• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't override PCI Subsystem ID with -6

videovillain

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
Hello all,

I'm really stuck right now. I am trying to revert my vbios for my GTX 980m but I keep getting this issue:

image.thumb.png.f21e49368c2528528cbdd20ed70958bd.png

Any thoughts?
Here is the comparison:

image.png.098cbb243191e307eda7f0bf9320e4f6.png

I originally did the opposite, replacing the 84.04.67.00.11 with the 84.04.2F.00.79 with no issues.
But now that I am going back, it will not let me.

Thank you all for your help!
 

videovillain

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
If anyone knows anything it would sure be helpful!

Extra info in case it is useful:
  • The 84.04.2F.00.79 VBIOS is the available one from techpowerup's collection
  • The 84.04.67.00.11 VBIOS is the original from my Sager P870DM-G laptop with dual SLI GTX 980m
  • Neither .rom has been altered by me at all.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,484 (0.43/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 7 2700 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super Ventus OC / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
You are probably going to have to contact Sager to get the laptops original bios and flash that. Laptops are really picky when it comes to bios, most are all in one and when you change it sometimes does not want to go back.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
7,008 (1.16/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 4.0(same case new guts)
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)EK Velocity CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3800CL18
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5700XT Nitro+
Storage 970 Evo Plus 500GB WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID1 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
You are probably going to have to contact Sager to get the laptops original bios and flash that. Laptops are really picky when it comes to bios, most are all in one and when you change it sometimes does not want to go back.
Pretty likely tho Sager if anyone would be less likely to use OEM specific BIOS as most others do.
 

videovillain

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
You are probably going to have to contact Sager to get the laptops original bios and flash that. Laptops are really picky when it comes to bios, most are all in one and when you change it sometimes does not want to go back.
I have the original bios though, would it be different coming from Sager? I doubt it since I backed up the VBIOS when I first got the computer.
And flashing it shouldn't be an issue as long as the PCI subsystem ID mismatch would simply be ignored right? Could this be a hardware thing? Like, should I move the GPU to a different slot and force the PCI ID to be re-initiated? I could try that but I'd rather not because it would involve removing the heat-sink and then reapplying the thermal paste, etc.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,484 (0.43/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 7 2700 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super Ventus OC / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
Something changed the subsystem ID, which is why it is failing. The bios is looking for that specific id and it fails because it cannot find it in the system. So either the bios changed it or you did by accident when you did the flash. I am sure someone here has done laptop flashes before, maybe @eidairaman1 can help. But your best bet is contact Sager and follow what they say. I guess a better question to ask is, is the laptop currently running the way it is? If it is running fine with the other bios, I would leave it alone.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
We are not responsible for bricking.

Use this

If it doesnt work then use this

Or this
 

videovillain

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
5 (0.01/day)
If it doesnt work then use this

YUSSS!!!!!! This one worked with -6 after using --protectoff

Awesome, thank you so much!


I guess a better question to ask is, is the laptop currently running the way it is? If it is running fine with the other bios, I would leave it alone.
It didn't work at first but I finally got it working, but there were two cards and after turning SLI back on, it was getting some wonky issues and some games couldn't run anymore, so I needed to flash one to the other. I figured going back to the original was the best option.


The whole purpose of this was because the computer kept shutting down at 92C for one of the cards and I noticed that one card had it's temp limit set to 101C and the other at 92C and I wanted to make them both 101 somehow.

So now I'm back to square one with that, but at least they are both back to the original bios! YAY!

Thanks everyone!
 

randomA

New Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
7 (0.14/day)
I am gravedigging this thread due to having the same issue and being unable to resolve it.

I have downloaded the apps above but no luck as documented below.

Background-

I flashed the vbios of Alienware a51m on my rog zephyrus gx701gxh. Both laptops have rtx2080 max-q, although the a51m has higher clock speeds hence this unfortunate experiment.

After flashing the vbios, the gpu does not get detected regardless of how many times i try to reinstall the drivers.
Device Manager reports Code 43, Dxdiag says that the GPU has been turned off by windows. Nvidia control panel does not even startup when I try opening it.
I thus need to revert to previous vbios.

At first GPUZ returned this result (doesn't this mean that the system DOES recognize the GPU?):
1619759012822.png


After trying to update the nvidia drivers (from 466.11 to 466.26) to see if things would change (they didn't), GPUZ does not identify the GPU anymore:
1619759075453.png


Upon trying to flash the previous vbios, i receive an ID mismatch error.

So i downloaded the nvflash64 version that ignores mismatched GPU IDs: https://www.techpowerup.com/download/nvidia-nvflash-with-board-id-mismatch-disabled/
Then i ran the -6 command;
Result was still GPU mismatch:
1619759179698.png


Even if i try running the --protectoff command and then the -6 command the same as above happens;

Any way to overcome this?

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
473 (0.12/day)
Location
Germany
System Name https://goo.gl/FDgehs
Upon trying to flash the previous vbios, i receive an ID mismatch error.
Then i ran the -6 command;
Result was still GPU mismatch:

You messed up SUBSYS ID and device ID (1e90 vs. 1ed0)
You would need a yet older NVFLASH version that supports -5 (--overridetype), but idk if these older versions can flash Turing.
 
Top