• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cant find BSOD code

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#1
Apparently the Stop code for the BSOD im getting doesnt exist... according to google and MS anyway.

Any ideas on how else I can diagnose the problem?
Its not a hardware problem, as im on XP atm stable for 6 hours without a BSOD. Vista has been randomly blue screening over the last two days, even when doing nothing. As usual Im lead to believe its a driver problem, drivers being the assholes that they are lol...
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#2
Apparently the Stop code for the BSOD im getting doesnt exist... according to google and MS anyway.

Any ideas on how else I can diagnose the problem?
Its not a hardware problem, as im on XP atm stable for 6 hours without a BSOD. Vista has been randomly blue screening over the last two days, even when doing nothing. As usual Im lead to believe its a driver problem, drivers being the assholes that they are lol...
have you install any programs or hardware sincebefore the problem started
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#3
have you install any programs or hardware sincebefore the problem started
Nope. Thats the thing that confuses me. Unless a driver got corrupted randomly, theres no reason for it to bluescreen. All the hardware works. I can game, music, video, watch tv, use the internet. Itll just bluescreen shortly after. Averages about 10-15 minutes before the bluescreen kicks in.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#4
See if you can run stable in safe mode. If so, probably driver. If not, then hardware problem.

Suggest:

Relax your memory timings.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#5
go to start--> run and type in cmd and hit enter
then type in:

PHP:
chkdsk /F
you may need to restart if your disk is locked. this should fix any corrupted files and everything. use ccleaner in conjunction with this to fix registry issues. and then if all else fails, try safe mode, it may be a corrupted driver.

and of course, you've virus scanned and all correct?
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#6
Ill run in safe mode.

Memory timings are stock.

Will the check disk work from xp. Or do i have to be in vista to check a vista based install?
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#7
it does the whole hdd.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7