• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can't figure out specs on psu

Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#1
I have a xion case and the psu that came with it, well, this one actually: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811208011

Thing I can't find out is the amps, particularly on the 12V rail. I have inspected the supply closely but have seen nothing to indicate amps. There is a row that goes: +5V, +12V1, +12V2, -12V, and a few others. I believe this indicates the rails maybe? But I cannot figure out how to get the amps. I need to know because I am planning to get a new vc soon and need to know if this can handle it. If anybody can see something I can't or has ideas about where else I can look to find this (already checked mf website and a few other retailers) I would very much appriciate it. Thanks.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#2
Look at the row directly below the +12v and you will see a number that looks something like 19a (19amps). That is your amperage. Since the power supply has two +12v sections it is a dual rail power s upply.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#3
Read the reviews on newegg about the case in link, you will find out a lot about the PSU. Most "pre-installed" PSU's that come with a case are garbage. Xion no longer markets a 450 watt version and the specs on the 400 are realy bad. Whenever I purchase a Pre-built with PSU, I change out the PSU as soon as possible...just not worth the chance, as when the PSU goes it most likley takes something else with it.

:toast:
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#4
Ah yes, that makes sense enough doesn't it. Well, my ratings are 3.3V-22A, 5V-18, 12V1-14, 12V2-16, -12V-0.3A, and I cant remember the last one. So what I want to know is, should this be enough for the 8800GT(S) or the 3870 with my current specs above. I have indeed heard that psus that come with the case are not too good, and that the ones xion packages are likewise, however this particular case seems to have gotten decent reviews on newegg. I have had the case for almost a year now with not a hitch, so I was hoping to have it last a little longer. I was planning on getting a new one, but was trying to hold off for a few months since the video card is the thing most readily needing attention. Whatdya think? Can I do it? Thanks.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,628 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,355
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
You MAY be able to do this, but honestly I dont belive anyone here will readily advise a yes to this question. Here is the thing to look at, A bad PSU and a high draw system at best means when the PSU pops, you dont run until the new PSU can be afforded. On the flip side of that idea is this, It may burn parts on its way out.

So the best advice is this(comming from experience) buy the PSU first , then get the 200-300 dollar GFX card. What good is a 300 dollar paperweight if you PSU takes it out when it goes? So in essence the 2-300 invested in the new card turns into another 100-150 on a descent PSU pluss the 2-300 for a new card.

Best advice you can take from this is...Buy right once instead of buying wrong twice!!!!!
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#6
Fair enough, not particularly what I wanted to hear, but I suppose I will have to listen if I am going to ask. lol. Any suggestions on psu. I would like to stay under $100 if possible so I can go ahead and get the gfx card too, but I am also going for longevity. I was looking at this one: http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16817812005

I would like to go cheaper though if possible though.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,628 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,355
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
65 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Processor Intel e2140@2.2ghz 275*8
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-G31MX-S2
Cooling Stock cpu, 2 120mm silverstone fans in case.
Memory 2GB OCZ vista PC-6400
Video Card(s) Integrated for now
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 320GB sata II
Display(s) 17 crt
Case Ultra Aluminus
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply 400 Ultra
Software windows xp sp3
#8
As far as i can find out, the 8800GT uses around 22amps and the GTS uses about 24amps. your two rails combined are 30A. This should run one of these cards ok, but i agree with sneekypeet.
Better to be safe than sorry.

This is a nice powersupply and is 80% plus certified. It has four 12v rails with 18A each. It does have blue LEDs if that is a con. Only 100usd after rebate. Could save you frrom a very bad day.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341002
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#9
That looks like a winner. Yea, I thought I should be ok, and indeed I think I probably would be. But, like I said I was going to upgrade that next as I will be doing a complete system overhaul over the next 6 mo or so, so better to do this first and secure all that money.