• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Can't set refresh rate to 120hz

gopnop

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
I just bought a new Alienware Monitor and when I go to the Nvidia control panel to change the refresh rate to 120hz the screen becomes extremely pixelated, It can't be the DVI cable since the last person who used it was able to use 120hz on the same monitor.

My Graphics card is a Nvidia 295 and resolution at 1920x1080

Help would be appreciated thanks :D
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,459 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,239
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
Does the alienware monitor support 120Hz in the first place? You didnt list the model so I have no clue... silly question, but one worth asking.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#3
I would still double check to make sure it is in fact a dual link dvi cable, check it on another 120hz/3d capable monitor to see if you can reproduce the same symptoms.

Also make sure you are plugging the dvi cable into the proper dvi port on your graphics card. Not all of the ports will support 120hz.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#4
Edit: Sorry for the double post. Sent fron my phone in a spotty network area.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
120hz monitor, on a gtx 295? Correct me if I'm wrong, but 1080p @ 120hz on that just isnt gonna work xD
Make sure you have up to date drivers, and check the model of the DVI cable, there are many types. Also make sure that monitor is 120hz and not just interpolation. I havent trusted alienware for a while with their descriptions.
Give us DVI cable model, gpu driver version, and monitor model.