1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst 9.6 & Windows 7 discussion

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Ketxxx, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    A simple idea to help W7 adopters muddle through. How are people with the latest 9.6 drivers finding them with W7? I'm DLing them now in hopes of my mysterious BSODs whenever I enable CF being fixed.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Can't say about Crossfire, however I'm finding the 9.6's better than the 9.5's. Performance seems to be a lot smoother in games, and the image quality for me has improved slightly. I was disappointed with the 9.5's.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Ditto. For me 9.5s were absolutely aweful. I'll install 9.6s in a bit and see how things go.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    9.5 are trouble free for me, 9.6 caused me no end of hell.

    9.6 kept forcing my screen to 1600x1200, or 1920x1080 @ 75hz making my games go spaz/black screen. It would also give me some awesomely screwed up graphics if i tried running crossfire with my second monitor enabled.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,148 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    I have HD4850 and 9.5 and all is working like it should. I`m interested to see if 9.6 is going to fix your problems.
     
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I'll update in a bit. Listening to music atm and IMO its a crime disturbing a song/album halfway through :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That really does depend on the music. ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,998 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,735
    I have to agree. I would get random stuttering in games with the 9.5's but so far the 9.6's have been silky smooth.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Rock. :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Hmmm....I am running with the latest from windows-update (dont know wich version that is tho)
    but both 9.5 and 9.6 made me struggle - espacially in Prototype.....but with the one from winupdate all is running smooth... (Win 7 32 bit and a Sapphire 4870)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Still depends on the music. :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    154 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    India
    I m on win7 x64. Just installed 9.6 drivers and company of heroes crashing after playing 10-15 minutes. Just reinstalled 9.5 drivers ( drivers only with new CCC ) and its working fine now.
     
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I still havent installed 9.6 but doing it now. Got held up a day or two due to football manager :eek: I'm hull city and had to figure out tactics for damage control against everton (who are currently top of the table)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,386 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    671
    I think it would help if everyone would mention which Win 7 they have, x86 or x64.
     
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Using Cats 9.6 on my W7 x64. All is well so far. My streetfighter CF benchmark also increased a lot with the driver, up to over 17,000 now :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    9.6, build 7127 x64 - terrible. i also know people who used it in vista, same issues.

    Complete list of issues we've had reproduceable:

    CoH crashing
    Games not working if a second monitor is enabled (possibly crossfire related - confirmed in 7 AND xp)
    Games crashing if a second monitor is enabled
    Media player classic crashing if left open and a game is started
    Some games starting at a wrong refresh rate
    Source engine games suffering massive FPS drops on some systems (vista and 7, crossfire and not)

    They may be a little faster, but god damn, are they buggy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Perra

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    147 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Örebro, Sweden
    Running win 7 x64 build 7100 with cat 9.6, havent had any problems at all so far, didnt have any problems with 9.5 either
     
  18. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    What build of W7 are you running? For me any build past 7100 is a total fail at this point. Companies need to get their arses in gear and release W7 drivers now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,876 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,899
    Location:
    London,UK
    Ive lost a slight bit of performance with CoD5 in Crossfire. but last time i played on Vista. otherwise everything still works great.
     
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Sadly, drivers aren't perfect. Often slight hits will be taken in areas to boost performance a lot in other areas. The mind boggles at how many different ways ATi have at telling the driver how to communicate with the GPU in games to get the best out of it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    7127 - its 7100 with a few minor bugfixes, its better than 7100, not worse like many later builds. 100% stable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I don't like 7127, it made my system more unstable. 7229 seemed stable enough - until I installed my Xonar drivers. Clearly MS changed something either in the audio kernel or the way W7 handles drivers and it messed things up royally, so stuck on 7100 for now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i dont have a xonar, so i cant comment there... but of the 4 systems in this house running 7127, we've had zero issues.

    You sure your instability isnt something else, like an unstable OC, or dying ram, etc etc?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Yep positive. 7127 just isn't as stable for me. Once asus get their arses in gear and release a W7 driver for the Xonar I'll jump on the latest W7 build like a fat man would jump at strawberries and whipped cream.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,229 (10.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,465
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    can you use a generic driver for the chipset, not from asus?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)