1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can't roll back the BIOS

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by CH@NO, Jan 7, 2009.

  1. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Hi.

    I update the BIOS version of my Asus P5Q-E to the latest, the system is stable but when I try to set the OC (fully stable) that the past BIOS has, the system like to hang.

    I readed that the cause might be the new BIOS, so I tried to roll back the version using the BIOS software (EZ FLASH or something) and the program don't allow me sayin that the BIOS I want to flash is older than the actually installed.

    So It's there a way to roll back the BIOS version????.


    Thanx
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ¡¡¡¡ PROBLEM SOLVED !!!!

    I have ANY luck using AFUDOS with any version, tried a combination of parameters with ANY luck.

    If you want to rollback your BIOS and have a board on the list of this site

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=186538

    You'll be able to rollback if you already break your head using Afudos without luck, just follow the instructions to create the bootable CD or USB key.

    I was be able to rollback mine.

    MANY THANX to Arctucas for providing the link.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Did you try using the Asus windows program to reflash from windows instead? crashfree bios recovery program its called I believe. Should be on the Cd that came with the mobo.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
    CH@NO says thanks.
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    whatever you do DO NOT flash in Windows. Get a floppy or a USB stick and flash that way.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I'm aware of that, I only flsh the BIOS via using the same BIOS flashing utility.

    But this mobo has dual BIOS so I'm not too worried if I make corrupt the main BIOS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I'll try that
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well on that note, try:

    Clear cmos
    Reflash with older bios

    or if that didnt work try:

    Clear cmos
    Reflash with current bios again
    Reflash with older bios
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  7. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    any other way amtes????

    a bunch of you don't recommend flashing the BIOS using Windows.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I don't think It will work, the reason that the mobo doesn't want to flash it It's 'cause I want to install an outdated version, maybe I'll try via Windows.

    It's odd that my last mobo (EP35-DS3L from Gigabyte) It allow me flash the BIOS with any version, not care about if was newer or not.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Dont quote me, but I had that same problem with a maximus extreme board and the problem is Asus released a buggy crap bios(which isnt rare). The windows Bios update program allowed me to revert. Its true to avoid using at all costs, but was the only option left & worked for "me".
     
  10. thirdshiftdj

    thirdshiftdj New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lowell, Massachusetts
    try using a thumb drive w/ win98 bootfiles. Then use afudos to force flash
     
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,650 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Flash in Windows...I do it...Have done it it since they have had windows flashing utilities and flashable motherboards. Had to plug in chips to sockets before that-that's another era.

    As long as windows is stable and you have a dual bios - yep,go for it.:)
     
  12. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    cannot flsh it that way

    booting to MS-DOS - succesful

    typing AFUDOS/ixxxx.rom

    starting to check the bios file - succesful

    a new line appear "ADVANCED CHECK"

    and then MAIN BIOS CHECKSUM BAD and the program quit.

    Reboot the system and all semms normal, except that the BIOS are the same, Afudos don't reflashed the BIOS.

    Any ideas??, I make the Boot Diskkete using Vista X64 and I use the version 207 of Afudos, some people sying that using the latest version will not reflash outdated BIOS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Tried with any luck, the BIOS can´t be updated due to It's a later version from the cuirrently installed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    is the BIOS chip on your board removable? If it is and if nothing else works contact Asus and ask for a chip with the BIOS version you need. You may also be able to buy on ebay.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    CH@NO says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    The program seems VERY interesting, but It can rollback the BIOS???, the main site It's on french and I could hardly understand english....are you already tried to rollback any BIOS with that program????

    Anyway I'm downloading It.

    I'll keep you informated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    It's not that bad, the PC boots fine and everything, just doesn't seem stable at 4GHz than the previous BIOS, It's 'cause of that I wanna rollback.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    @ CH@NO,

    Yes, I have used it to upgrade and rollback the BIOS on my Striker Extreme, where others have said that other methods cannot accomplish the rollback.

    There are two download links:

    The USB flash drive version, and the CD ISO version.

    The GUI is really quite simple, just point and click.
     
    CH@NO says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    VERY MUCH THANX Arctucas.

    The program seems It will be a total succes.....on the next hours I'll inform if it was a succes or not.

    again thanx for the help.:rockout::toast::D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)