• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cant install windows on new RAID array

Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
73 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
#1
I just got a pair of plextor m3 pro 256gb hard drives. I put them into a raid array and went to install Win7 on them, and keep getting the error "Windows cannot be installed on this hardware". I previously had two OCZ Agility 3s in raid so I know they are on the correct mobo controller (unless plextor takes a different controller? ) and my BIOS is set to raid currently. Any thoughts?

Mobo: Asrock Extreme4 z77
SSDs: 2x Plextor M3P 1.04 Firmware on Intel Controllers
CPU: i5-3570k
GPU: 2x GTX 670s
RAM: 4x4 G Skill Ripjaws
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
are you installing Windows 7 from USB?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#3
You might have to load the drivers for the sata controller before it will let you install to it.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
73 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
#4
I'm installing it from a disk. I was able to get it working using the 32 bit raid drivers on a 64 bit os. For some reason the 64 bit ones wouldnt give me a usable install. Doesn't matter though as my motherboard wasnt posting two slotsof my ram so I rmad it and juat upgraded to the asrock extreme 6 lol. Hopefully I wont have these problems with it also.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#5
Good that you got it working but it's really strange that the 32 bit drivers are working lol
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
619 (0.33/day)
Likes
34
#6
Wouldn't it be wiser to have the windows install on a separate disk than the RAID array? Because if you ever needed to install or upgrade windows, you'd have to format the whole array if you couldn't install (and anyway you should format any drive you install fresh windows on)...

Personally I always keep the Windows installation on a separate disk or at least separate partition. I reinstall a fresh copy of Windows once every 6 months to a year, generally. Keeps my PC clean and Windows installation fresh and not bogged down by a massive useless registry full of junk from old installations of this and that that never get removed from uninstall.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#7
Wouldn't it be wiser to have the windows install on a separate disk than the RAID array? Because if you ever needed to install or upgrade windows, you'd have to format the whole array if you couldn't install (and anyway you should format any drive you install fresh windows on)...

Personally I always keep the Windows installation on a separate disk or at least separate partition. I reinstall a fresh copy of Windows once every 6 months to a year, generally. Keeps my PC clean and Windows installation fresh and not bogged down by a massive useless registry full of junk from old installations of this and that that never get removed from uninstall.
It doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
73 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
#8
What was even more weird, was that when I got my extreme6 board, the os on my drives thst was installed on the extreme4 board was working. I decided to do a fresh install though and doing so was a bad idea. The drivers for the extreme6 board wouldnt work period. The 32 bit ones wouldnt show a usable drive after loading them and the 64 bit ones would give me a corrupted file or missing error after install. So i gave up on a raif array and just put it on one of the plextors for now. Might try again sometime later with the extreme4 drivers.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#9
Try drivers from the intel site and the ones from the motherboards site.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#10
It's normal that you need 32-bit drivers, seeing how Windows PE 3 (Pre-install Environment), that Win7 uses for it's installation, is 32-bit even for a 64-bit Windows.
I'm not entirely sure about WinPE4 (the one that Win8 uses), though.