1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cdawall's SG05-B redux

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by cdawall, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    This is a carry on from this thread were I was trying to water cool my entire mini ITX build. Well I decided I would try and stuff everything in and around my SG05-B.

    The original build looked a bit like this.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Original Specs

    Intel Core I3 560ES
    GSkill Tridents 2x2GB 2000CL9
    Gigabyte H55N-USB3
    Zotac 9800GT Eco
    FSP 300w SFX

    The current specs

    Intel Xeon 3440
    GSkill Tridents 2x2GB 2000CL9
    Gigabyt H55N-USB3
    PNY GTX470
    Silversone 450w SFX

    Now onto the case...For some reason Silverstone never intended for anyone to mount dual 120mm rad's in their case (jerks) so some minor modifications are being made to make do.

    Some temp fitting inside of the case.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hard mounting the rads

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I want to mount the radiator external for one I think it will look cool and for two there is not enough room to easily mount it. Now looking at that should I run some thick black tubing (I have some rubber 3/8" power steering tubing that would look kind of cool) or clear or what? I decided to mount the res in a different spot. Need some angled 3/8" barbs now.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,536 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,253
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Will be interesting to see what you gonna come up with.


    Remove the spoiler tags and show off the pics! :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Stupid grey gone.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Anything else I should be looking at getting?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,289 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Gonna be kinda sweet to see how this comes along. That is a tiny case for what what all you wana do.

    off topic, You know your going back over? I was army MP. How many yrs you got in? rank?
     
  6. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Thanks I am excited to see how it turns out. This will be my first shot at doing cables and making them pretty :). Along with the fancy tuning etc.

    Januaryish, been in about three and Sra.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,289 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Take your time on the cables. That sure can be time consuming.

    Good luck when you leave. Definitely keep in touch. I spent alot of time on TPU when I was over (Iraq '09).
     
  8. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Case is assembled and painted. I am just waiting on parts now. Still haven't ordered the parts from frozen yet.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What fan you running on that rad? You sure it can keep up with static pressure of running it sandwiched on both? Otherwise, awesome work C. Can't wait to see the finished product. Friendly tip, try for some 90* barbs on the pump..
     
  10. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    I shouldn't need 90 degree barbs with the Apogee drive II pump/block combo thing...

    [​IMG]

    Right now there is just a Antec trispeed inbetween the rad's I am looking into what fan I should have in the middle. I have a set of yate loon high speeds I can use if this one wont cut the mustard. Plan is to use the onboard fan control again like I did with the ultra kaze. No noise until you need it.

    Other thing should I look into a set of 1TB notebook drives?

    Refurbished: Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD10TPVT...

    $70 a pop in raid 0 would be quite nice AFAIC.

    [​IMG]

    That's what all I am looking at from frozen...anyone have any other tips? concerns?
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    The apogee drive has my old ddc1t in it so it should hold up fine. Current drive setup is a 1.5tb esata and breaking up my raid for a ssd.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sorry, i have a bad memory as of late. If you're already doing an ssd and breaking up a raid, if you really need the drives to show up as one volume just do a spanned windows dynamic volume unless you need to dual boot for any reason.
     
  14. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Well that's my thing if I buy the 1Tb's I wont break the ssd's up or add the 1.5tb external. Will simply run the 2x1tb drives in raid 0. All internally the case :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,601 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,666
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I would just go the SSD route, adding it to your current setup.
     
  16. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Got the block in today.

    [​IMG]

    It gets a little close but isn't touching

    [​IMG]

    This one ends up being a little bit taller since I used a DDC1T

    [​IMG]

    Again close but not touching

    [​IMG]
     
    m1dg3t and INSTG8R say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,268 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    :eek: WOW! Didn't know they made shoehorns that size! Good job getting it all in there :toast:

    Those APD2 pumps are going to make a lot of loops possible that wouldn't otherwise be and/or they are gonna make loops a lot cleaner. i just wish the base or "housing" was more conducive to performance/flow as the port ID is 1/4" i think, would be nice to have them @ 3/8" at least. Maybe they did it on purpose to keep pressures up?
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  18. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Yup it's a little cramped...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Got the red CCFL's in dual 40mm ones.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,268 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    lol You can say that again! I really am surprised you got that much stuffed in there :peace:

    You got a lot less room to work with then me and lots more modding too! I got off easy with this latest build :eek:
     
  21. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Yup I do I am thinking I want a different gpu for it as well. Can't decide what but it has to have a full cover block available. Maybe a 7850 or something.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,676 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    918
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Thanks for posting this up CD. Damned impressed on what you have managed to cram into that tiny box.:cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Im impressed too, thats incredible!! Love the idea of small space high performance, well done!! Thanx for posting up, really interesting and inspiring.
     
  24. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,016 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,397
    Location:
    Houston
    Thanks shouldn't be much longer before its full assembled. Goal is to have the Xeon cranked out to 3.8ghz since 4.2 smoked the board. Along with some form of overclocked vga. 7850 would be cool for eyefinity.
     
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,268 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Canada
    Why not a 6 series Nvidia? IIRC their "mid level" cards are physically smaller and still perform on par, if not better, then ATi :eek:

    Don't get me wrong the 7850 is a freaking beast of a card from what i have seen and if you can swing it, fockin' wing it! :rockout:

    FC blocks aren't for me, i prefer die only for some reason. I just wish i didn't get the run around from people regarding stock levels. It's in stock untill you pay then it magically is backordered for 3 weeks :( :rolleyes:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)