• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't change my GPUs VBIOS :( despite successfull flashing with NVFLASH :(

Dako88

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.64/day)
POMOC.jpg


I've been trying all the possible ways to change my wrongly named GPU on my MSI laptop from K2 GRID to GTX 870M (as it physically is)... I've managed to use -5 -6 attributes and get a "success" result but after restarting the laptop, the GPU remains GRID K2 and the BIOS remains BAD... how do I FORCE the correct BIOS onto this piece of crap? PLEASE help :(
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,195 (0.22/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
What exactly are you trying to acheive cause at this rate you'll brick it, literally just the name Grid K2 to GTX 870m? :kookoo: load the default bios again and pray you havent bricked it already...
 

Dako88

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.64/day)
I have purchased it this way - it was "stuck" with GRID K2 (no idea how). It's a GTX 870M though... Is there any way to restore it? I've tried the BIOS from MSI support and another one from web - NOTHING changes, it remains as GRID K2... I've uninstalled everything twice :( The only drivers I can install are K2 GRID drivers, the 870M won't install (unsupported GPU). I can't overwrite the VBIOS I guess to bring it back to stock :( After all my efforts I've managed to bring back shader values etc to normal but it's still called GRID K2 :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,195 (0.22/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Does it perform as it should? if so what's the issue, just load the default bios onto it and be thankful you don't have an expensive paperweight on your hands..

I'm not sure why it's being reported as that as it's not a mobile GPU but if it's working and performing as it should I'd leave it well alone and maybe contact MSI or NVIDIA direct to see if they can give you any advice
 

Dako88

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.64/day)
The drivers are sh*t :/ Furthermore it keeps using the fans like crazy for no reason, without any warming... The temps are low even under OCCT...

Wish I could somehow recover it to normal :/ f**king $3000 laptop with no fan controll whatsoever...
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,592 (4.43/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Read these pages:
 

Dako88

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.64/day)
Thank you for the guide, it was quite well written.

Sadly it didn't help - the windows procedure stops with "GPU mismatch" no matter what I do... When I successfully update BIOS with USB DOS starter, it still turns into Nvidia GRID K2 automatically :(

I wanted to do the 1-8 pin connetion but I have no idea which chip is it... :(
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,992 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K 6c 12t
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000mhz 16-16-16-32 2T@1.4v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold (Seasonic OEM)
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Thank you for the guide, it was quite well written.

Sadly it didn't help - the windows procedure stops with "GPU mismatch" no matter what I do... When I successfully update BIOS with USB DOS starter, it still turns into Nvidia GRID K2 automatically :(

I wanted to do the 1-8 pin connetion but I have no idea which chip is it... :(
That sometimes just means the Bios is locked, for example, I got the same message when trying to flash my card when I was using the correct bios for the card, all I wanted to do was increase the power limit, the rev 1 version had a higher limit than the rev 2, same GPU etc, so you may need to "unlock" that Bios, if my memory serves me the command would be nvflash --protectoff
 

Dako88

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.64/day)
I have managed to unlock the BIOS and flash it many times but it still remains K2 GRID after I restart the PC :(
 

Dako88

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
7 (0.64/day)
I have just tried all 3 with same result: GPU mismatch... They see my card as a f**king NVIDIA K2 GRID :/

Wish there was a way to ignore GPU mismatch and FORCE a flash...

MAYBE there is a way to EDIT the BIOS Device ID? I've tried a HEX Editor but I can't find and replace the correct line to make them match:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

kerberos_20

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
1 (0.10/day)
use this, alongside with -6 --protectoff commands

btw, -4 -5 -6 commands usualy works just like that to force flash any bios u want inside
Code:
nvflash --protectoff
nvflash -4 -5 -6 (bios name).rom
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
System Name Lara10rd
Processor Intel Core I7 8700k
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming
Cooling Corsair H100i RGB Pro XT
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 16GB DDR4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix ROG RTX 2060 Super
Storage Samsung 970 Pro Pciex NVMe 256GB
Display(s) AOC 27" 144Hz 1MS
Case Corsair 570x Mirror
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BLaster Z
Power Supply EVGA G3 750 watts 80 + Gold
Mouse Corsair Iron Claw
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike 21,641
Do you think it is possible that your laptop has a GPU, NVIDIA K2 GRID, then ?
 
Top