1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst 7.3 escaped from the ATI labs

Discussion in 'News' started by Bastieeeh, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. Bastieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    459 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    The French Station Drivers let you download a leaked Beta of the upcoming Catalyst 7.3. Of course the driver is non-official and the improvements appear to be very minor. OCWorkbench ran it through their paces and differences to the Catalyst 7.2 aren't nearly there.

    [​IMG]

    Source: StationDrivers
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I don't see the point in using beta Catalyst drivers, they're released every month and only have minor improvements. The bugs you could get aren't worth the effort.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,773 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,242
    I am still on 7.1
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,370 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    6.12 is the last set in which Overdrive works properly on my 1950Pro. Any attempt to change either clock cause the screen to flicker repeatedly, like its switching back and forth between 2d/3d. Goes away when you reset the clocks to stock.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    very minor difference.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. TheButcherNL

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    45 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I still run 6.3, lol, they are best for my card, dont even make the effort anymore to install newer ones.

    cya
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,480 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    I do the Folding thing and with my GPU's ,..I needed the optimized drivers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Are you in a team? You should join TPU's team 50711, we are quite high in the rankings ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,480 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    @ Alcpone,...I did change my team # to 50711.When will I know for sure I am on the team?
    Also,..how do I know I have the faster folding program,...I believe it is the non-gui one?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,337 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    When you do your first work unit it will add you after that! I use the 5.91 beta 4, I get about 330 points per work unit ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I get the same problem.

    But the 7.2's in Vista fixed it for ATi tool (still stuffs up in overdrive)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    so you use 7.2 in vista pinchy and can oc with ati tool ? hmm are the x1950pro supported by atitool now and which version have you got ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I can OC with the latest ati tool (0.27) BUT i have to enable "driver level overclocking" or it wont work.

    In XP, up to Cat 6.12 i could OC in both ATi overdrive and ATi tool. Then i updated to 7.1/7.2 and overdrive wanst working (never tried ati tool)

    Now in Vista, ive only tried the 7.2, and overdrive doesnt work, but ati tool 0.27 (with driver level overclocking) lets me OC normally (Note: i dont use "find max core/mem, I just clock it up in increments, then test using "show 3d view") I managed to get to around 640/810, without vmods or voltage boosts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    0.27 isnt on tpu ? i cant see it anyway :wtf:

    nm, i found it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah its not in the downloads section. I had the same problem when i was looking for it :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)