• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can't boot after BIOS update

lemon_99

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair XMS 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM , WD Caviar Green 1TB
Display(s) HP 2159m
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#1
Hey, I have a ASUS P5Q-E Mobo and today I tried updating the BIOS. I did something I regret now that I found out that it's not recommended to update the BIOS in Windows. Found out it should be updated under the BIOS. Anyway, I tried resetting by moving the jumper pins and took out the CMOS battery but no luck. When I turn on my pc, the keyboard turns on, monitor comes on, and it gets stuck on the "hit delete to enter BIOS menu". Even if I try hitting delete, it doesn't go anywhere. So does anyone know how I can fix this? I'd appreciate it.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#2
Welcome to TPU :toast:

Now... firstly when you was updating your BIOS through Windows, did it go smoothly/as it should?

Also it may not be anything to do with the BIOS update, we can not say for sure just yet (I'm not willing to say so anyway's). Do you have more than 1 stick of RAM in? a faulty stick could possibly be something else to think about.

... one more thing, you did remember to move the CMOS reset pin back to it's original position didn't you? :) and how long did you leave the battery out for? and did you remove the mains power from the PC itself? (just something I always like to do).
 

lemon_99

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair XMS 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM , WD Caviar Green 1TB
Display(s) HP 2159m
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#3
Yes forgot to mention that when I did the update, it did say 100% complete and rebooted.
I followed the instructions from the mobo manual and put the jumper pins back to original, while the system was powered off of course.

I have 2x2GB of RAM but I doubt this doesn't have to do with the problem.
My system has been running normally without issues for over 2yrs.

Thanks for the input
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#4
Could you fill in your system specs please? (it's just something everyone likes to see :toast:)

It will help knowing what board you have, and then will also allow me to double check the BIOS versions and check for other's who might of had a similar problem.

... Now, you say your system has been running for 2 years without error, to me that is the perfect reason to suspect something may be of age and dying. I really do recommend that you try booting with just one of the stick's installed, and if you still get the same results, try the other stick on it's own, again also you could try unplugging the unneeded hardware, such as, extra HDD's/Optical drives etc and then boot with the bare minimal plugged in and let us know how it goes.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#5
take your bios battery out.
then turn the system on.
then turn it off.
put the battery back in and turn it on.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
424 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hà Nội, Viet Nam
System Name Acer Aspire V3-571G/New Desktop
Processor Intel Core i3 3110M 2.4 GHz Ivy Bridge/Intel Core i3 2130 3.4 GHz Sandy Bridge
Motherboard Acer Aspire/Foxconn H61M-S
Cooling Acer Aspire/Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 2 x 2Gb DDR3 1333 MHz Strontium/1 x 4Gb DDR3 1333 MHz Kingston
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT630M - Intel HD Graphics 4000/Intel HD Graphics 2000
Storage Seagate SATA2 500Gb 5400RPM/Toshiba SATA3 500Gb 7200RPM
Display(s) 15.6 inch LED 1366 x 768/Samsung Series 3 LED S22B370 21.5 inch Full HD
Case Acer/Some Random Brand
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 90W Acer Adapter/500W Huntkey PSU
Software Windows 8 Pro VL x64/Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Well the fact that most new motherboards come with BIOS update utility from Windows do have some certain problems. I've noticed that a lot of times, and a lot of people do recommend to me to update the BIOS through the old way not by using that.
Great thing that you have found a right place, I'm sure TPU guys will gladly help you to solve your problem.
Good Luck ! :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#7
Are u using a usb or ps2 keyboard?
 

robn

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
67
Location
UK
Processor i7 920 @ 3520MHz locked on 1.04V, all features on
Motherboard Biostar T-Power x58 + ASUS U3S6 + Broadcom WiFi
Cooling Akasa Nero S on the i7 + 2 Akasa Apache case fans
Memory 24Gig Kingston HyperX DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX GTX260 216 XT
Storage 240Gig SanDisk SSD, 750Gig Spinpoint F1
Display(s) BenQ E2200HD
Case Coolermaster Elite 334
Audio Device(s) Realtek(!) with M-Audio AV40 + Wharfedale SW150
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts 650
Software Win7 64 Pro / Fedora KDE
Benchmark Scores wPrime 32M 7.265sec - 3DMark2001 57673 - Intel Linpack 50.6237 GFlops
#8
Does your ASUS P5Q-E have 2 BIOS chips - one for backup? I think it might, so quickest, risky, hack solution:
Switch the 2nd chip into the position of the primary, but don't push it in hard. Be careful of the chips' legs!
Boot into BIOS setup and find the BIOS shadowing section ...turn shadowing on for all options. This lets a system continue to run with BIOS chip(s) removed.
Now boot up a DOS flash USB / CD / floppy whichever you want with a copy of your BIOS on it.
Next put the screwed BIOS chip back into the primary socket *with the machine running* and run the flashing app.
Finally shutdown, re-assemble anything you have apart, and do the battery removal CMOS reset because it is the 100% definite way.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#9
I don't think ASUS has dual bios.
The only thing left is the battery removing thing and if you cant get inside bios that only leaves you RMA if its covered by warranty. They shouldn't give you any troubles with fixing it under warranty. Sometimes a local shop may have flasher for your bios type.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Usually a bad BIOS flash will result in no POST at all. Your board seems to be POSTing, but getting hung up somewhere.

The ASUS flash utility used inside of Windows works just fine for BIOS flashes. It verifies the flash and everything before you reboot, so if you didn't get any errors you can be assured that the BIOS flashed properly.

I'd make sure you cleared the CMOS properly. Not only do you have to move the jumper pin over while the computer is off, but it also must be unplugged or the PSU has to be switched off. You do not have to remove the battery, moving the jumper pin does the exact same thing, cuts power to the CMOS.

Once that is done, if it still doesn't boot, I'd start disconnecting things one by one until it finally completes the boot process.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#11
Are u using a usb or ps2 keyboard?
+1, could be!

What, JrRacinFan, is pointing out... could be the problem.
Hit keyboard keys on a usb keyboard and no detection\keystrokes.

When you flashed your bios, did you, also, have the reset bios\dmi to defaults?
If so, then the usb settings may have gone to defaults and the mb is not recognizing the usb keyboard.
If this may be the case, you need to obtain\borrow a ps2 style keyboard to plug in connection number 1(shown below).


The website and manual, both, say it has a dual bios, called, "DieHard BIOS"(I will not make any jokes:banghead:)
I do not know how this works, hopefully, someone that has\had this board knows.

BIOS Never Die
The ASUS Diehard BIOS consists of two BIOS chips, a main BIOS and a backup BIOS. The ASUS Diehard BIOS can restore corrupted main BIOS data from the backup BIOS automatically. The technology saves users the hassle of recovering the BIOS file or buying a replacement BIOS chip.

ASUS P5Q-E webpage for reference.

Goodluck with it.:)
 
Last edited:

lemon_99

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair XMS 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM , WD Caviar Green 1TB
Display(s) HP 2159m
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#12
Thank you all for your responses.

*Update

After searching online for a solution, I saw someone post something about how if you are using a usb keyboard, it won't be recognized so use a ps/2 keyboard. (When under "Press delete for setup" screen) So I tried that and was stoked that I was able to get into the BIOS and did a save and exit and was able to boot into Windows.

So as couple of you have suggested, it was my usb keyboard not being recognized. I knew it was something this simple! (I just wished after flashing the BIOS, it told me to plug in a PS/2 keyboard) Very glad it works fine now and learned some new things to keep in mind.
 

lemon_99

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair XMS 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM , WD Caviar Green 1TB
Display(s) HP 2159m
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#13
Now I'm having trouble installing Asus's EPU-6 Engine under Windows 7 64 bit.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#14
JrRacinFan calls another one.:toast:
Glad you found the problem. Yep, figured that. Been there; done that.:)

lemon_99 you ought to hit the Thanks button for JrRacinFan, because even though you found it on another site... he did call it right.;)
And, a big THANK YOU for coming back and letting us know the outcome.:toast:

Edit:

Can't help to much with the EPU-6, except to say it is a beta(so, it might be buggy and you may need to un-install it and try it again) and make sure your are getting the on under windows7 64 bit(if they are really different).
Personally and my opinion is... I don't use the power saving and overclock software, don't like or trust fully (I have Gigabyte's). I do my own settings and OC.
But, goodluck with it, some like using it to test before setting up manually.:)
 
Last edited:

lemon_99

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair XMS 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM , WD Caviar Green 1TB
Display(s) HP 2159m
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#15
I'm new here so I didn't even know about the "Thanks" button until you told me.
So I just thanked the two of you for hitting the nail in the head and for everyone else
with the suggestions. :toast:

As for the EPU-6, I was able to run it just fine in Vista x64 and liked to set it on "Auto" and it would quiet down the system fans. I'm a little hesitant to run the best version for Windows 7 so I will try re-installing the version that came on the cd included with the mobo. (Run compatibility mode Vista SP2 and Run as admin). Hope all goes well.

Now I know where to go, if I run into any PC problems.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#16
Yea... I kinda see how I went way over board with my theory :roll:
 

lemon_99

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair XMS 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM , WD Caviar Green 1TB
Display(s) HP 2159m
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP ATX Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#17
No worries:cool: