LHR whether it is a V2 3060 or a LHR 3060Ti/3070/3070Ti/3080/3080Ti.
TRex miner has a 74.5% unlock for LHR cards now. It brought my 3070Ti from 42MHs to 60MHs
 
Top