1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Card Not Detected?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Overgrow89, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. Overgrow89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm running on an Emachines with an pci-e hd3850

    I had it working before but had a hard drive fail and had to reinstall
    windows xp pro.


    For some reason now the computer is not detecting my card, but at the
    same time I have my monitor plugged into the card and everything is working
    fine other then the fact I cannot play 3D games. When I go into properties>settings
    for display it says Default Monitor where it used to have my video card.

    I was thinking I may have had to switch it back to Pci-E in my BIOS but it was still
    on PCI-E and I've tried a couple different drivers (new ati drivers, old versions of my cards driver and omega drivers)

    I can't figure out why my computer is not detecting the video card. Any ideas?
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    what happens when you try to play games?.... does the card show up in Device Manager? does it have a yellow ? next to it.


    when you try to install the drivers what happens? does it give an error or does it compleat the install?
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2010
  3. Overgrow89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nothing in the device manager, ATI CCC does not detect the card.

    When I tried starting up RTCW:ET it said something about open_gl not working.

    Whenever I install the drivers it installs them all the way and asks me to restart
    and when it restarts it still says "Default Monitor" under display.
     
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    try removing the card and give it a good blow... then stick it back in and see if that fixs it.... somthing simmiler happend to me with an AGP card. doing that fixed it.
     
  5. Overgrow89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice, i'll give it a go.
     
  6. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Still in the device manager, does it show up any device under (inside) "Display Adapters"?
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,634 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,628
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  8. Carlitos714

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    San Diego,CA
    man, i just got a flashback of the original NES games!
     
  9. Overgrow89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    under Display Adapters it only says Video Controller (VGA Compatible)
     
  10. Overgrow89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and I've tried a couple different drivers. I don't think it's the set up files.
     
  11. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Try this, run one of the ATi drivers setup, the newest one available (10.7 I think) and let it finish the extraction process. Afterwards, the ATi setup will begin (welcome screen after the extraction), cancel it and quit the setup.
    Now go to the device manager and open the properties window of that device, and on the "Driver" tab click on "Update Driver...", select "No, not this time", then "Install from a specific location (Advanced)", then tick "Include this location in the search" and browse to
    Code:
    C:\ATI\Support\<setups_name>\Packages\Drivers\Display\XP_INF\
    then click next, let the windows search, and if it does not start installing the driver or you aren't presented with a window asking which of the drivers should you install (select HD 3850) some other issue must be messing with your system, maybe northbridge/southbridge drivers?
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2010
  12. Overgrow89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    K tried that, it started installing the driver but an error popped up saying "The operation has been aborted because of a thread exit or an application request."
     
  13. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    During the windows "search & install" process?
    May be to early, but that sounds like a corrupted OS to me, probably your windows disc is bad (the one you performed the installation with), but in the worst case scenario either one of your ram modules is kaput ("broken") or your HDD has damaged sectors.

    Try to CDCheck your windows cd to see if it's still in good condition (no redundancy erros).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)