1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst 7.8 not working well for my system.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Ryosuke, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. Ryosuke New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brossard,Quebec,Canada
    I've installed the 7.8 and all the things in SmartGart is disabled so reverted back to 7.6 and everything is back to normal :wtf::wtf::wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Arrh someone else... finally! D'you have a PCIe or AGP X1950 Pro - I'm really disappointed with these drivers when everyone else seems to be freaking loving them. Why 7.6? 7.7's work really well for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Read the release notes before you decide to download ATi drivers.

    Performance Improvements
    The following performance improvements are noticed with Catalyst™ 7.8:

    Lost Planet DX10 with anti-aliasing improves 11% or greater on Radeon™ HD2900XT products
    Radeon™ HD2600 and Radeon™ HD2400 (single and CrossFire™) show improvements of as much as 6% in 3DMark 2006 and 3DMark 2005
    Serious Sam 2 with HDR enabled improves as much as 14.5% on Radeon™ HD2900, Radeon™ HD2600 and Radeon™ HD2400 products

    And this is why I didn't download them just like the v7.7 drivers they were directed at the HD series.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ryosuke New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brossard,Quebec,Canada
    It's a AGP
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,106 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    anyone getting performance boost on the x1950s?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    280 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    i had the same problems with smartgart freaking out, so what i did was uninstall my chipset drivers and the ati drivers, went into safemode driver cleaner pro (ran filters with all the relevant ati and chipset), booted back up installed the chipset, restarted and then installed the 7.8s.

    i was determined to get those drivers working lol
    btw i didnt install CCC.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,696 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Hehe I get an average of about 20 more points in 3dmark06 :)

    Work for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    How d'you know I don't? It's always worth trying out new GFX drivers even if you do have an older card.

    I am I right in thinking you've managed to get them to work fluently for you now after taking this course of action & is your Pro AGP or PCIe?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    No need to take it to heart mate, I'm talking about the general public here, just in case. . . . .

    And that guy has a P5B motherboard which is PCI-E.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,810 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i just tryd 7,8 doest feel diferend
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    scope54 can't be running an Intel based chipset when he has an AMD CPU. After Googling his motherboard I find out it is actually AGP that his board supports. I think logic would then state he has a AGP GFX card, please correct me if I'm wrong.

    That's good! Did you do any benchmarks before installing the drivers to actually any difference?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,810 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    Location:
    Netherlands
    nope not at all i give it a try
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. amd64best New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thailand
    I tested Catalyst 7.8 with my Palit HD2600XT. The result is very well improvement.
    With Catalyst 7.7 I get 97XX point in 3Dmark2005. With Catalyst 7.8 I get 103XX point.
    It improve about 4-6%.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That's not bad amd64best. :) Glad it helped!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Just an update and a link to AMD's Catalyst Bug Report Form - if all AGP users experiencing issues with 7.8 could fill in the form. That'd be great!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,810 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    Location:
    Netherlands
    done
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. rih0 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Seems some of you are having problems, jsut so happens that i have a 1950pro also, tryed the 7.8 drivers yesterday. i installed and reinstalled the bloody things 3 times , but every time after installing them and rebooting i got a screen with no icons, no closing buttons on the windows didnt do any benchmarking thou.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    D'you have an AGP X1950 Pro? It seems that it's only AGP users that are affected by this. Must be something to do with the RAILTO (PCIe-to-AGP) Bridge.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    After I updated my drivers my system boots slower lol...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Weird! I'd have thought you'd be PCIe with that motherboard. Anything else you've noticed, such as loss of performance within Windows and in games?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. rih0 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh yeah i forgot to mention that after i installed the 7.8 drivers and went to change my screen resolution i got a popup message saying that this version of drivers is not comatible with your video card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Yeah me too.:wtf: And I think there has been some general performance slowdowns too. I'm thinking about going back to the trusty Omega drivers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. bassmasta Guest

    >.> 7.8 seems to be amazing to me, but there is one problem that i've never had before: blackouts. at random times, it gives me 1-5 second blackouts in games. there is still sound, but what really bothers me is that it always seems to happen when i'm being shot at.
    :mad:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    416 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    I'm with X1950XT.No probs for me after upgrading.Lost ATI Overdrive but who uses it.IMHO its better for the 1950XTs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,477 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Are you using an AGP X1950 Pro?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)