• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot stabilize framerate in any games

Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.07/day)
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
Make sure the power limit is set at +50% on the gpu. The 290x like to throttle and underclock when it reach a certain power usage. Mine used to throttle a lot on a batch of drivers where the power limit feature was broken (water cooled at 40c).
Use a quick benchmark like furmark and gpuz to log and monitor core clock, voltage and gpu usage%.
Furmark will quickly tell you if ram is the problem or not.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5-3570k @ 3.40GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Socket 1155
Cooling Standard cooling
Memory 4Gb RAM
Video Card(s) Gigabyte OC ATI Radeon R 9290
Storage 2TB WD HDD + 264GB SSD
Display(s) Phillips 23,7" IPS + LG 20" LED
Case Xigmatek Álfar mid-tower gaming chassis
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Huntkey 700W
Mouse Razer Mamba
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 10 OS
I unplugged my extra HDD, GPU and extra fans to see if power distribution (or lack thereof) was the issue. Still got the same results with my pc not booting up when I insert more than one RAM chip. I don't think my PSU is the problem.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
495 (0.32/day)
Location
Skopje, Macedonia
System Name The Tesseract Cube
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI X570A-PRO
Cooling DeepCool Maelstrom 240, 2 X DeepCool GS120 (radiator fans), 4 X DeepCool RF120 (case fans)
Memory 1 x 16gb Kingston HyperX 3200mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro +
Storage Kingston V300 120GB (Boot Device), Kingston A400 480GB (Games), Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) MSI MAG241C Full HD, 144hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) MB Integrated, Sound Blaster Play 3 (Headset)
Power Supply Corsair CX650M Modular 80+ Bronze
Mouse MSI GM10
Keyboard Genesys RHOD 400 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPUZ: Single Thread - 510 Multi Thread - 4.050 Cinebench R20: CPU - 3 500 score
How about putting your RAM sticks on same colored ram slots if your board is dual channel.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5-3570k @ 3.40GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Socket 1155
Cooling Standard cooling
Memory 4Gb RAM
Video Card(s) Gigabyte OC ATI Radeon R 9290
Storage 2TB WD HDD + 264GB SSD
Display(s) Phillips 23,7" IPS + LG 20" LED
Case Xigmatek Álfar mid-tower gaming chassis
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Huntkey 700W
Mouse Razer Mamba
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 10 OS

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,901 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
are you experiencing graphical glitches/lag? I noticed in games with FPS counter the frame rate drops in certain areas for a split second, I think its primarily the games issue and not a hardware issue
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,145 (1.01/day)
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
I unplugged my extra HDD, GPU and extra fans to see if power distribution (or lack thereof) was the issue. Still got the same results with my pc not booting up when I insert more than one RAM chip. I don't think my PSU is the problem.
voltage and wattage are not the same type of issue. Just because the psu can deliver enough power doesn't mean its doing it reliably or safely. Having issues like ram slots dying is likely a psu voltage issue, not a wattage issue.

IMHO until you replace both the mobo that is already showing signs of failure and the PSU which is likely the cause, you will continue to have issues.

a thread on huntkey PSU's on Toms does not paint the company in the best of light.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/335565-28-hunt-apfc-700w

for a cheap reliable alternative there are several Be Quiet units which are the same ones that corsair, evga, etc rebrand as their own.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5-3570k @ 3.40GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Socket 1155
Cooling Standard cooling
Memory 4Gb RAM
Video Card(s) Gigabyte OC ATI Radeon R 9290
Storage 2TB WD HDD + 264GB SSD
Display(s) Phillips 23,7" IPS + LG 20" LED
Case Xigmatek Álfar mid-tower gaming chassis
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Huntkey 700W
Mouse Razer Mamba
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 10 OS
voltage and wattage are not the same type of issue. Just because the psu can deliver enough power doesn't mean its doing it reliably or safely. Having issues like ram slots dying is likely a psu voltage issue, not a wattage issue.

IMHO until you replace both the mobo that is already showing signs of failure and the PSU which is likely the cause, you will continue to have issues.

a thread on huntkey PSU's on Toms does not paint the company in the best of light.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/335565-28-hunt-apfc-700w

for a cheap reliable alternative there are several Be Quiet units which are the same ones that corsair, evga, etc rebrand as their own.
I've got just enough money for a budget MB and CPU, though. Is there a way to test my PSU for signs of failure?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,901 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Top