• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't get an image, PS3 to PC monitor. Any tips?

Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#1
Ok, so I don't know if I posted in the right place (if not, please move it).

First things first.. The PS3 usually was connected to my own LG 24" monitor this way:
PS3-->HDMI-->DVI adapter-->LG monitor.

It worked perfectly, and yes I did my research on it and saw that many people said it would not work this way, HDCP blah bla bla..

But this time it's going to be connected to an older monitor, the HP 2035.
It doesn't work. I tried the reset console (hold the power button whilst it is in standby), still nothing. The monitor itself comes also with VGA and a Coaxial connection.. That part works.

First I thought like "Sh**, I have destroyed the PS3?!".. Then when I started to read about the HP 2035.. It doesn't support 1080, but 720.

So then I have another problem I guess?

The only thing I could see was some lines on the screen last night after the reset.
Could it be that the monitor itself is too old and out of range for the signal?

Using a DVI-D adapter between the HDMI cable. It does work with my LG screen, but not this screen..


PS3 is updated as a final note.

Thanks


EDIT: Nevermind, the HP screen does not support HDCP (too old), but my LG does.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,511 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,596
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#2
EDIT: Nevermind, the HP screen does not support HDCP (too old), but my LG does.
Bingo. That is why. HDCP will work over HDMI -> DVI adapters as long as the display supports it. Most modern displays will work. HDCP is such a pain imho. It's protection at a level that most likely doesn't need it. All DRM can be circumvented in some way, shape, or form.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#3
Bingo. That is why. HDCP will work over HDMI -> DVI adapters as long as the display supports it. Most modern displays will work. HDCP is such a pain imho. It's protection at a level that most likely doesn't need it. All DRM can be circumvented in some way, shape, or form.
True.. But what I don't understand why the PS3 feels so "locked" with this HDCP, wouldn't have been better if they just removed options for movies, streamed USB's etc. if you wanted to connect something that doesn't have HDCP feature?

I can "modify" the PS3, or get a box of some sort and put between the machine and screen. But then it's smarter to just go and buy a new screen.

Someone, somewhere want's to "control" the end user, that's the feeling I get.
Question is: Who and why?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,588 (0.47/day)
Likes
751
#4
Dude...it's a form of DRM/protection like every other media out there. DVDs, Blu-rays, videogames, etc...everything has it nowadays. The DHCP issue has been around since the PS3 released, so it isn't anything new by a long shot. You can strip it with a device as you said, but considering most TVs and monitors produced anytime in the last 5 years have DHCP, it isn't a big deal.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,176 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,721
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#5
Nevermind, the HP screen does not support HDCP (too old), but my LG does.
Lesson to those whom gloss over intelligent compatibility responses with "HDCP blah bla bla..", they're actually trying to give you useful information.

For the record OP, I don't like HDCP anymore than you do, but anyone that buys a PS3 or Blu-ray player ought to be aware of it. Such things were talked about during the HD-DVD/Blu-ray wars well before Blu-ray won.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#6
Lesson to those whom gloss over intelligent compatibility responses with "HDCP blah bla bla..", they're actually trying to give you useful information.

For the record OP, I don't like HDCP anymore than you do, but anyone that buys a PS3 or Blu-ray player ought to be aware of it. Such things were talked about during the HD-DVD/Blu-ray wars well before Blu-ray won.
I didn't buy the screen. I found it..