• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can't choose output from jacks in realtek audio manager on asrock motherboard

Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,
This is going to be a long shot but i'm desperate for an answer:

My pc broke down some time ago so i decided to get an upgrade. I kept my old graph-card and my drives but got a new motherboard (asrock z77 Pro3), cpu (i5-3470 3.2GHz, quad) and memory (Corsair vengeance DIMM DDR3 1600 CL9 2x4gb). I let the guys at the shop put it all together and everything works in the end. Except one thing i just to have on my old gigabyte motherboard. After installing the drivers i lacked the Realtek HD Audio Manager. So i installed it and it finally opened (still doesnt auto start though when booting windows 7-64bit). The problem now is i can't choose the output on each jack.

Now i love sound, and i have two different systems. each have their own speakers and amplifiers. They are hooked up to my pc with AUX cables. The problem is that Realtek Audio Manager will not let me choose which jack (on the back of my pc) get's which output. I both want them to have the "front speaker out"-output.

Can someone help me?
I already tried the following things: re-installing drivers, updating them, re-installing windows, utility software, reattach all hardware (also clear bios).

Here you can find some screens that probably will be useful.






MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#2
Output selection I believe is limited to the rear and side output jacks though I could be wrong. It seems your system current has the two fronts and the center/sub channel connected. I am not sure what your setup is, but you seem to want two front audio outs so move the cable on the center/sub to the rear or side. Then see if you can change the output on those.

I had an issue with certain features from my audio not working every other time I would install the Realtek audio drivers so you may want to reinstall those one more time.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#3
Use the latest audio drivers from the product page of the mobo on the ASRock site, and not the installation CD.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,535 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,624
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#4
Use the latest audio drivers from the product page of the mobo on the ASRock site, and not the installation CD.
This. Also don't download any drivers or software directly from Realtek. More often than not the software released for your particular motherboard has some changes from the reference design, so always download the latest drivers from the motherboard manufacturer. I don't know about ASRock, but that has been my experience lately with ASUS and to a limited degree with MSI.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Output selection I believe is limited to the rear and side output jacks though I could be wrong. It seems your system current has the two fronts and the center/sub channel connected. I am not sure what your setup is, but you seem to want two front audio outs so move the cable on the center/sub to the rear or side. Then see if you can change the output on those.

I had an issue with certain features from my audio not working every other time I would install the Realtek audio drivers so you may want to reinstall those one more time.
Changing the output jack doesnt change a thing. And option could be having one aux cable in the front output and one in the back. But having a cable there is annoying and limits me to use the actual headphone when dj'ing. My previous pc setup had the option to change the outputs... why not now =(


Use the latest audio drivers from the product page of the mobo on the ASRock site, and not the installation CD.
Did this, did not work either way (cd/internet page of asrock OR realtek.). (and i uninstall with 3rd party software to get a registry cleanup aswell)
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,227 (3.75/day)
Likes
9,420
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#6
I am running an asrock board with that Realtek manager, From my knowledge, it doesnt allow You to dictate which plug outputs which signal, IF thats what your looking for.

incidentally I used the driver on their site , in the support section.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I am running an asrock board with that Realtek manager, From my knowledge, it doesnt allow You to dictate which plug outputs which signal, IF thats what your looking for.
That would indicate the motherboard dictates if you can do that, but i believe it would be a software issue.

Good to know though it's a normal issue (well for me it's an issue :D).
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.01/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#8
If your looking for multiple outputs of the same signal at the same time for DJ'ing why not invest in a quality Interface?

http://www.musicradar.com/news/tech/8-of-the-best-budget-usb-audio-interfaces-570850

I have limited experience DJ'ing, I usually set up the equipment not use it but all of the DJ's ive met never use onboard audio plus if you are DJ'ing surly the software you use has control over it and can select what to output where?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,227 (3.75/day)
Likes
9,420
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#9
That would indicate the motherboard dictates if you can do that, but i believe it would be a software issue.

Good to know though it's a normal issue (well for me it's an issue :D).
I mean to say that You CANNOT say which signal comes out of which of the six plugs. For instance , the Pink 35mm will ALWAYS be Mic input, I DO know that there is a "switch center with sub woofer" option, or something of the like. Short of re-soldering/wiring the board, I dont think that it allows it. I DO agree with You that it Seems ridiculous and absurd, but I'm sure that 1- there is some difficulty in the manfacturing process to make that option available.
2- That the Realtek manager is NOT of the highest quality
Unfortunately it Does suck, and I sympathize with You, If you ever find one that does allow such customization PLEASE post in regards, providing it is a New, or current GEN board. My setup would be alot easier to manage if the option You mention WAS available.

Regards
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,436 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,044
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#10
I mean to say that You CANNOT say which signal comes out of which of the six plugs. For instance , the Pink 35mm will ALWAYS be Mic input, I DO know that there is a "switch center with sub woofer" option, or something of the like. Short of re-soldering/wiring the board, I dont think that it allows it. I DO agree with You that it Seems ridiculous and absurd, but I'm sure that 1- there is some difficulty in the manfacturing process to make that option available.
2- That the Realtek manager is NOT of the highest quality
Unfortunately it Does suck, and I sympathize with You, If you ever find one that does allow such customization PLEASE post in regards, providing it is a New, or current GEN board. My setup would be alot easier to manage if the option You mention WAS available.

Regards
you would be wrong on both counts

http://cl.ly/OckP/Image 2013-04-28 at 11.59.55 AM.png
realtek has a bunch of jack reassignment options
*note you may need to go though and disable jackdetection and or toggle the 'tie up some of the input options to free up the microswitchs

http://cl.ly/ObDl/Image 2013-04-28 ...l.ly/Ob4L/Image 2013-04-28 at 12.01.41 PM.png

current config

MIC = Rblue
SUB/Center Rear black
front = rear green
sides = front pink
the combinations are limited depending on your channel mode you may need to select 5.1 and then play with the "mute streams" options until it outputs to all
to get it to output a stereo stream follow these steps

1. disable front panel/connector senseing
2. change the speaker count to Quadraphonic
3. disable mute rear outputs if front panel is plugged in
4.enable make front/rear outputs play two different streams at the same time
_____________
now you can go ahead and map the connectors
5. disable make front/rear outputs play two different streams at the same time
6. change the Speaker count back to Stereo
some boards don't allow you to set both to enabled for the same stream the above should get it working tho
 
Last edited: