• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cant overclock anymore - is my PSU on its last legs?

K

kyle2020

Guest
#1
Hey guys, heres a quick run down of my situation, short hand for ease of reading :)

A few nights ago I got my new Firestix in - spent roughly 3 hours trying to get them to run higher than 1100Mhz stably on my board - failed.

Dropped my Vipers back in, set everything back to my usual settings (3.2Ghz, 1.32V after Vdroop (1.36 in bios) RAM at 1066Mhz, NB at 1.55V, SB at 1.20V, load line calibration enabled, speedstep and so on disabled) booted but my system was 'patchy' - as in I could run everything however the sound was distorted upon movements, such as page scrolling.

I know this is usually caused by lack of voltage, however everything was set the same as it was a few hours previous when my rig was fine.

Reinstalled Vista so I could use msn again.

System was still patchy, however works fine with everything set to auto, speedstep etc diabled.

Did an hour of changing a single setting - booting to windows, trying a game / music then rebooting, changing a single setting, etc etc.

As soon as I changed FSB, core voltage, RAM speed, NB / SB voltage, any of those, my system got sketchy again. Booted COD:4 up, the game seemed to be running at around 10FPS, as if my GTX was being choked or something, everything was super laggy.

So im now running at all auto settings in my bios, and its fine, however I want my overclocks back!

So I pose the question - does this sounds like a PSU thats failing to you guys? I know it was a tall order asking a 500W PSU to deal with my specs, but it seemed fine up until yesterday. Has it finally hit its limit and started to die? I cant RMA it either as I have done a 24pin mod on it, fail.

Could it be my motherboard? Or RAM?

Any other suggestions? Either way its gonna cost me a fair bit haha . . . Looking at 600W+ PSU's now . . .
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
I really dont think its the PSU. if you are worried, try the OCCT PSU test.
It runs linpack and GPU test at the same time.

You'll then get the readouts of the voltages at the end.

It sounds to me that if anything is failing, its the mobo :ohwell:

And you're saying that since taking out the firestix and reinstalling the vipers you cant get the system stable even on the same settings as before the firestix?
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#3
I really dont think its the PSU. if you are worried, try the OCCT PSU test.
It runs linpack and GPU test at the same time.

You'll then get the readouts of the voltages at the end.

It sounds to me that if anything is failing, its the mobo :ohwell:

And you're saying that since taking out the firestix and reinstalling the vipers you cant get the system stable even on the same settings as before the firestix?
:(

The settings I had stable before were with my vipers, I then put my firestix in, had a few hours playing with them, then put my vipers back in. My rig got sketchy whilst I was overclocking my firestix though, being the reason why I decided to call it a day - seems to still be happening though :(
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#4
And you're sure every setting is exactly as it was?

Have you tried a mild OC?

Oh and why did you have to go back to Vista for MSN? I'm using it fine.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#5
I tried the exact same settings, had them memorised as they are the sweet spot for my Q6600.

Tried going up to 3.0 and it gets frisky still.

If it is a motherboard problem, which, I have no way of testing, ill get one of these, been wanting one since I read a review in CPC

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-001-BS&groupid=701&catid=5&subcat=1155

Absolutely gutted though.

Oh and MSN / windows live mail / photobucket would not work for me on windows 7.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#6
that motherboard is good ocer for dual cores but i doubt it 4 phases vrm system would handle a 65 nm quad that well. try to get a ud3p
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#7
How weird, ive been using msn and live mail fine.

I'd never buy anything from OCUK.

Did you push anything harder than with your vipers in terms of voltage with the firestix?
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#8
How weird, ive been using msn and live mail fine.

I'd never buy anything from OCUK.

Did you push anything harder than with your vipers in terms of voltage with the firestix?
I went to a max of 2.3 with the fires, never gone above 2.0 on the vipers.

Neither have I - scan have the same board for like 20p more, ill go with the just for peace of mind.

Just dont want to spend £100 odd and it be a PSU problem in the end, and I have no way of testing :banghead:
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#9
OCCT:pSU Test!!!!

:rolleyes:
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#11
PSU is fine, so its my premium thats poorly :( Or so Im assuming. Any insight would be wicked lads.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#12
Dont forget lasses. (As shocking as it may sound :p )

I'm just trying to think what else could be worth trying before you have to splash out on a new mobo.

Have you tried, a ridiculously low OC, such as all on stock but an FSB bump to 300?

just to see if it can handle outside of stock?
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#13
Dont forget lasses. (As shocking as it may sound :p )

I'm just trying to think what else could be worth trying before you have to splash out on a new mobo.

Have you tried, a ridiculously low OC, such as all on stock but an FSB bump to 300?

just to see if it can handle outside of stock?
haha.

Gathering a list of things to try tomorrow, I have a headache and Im really down about this at the minute, seems like problem after problem.

Sneeky's on this thread, maybe he'll have the magic cure all :D

Oh and alex, when you get the GT, try and find the HDMI adapter thingy ;)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#14
Do I take it that COD4 is fine on stock clocks?

And are you saying, if you run everything on defaults, but say increase just the core voltage, it starts becoming unstable?

Also, did I read that you flashed the BIOS after installing the firestix?
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#15
Do I take it that COD4 is fine on stock clocks?

And are you saying, if you run everything on defaults, but say increase just the core voltage, it starts becoming unstable?

Also, did I read that you flashed the BIOS after installing the firestix?
Yes, COD:4 is fine on stock clocks.

As soon as I touch FSB, core voltage, RAM speed, Multi, anything, everythings jerky and crap again.

I flashed my bios to the latest revision after failing to get my firestix higher than 1100 or so, but shortly after that I noticed this instability so re flashed to my previous bios version (0702)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#16
Thats really bizzare, it sounds more like incompatibility than a dieing component.

And BIOS change could have answered for that.

Have you tried clearing the CMOS?