• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cannot update BIOS Gigabyte 585OC

jojesa

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
System Name mini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS4
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory Mushkin Enh Blackline 4GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD
Storage Corsair P128 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 20.1 FP202W LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair 620HX 620W
Software Several
#1
When I run the Gigabyte VGA@BIOS flash utility it displays "Unknow" under Bios version (see image below).
Does anyone here knows about this or how to go about it?

I also noticed that when I run the Gigabyte flash utility a process called ATIWinflash.exe opens up.

 
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Mašina
Processor AMD-K6-200ALR 2.9V CORE/3.3V I/O
Motherboard Asus TX97 - XE
Cooling Cooler Master Ball Bearing
Memory 2X16MB NANYA DDR
Video Card(s) PCI 16MB
Storage Maxtor 4GB
Display(s) 15''
Case Hyundai P50000M
Audio Device(s) Creative Vibra 16S
Power Supply 130W
Software Free Dos
Benchmark Scores BFBC2 @ high = 100 frames per year

jojesa

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
System Name mini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS4
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory Mushkin Enh Blackline 4GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD
Storage Corsair P128 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 20.1 FP202W LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair 620HX 620W
Software Several
#3
I was able to get Gigabyte flash utility to see the card (it needs admin privileges to run).
Now I had bigger issues, the computer went to reboot and it got stuck in a blank screen. :banghead:

any clues?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Mašina
Processor AMD-K6-200ALR 2.9V CORE/3.3V I/O
Motherboard Asus TX97 - XE
Cooling Cooler Master Ball Bearing
Memory 2X16MB NANYA DDR
Video Card(s) PCI 16MB
Storage Maxtor 4GB
Display(s) 15''
Case Hyundai P50000M
Audio Device(s) Creative Vibra 16S
Power Supply 130W
Software Free Dos
Benchmark Scores BFBC2 @ high = 100 frames per year
#4
blank screen where..?
before logging into Window or right away when you turn it on...
...may be drivers... try to boot into safe mode and reinstall them
 

jojesa

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
System Name mini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS4
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory Mushkin Enh Blackline 4GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD
Storage Corsair P128 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 20.1 FP202W LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair 620HX 620W
Software Several
#5
blank screen where..?
before logging into Window or right away when you turn it on...
...may be drivers... try to boot into safe mode and reinstall them
Right when I turn on the PC.
The screen is dark but all fans are on and power light.

If I have another VGA card on the same system could I try flashing the card again?
How will I do this?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Mašina
Processor AMD-K6-200ALR 2.9V CORE/3.3V I/O
Motherboard Asus TX97 - XE
Cooling Cooler Master Ball Bearing
Memory 2X16MB NANYA DDR
Video Card(s) PCI 16MB
Storage Maxtor 4GB
Display(s) 15''
Case Hyundai P50000M
Audio Device(s) Creative Vibra 16S
Power Supply 130W
Software Free Dos
Benchmark Scores BFBC2 @ high = 100 frames per year
#6
If you have another VGA or on board graphic,
you can flash right bios with ATIFlash.
You'll need to make bootable usb stick and just copy atiflash and right bios on it.
When you wright in Dos "atiflash" it opens all options and parameters...
I think its: atiflash -p -f 0 biosnama.rom
Where 0 is number of pci-e slot,
With atiflash u can also read in what slot is which card.
 

jojesa

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
System Name mini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS4
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory Mushkin Enh Blackline 4GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD
Storage Corsair P128 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 20.1 FP202W LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair 620HX 620W
Software Several
#7
I ran ati flash:
atiflash.exe -p -f 1 biosname.bin
I get this error 0FL01

Do I need to enter ROM or BIN at the end of the bios name?
The bios I got from Gigabyte doesn't have either bin or rom at the end
 

jojesa

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
System Name mini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS4
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory Mushkin Enh Blackline 4GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD
Storage Corsair P128 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 20.1 FP202W LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair 620HX 620W
Software Several
#8
I was able to fix the issue :nutkick:
I installed another VGA card to the PCIe 0 and the bricked card to PCIe 1

Created a bootable USB and copied ATIFlash and the latest Gigabyte BIOS update.
A the DOS prompt I typed atiflash.exe -p -f 1 biosname (note that the gigabyte BIOS does not have either .bin or .rom at the end. so I left like that)
After that the BIOS update worked :rockout:


The fan still loud at 55% but now it has power management.
The GPU goes all the way down to 154MHz from 765MHz.


Thanks for the replies
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Mašina
Processor AMD-K6-200ALR 2.9V CORE/3.3V I/O
Motherboard Asus TX97 - XE
Cooling Cooler Master Ball Bearing
Memory 2X16MB NANYA DDR
Video Card(s) PCI 16MB
Storage Maxtor 4GB
Display(s) 15''
Case Hyundai P50000M
Audio Device(s) Creative Vibra 16S
Power Supply 130W
Software Free Dos
Benchmark Scores BFBC2 @ high = 100 frames per year
#9
Glad you solve it.
I have reference VTX3D 5850
It also went down to 154Mhz but I had some problems in Desktop and some games menus, so I raised 2D Clock to 400
 

jojesa

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
System Name mini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS4
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory Mushkin Enh Blackline 4GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD
Storage Corsair P128 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 20.1 FP202W LCD
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Corsair 620HX 620W
Software Several
#10
Glad you solve it.
I have reference VTX3D 5850
It also went down to 154Mhz but I had some problems in Desktop and some games menus, so I raised 2D Clock to 400
Thanks for info on previous post, that helped a lot :toast:
The BIOS update (F4) and the new drivers (10.4) fixed several issues I had.
The only issue left is the fan speed I cannot control. I runs @ 55% all the time :eek: